We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
GreenLeadersBronze level
pacific northwest
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I had a great stay here. Super clean rooms, nice lobby, friendly front desk and housekeeping. Bed's really comfortable and internet was quick and reliable.It's very convenient to shopping, sightseeing and a lot of restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliza111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Eliza,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It is refreshing to know that our staff's continuous and tireless efforts is working to ensure that our guest leave satisfied. Thanks again and looking forward to be your host, next time you are in our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    82
    53
    16
    17
See reviews for
79
72
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Priceline bamboozled us, making it sound like we were getting a really nice room. This place is old, smells musty and like dogs, old looking walls, ceiling, and paint. The check in took forever, one clerk with a computer barely working, and a big line forming behind me. The room we were given had old food in the refrigerator from someone else, as well as 2 drawers full of someone else's jeans, t-shirts, and underwear. We got moved to another room which smelled just as bad and was just as dreary and old feeling. The hot water took 7 minutes of running the water to get hot. The flusher on the toilet has to be held a long time to flush. The remodeling does not hide that this is a mediocre room. The beds are ok. Just couldn't get past the musty old smell. Also, the vent cover on the bathroom wall was hanging off, and a strong smell of marijuana was wafting into our bathroom from the room next door. I will stay at a new hotel next time. Thanks Priceline, for nothing, and for misleading people that this is a more luxurious place than it really is.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and had we known of your concerns while at the hotel, we would have gladly fix them for you. I apologize for your inconvenience and have taken notes to thoroughly inspect each room prior to new guest's occupancy to alleviate similar situation form arising again in future. For a period of past 3 weeks, we were in between Executive Housekeeper and I see your point that we may have made a mistake. Again, please accept my sincere apology. Please call me at 850-877-4437 to make things right for you.

-Rick Bhula, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I normally stay at Hampton Hotels, however the advertising for the "Manager's special" is what led us to check into Quality Inn. We checked in late around midnight, and the young lady who was working had boxes and trash in her hand as she was on her way out to the dumpster, which was disturbing enough because it was late, and they didnt have any securitiy. She was very nice and attentive and very detailed about the amenities of the hotel. What we found odd was the same young lady was delivering bills under all the doors when my husband got up to go outside and smoke. We was up very early being that we only stopped for a nap, and we noticed how old and desperate the hotel was in need of remodeling. What upset us the most was we were at the desk ringing a bell and to our surprise the same young lady working the desk was preparing breakfast as well. In the middle of her giving us direction the phone rung, and she asked to be excused while she pulled a cordless phone from her apron. I couldn't believe the manager was so cheap that this poor young lady was wearing about 4 different hats, and she kept a beautiful smile on her face. I probably won't stay there again. Lack of employees!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Current and recent past economic conditions have forced lot of businesses closed their doors OR it has forced existing hotels to be creative in order to survive and keep your room rates low. It is very common and routine for Night Auditor to take on additional tasks as there is little or no activity at front desk during the night time. Does that make all hotel managers and owners cheap? Are we overworking our staff? I disagree. Your concerns and my answers could have been better understood by you if a personal interaction had taken place with me. I am sorry that you will not be staying with us in future but at least I wanted to provide an explanation why all hotels, including ours, do the things they do. If you still have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at 850-877-4437.

-Rick Bhula, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed at the Quality Inn in Tallahassee on Apalachee Parkway, and this place needs to be renovated. The place had a bad odor on the whole 2nd fl where my family and I stayed. The room had mold and mildew, and bugs coming out of the wall outlet. The breakfast food seemed to be leftovers, and they do not have any meat. No one is ever at the Front Desk, and my daughter was ate up by bed bugs sometime during the night. I will never stay at that low end hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Sheila,

I am sorry to learn that you left our hotel disappointed. It is not our goal whatsoever and that's why I leave my business card with my cell number on it so that our guests can reach me 24/7 to resolve any issues. Did you bring up your concerns while you were at our hotel? If you did and my staff failed to take good care of you and your family, then I would like to hear more about it. We have done more then $700,000 worth of renovation in past 4 years which included guest room furniture, fixture and equipment, guest room bathrooms and common areas. Our breakfast is better then most mid-priced hotels and provide scrambled eggs, potatoes, biscuit and gravy with meat, grits, hot waffles, bagels and pastries, fruit, cereals, juices and various breads. Please call me at 850-877-4437 so that I may address your concerns further. Thank you.

-Rick Bhula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Had to stay on 11/27/13 due to deluge. Had not intended to stay in Tallahassee to begin with, but rainstorm impeded progress. Called for last minute reservation after consulting this website. We were not disappointed. Room was clean and quiet. Left early the next day, so did not spend much time in motel or surrounds. Would stay again.

Room Tip: No trucks running in parking lot when we were there, but it could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Ronald,

Thank you for your comments and we would love to accommodate you again in near future. Wishing you best of year 2014 and beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My daughter and I visited for one night in Oct while checking out FSU. Nice place. Easy to find, about 15 minutes to FSU, drive takes you through downtown, which was very interesting to us, as we had never been to Tallahassee before.

Room was perfect size for two people, with king size bed.We had handicapped room, so it had a huge shower. I think you were allowed to work out across tne street at the YMCA for free, which was a nice perk, although we didn't have time to do this.

Everything clean, reasonable price. Breakfast good, I like the do it yourself waffles. The hot food was Southern style, I think, grits and biscuits and gravy, which are not my taste, but many others appeared to be enjoying them. so I think they were probably good.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth3536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QIASFL808, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Beth,

Hi & thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to be your host next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

As a FSU season ticket holder, our family spends quite a few fall weekends in Tallahassee. Since there were no available rooms at our hotels of choice...Best Western Plus or Comfort Suites, we decided to give this Quality Inn a try...even though we had a horrible experience at another Quality Inn on the other side of town last season. After looking at our reserved "regular" room, I went to see if there might be a "suite" that was available. Fortunately, the desk clerk (Katie) was more than willing to make sure our stay was a good one. She personally showed me another room just a few doors down from our original room. This suite was much larger and certainly an upgrade from the regular room. This made our stay much more pleasant than it would have been. Thank you Katie!

I appreciate the fact the this Quality Inn had dehumidifiers in every room. I will never go back to the Quality Inn we stayed at last year (located on Monroe Ave) in part because the bed we were sleeping on felt wet/sticky during the night since the air conditioner did not take enough humidity out of the room's air....very tough to get a good sleep under those conditions.

The location of this hotel is minutes away from the Governor's Square Mall, Target and numerous eating establishments. Even though our room was located just off of one of the main thoroughfares in town, it was very quiet...outside noise was not an issue.

The food was a typical hotel breakfast, although I was surprised that there was no sausage and/or bacon of any kind offered with the scrambled and fried potatoes.

Even though I prefer staying at the Comfort Suites just down the street, i would have no problem staying in a suite at this hotel for future FSU games when rooms at Comfort Suites are unavailable.

Room Tip: Suites are much nicer than regular rooms...well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#21 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#31 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
#44 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District

Property: Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
Address: 2020 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-4818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Tallahassee
#6 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Capital District hotel is conveniently located close to downtown and the state capital. This Tallahassee hotel is near attractions like Florida State University, Florida A & M University, Tallahassee Community College, Governor's Square Mall, Leon County Civic Center and the Koger Center. Guests of this Tallahassee hotel are invited to enjoy many amenities, including free full hot American breakfast buffet, free local calls, free weekday newspaper, free in-room coffee and free safe deposit boxes.The hotel also has an outdoor pool and access to the YMCA activities center across the street. Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, full-service business center with copy and fax services and meeting rooms. The Gallery meeting room accommodates up to 50 people and the Solarium accommodates up to 25 people. Audio/visual equipment and refreshments are available through the sales office.All spacious guest rooms include refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, Serta™ mattresses, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. Be sure to ask about the Spa Suites and Family Suites. Handicap accessible rooms can be requested and all guest rooms at this Tallahassee hotel are non-smoking.Whether traveling to Tallahassee for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Capital District hotel is the perfect place for any guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Tallahassee
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Tallahassee
Tallahassee Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing