We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
A TripAdvisor Member
“An ok place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The pictures on the internet made it look like a fancy place but once inside it wasn't any different than the last hotel we stayed in that was $15.00 per night cheaper. They did have a better breakfast, that included waffles that you make yourself and bacon, eggs and grits. The woman working the breakfast area was very friendly and helpful. We were only here one night on a road trip . The rooms were inside hall entry with elevator. Nothing special about this place but no complaints either .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    87
    117
    106
    89
See reviews for
196
54
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for one night and we are leaving to go to another hotel. Once we walked in the whole room smelled of bleach. There was hair in the bathroom from previous quests or housekeeping and also on the sheets. We even found our tv remote tucked under the fitted mattress set. At least the front desk was nice but besides that, We defiantly will not be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vals89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

PAID $260 for this room and it was terrible. The place is in dire need of remodling, but the real issue is the heavy smell of mold. Don't book a room here unless you are desperate. I SPOKE to an individual at the front desk and was told they'd check into it...follow future reviews to see if they have.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Booked hotel in September for FSU graduation. The Holiday Inn became marriott in the meantime. This place is in dire need of a remodel. Our room smelled dank and the carpet felt very dirty. Make sure to wear flip flops at all times,even in the shower. The sink would not drain. The towel rack in the bathroom was very rusty. My son found a spider in his bed. We came back one day and our room keys would not work. Went to the front desk and was told not to put them next to metal or it would make them not work. Really? Funny mine or my husband's keys were not next to metal or magnets. Neither were the people in line behind us that were also locked out of their room. If you have issues with your card keys don't try to pass it off on the guests. A simple apology would suffice. I vote this place shut down for a total renovation.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vs2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

When we arrived we had hope - lobby was reasonable and there was an Applebee's attached. We spent three nights here for a conference, and I would not return.

The rooms were dark and dingy. They were far from clean, and there were problems with theft while we were there (not us, but we locked everything up, every day). We were cold at night since there was only a sheet on the bed. When we went to the front desk to ask for blankets (there were none in the room), we were told they didn't have any, and that they were sold out so they couldn't take them from another room. I've worked in hotels before, and I have trouble believing they don't own spare blankets in their laundry room.

We stayed on the ground floor, and there were some VERY loud guests that would return at night and talk in the hallway until at least midnight. Not once did the front desk ask them to call it a night or leave the hall, and every time I had to walk out there in my PJs and ask them to take their conversations elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJane0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stopped there on a bus tour to New Orleans...four busloads. It was bad. Looks like it has recently changed names. Our sink was stopped up, they could not fix, moved us to another room. The phone did not work nor some of the lights. Several people checked in to rooms only to find other people in them already. They offered free buffet breakfast but there was not enough food for all the people, ran out of coffee, no milk. The highlight is it is attached to an Applebees. The staff there were exceptionally nice. Too bad they arent open for breakfast.

Room Tip: Dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElBee821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booked an unknown hotel through one of the major discounters and got an exceptional rate, found out it was a Holiday Inn and then read the most recent reviews and my heart sunk - whilst I wasn't looking for Tallahassee's finest, I equally didn't want a motel type establishment that I would have stayed at when I was in my 20's! What we got was almost the complete opposite to the reviews, our room was a Floridian (upgraded from a standard ie it had a fridge and nuker (both clean)). All staff we met were super nice and genuinely so, from reception, breakfast lady to housekeeping. Towels were not expensive big and fluffy, but not threadbare. Al pillowcases were on pillows. Yes you have to go down 8 stairs to the lift/elevator, but there's a mini lift that can be used for cases (and people). Room was big, bed comfortable and everything was clean. Yes the rooms would benefit from sprucing up, but, no discoloration or peeling paint. On the downside, you could hear other guests from time to time, and there was no breakfast or alternative on our first morning.

From what I can see, there's not much difference in price in the Apalachee Parkway area, and this Hotel is much better than the one we stayed in over the road at Christmas. If you just want a base to settle your offspring into FSU, visiting them or are in Tallahassee on business, then this will do nicely - if you want a hotel where you're going to spend time in, a 2.5/3 star hotel isn't for you anyway...

Room Tip: Getting a discounted room makes this hotel even more value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R4therbeonabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HITallahassee, Manager at Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you were so pleasantly surprised with your recent stay. We are so glad to see hear that our staff members were friendly and that you were so satisfied with the accommodations. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
Courtyard Tallahassee Capital
#18 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
Econo Lodge Tallahassee
#44 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol

Property: Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Address: 1355 Apalachee Pkwy, Tallahassee, FL 32301-3001 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Tallahassee Capitol)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tallahassee Capitol Hotel Tallahassee
Tallahassee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing