We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Doubletree Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing Doubletree Visit”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

On a recent trip to Tallahassee selected Doubletree based on my experience with other Doubletree properties like the one in Somerset. We learned quickly standards are clearly different. Since I travel frequently to the Doubletree in Somerset I expected the same level of service and quality. BAD ASSUMPTION ON MY PART,,,

Have been a Hilton Honors person for years and always get the warm cookie plus a goodie bag which has chips, apple, granola bar, candy bar, etc. when I asked they said I had to be a higher level of member to get any perks. Then she questioned if I was even a member because she couldn't find me in her system in Florida, again something I have never experienced in the past. I had my number which of course then the system accepted.

Somerset has free coffee station in the lobby all day for guests. This hotel has a Starbucks that has later hours.
Somerset offers honors guests free wifi in the room, here had to pay.

The final insult was a room with damaged walls, blood on the ceiling where a bug was killed, Loose shower fixture and mold in the shower stall walls.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaAbuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    395
    231
    117
    68
See reviews for
454
160
89
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mableton, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location and our room was comfortable. The hotels age is apparent- low ceilings, some stains, smaller bathroom- but nothing terrible. Street parking is free- but can be tough. Hotels parking garage is $8/day and most convenient. You can hear noise from other rooms - our noise machine was most helpful with our infant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I had an experience in early February where not only were my colleagues staying at the hotel, but we had 15-20 people coming up for the day for an event at the Capitol. All of the staff are amazin, helpful, and friendly, but two stand out: Abigail and Nelda. I do not know how she does it, as she was there 1st thing in the morning when I arrived for breakfast, and last thing at night post-dinner, but Nelda always has a smile, always in good cheer, and always super helpful. Abigail is the master of the front desk, always able to help with every little (and big) thing, and always in good cheer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The staff was pleasant and accomodating, the rooms were clean and comfortable.
Most kudos go to Jessica Smith and HIlary Bowman at the front desk. They were professional and helpful. They are an asset to the property!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Wit two children at FSU, we have had a chance to sample many of the hotels in the Tallahassee area, and the Doubletree has won us over. The location is perfect, the rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed, the staff is professional and courteous, and the cookies are an especailly nice treat! Hilary offered superior service upon our arrival, even with an unusually busy check-in crowd and a challenge with the hotel computers. She remained calm and professional, making all guests feel welcome and appreciated. We look foward to coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Always liked the Doubletree Hotels and this was no exception.
The Hotel's rooms are clean and neat with a high comfort level. Both check-in and check out were quick and easy. Food was good but hate that extra charge for room service. Wish their computers were a little faster.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldy515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I cannot recommend a better place to stay in Tallahassee. We have stayed at a number of hotels in the area since our son is attending FSU. The Double Tree is far and away the nicest of the lot. From accommodating staff to the very nice rooms and service I can’t say enough about both the quality of the rooms and the professionalism of the staff. We were warmly greeted at the front desk by very pleasant person I believe named Hilary who was both attentive and friendly. Indoor parking is conveniently located with easy access to the hotel. The lobby is nicely appointed, everything is clean and up to date. A pleasant surprise was the two cup single brew coffee machine in our room, a small but very nice touch. Which may be the point of the Double Tree nothing over the top just a bunch of little things that make for a very pleasant stay. As I said we have been staying at various hotels near FSU over the past two years some cheaper some considerably more expensive but none that can compare to the overall feel of the hotel. Management should be proud of the job they have done with the facility and especially they staff

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#14 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee

Property: Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Address: 101 S Adams St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
#9 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check-in complete with complimentary chocolate chip cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Doubletree
Doubletree Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing