We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific General Manager” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific General Manager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Yes, this Doubletree Hotel is the preferred location in Tallahassee, it is expertly maintained, and features well trained smiling people. The dining room and bar contiguous to the lobby is above par and has a destination restaurant appeal. The hotel is fortunate to have attracted accomplished hotel General Manager, John Kelly. Mr. Kelly knows service, inspires his staff and delivers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeTraveler041847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    381
    226
    116
    63
See reviews for
441
157
87
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Of course this location is the "Mecca" for business and legislative travelers in Tallahassee. Why? Because its location is central, within walking distance, to pretty much wherever you need to be. One would think that the staff would be burned out and grumpy based on the constant flow and demands of customers. NOT SO! The staff is amazingly hospitable and accommodating. I had the honor of meeting the General Manager and its obvious that his leadership trickles down. Amazing Staff and Amazing Location!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view of the quaint city of Tallahassee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I will definitely be coming back to this hotel. A great spot in town with very helpful staff. The room was awesome. I heard they are redoing their dining area soon which will only make this a better place to stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Evanthe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vero beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our double queen room was quite large and very comfortable. The hall was a bit noisy late at night thanks to so discourteous guests, but that's a fact of life when staying in any hotel. They had an onsite restaurant where we ordered breakfast. The breakfast buffet was very extensive but we weren't hungry to warrant paying the price. They also had a coffee kiosk that had some delicious-sounding choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family booked 2 rooms on an otherwise delightful stopover in Tallahassee. Having just come from a great stop over at a Hampton Inn, we were expecting another Hilton-quality experience. On the positive side the bed was OK and the service was friendly enough on the surface (yes those cookies are a nice touch) but here are the reasons why you should look elsewhere for a good night sleep...

1, The Boeing air-conditioning from the 70s - wow - my daughter was kept awake by it and she wasn't even in our room! I note this has been commented on by others going back a year or so, so obviously something that the hotel management can live with, even if some guests can't...even when it was quiet, the sheer anticipation of it starting up again with that reassuring BANG before the jet engines cut in was fun - all the way to 5am when exhaustion finally won and we collapsed into some sort of coma..

2. The fridge - even during the rare quiet moments when the temperature was in that elusive buffer zone, the needy fridge took over from its buddy just in case we dared to try and go to sleep - with a clunk and and a shudder it was clearly reminding us that it was cooling er...nothing...but doing it really well thank you very much.

3. The zero noise insulation - well it was nice to be constantly reminded that we were on a floor (the 13th) with some really interesting people who obviously had a better social life than us as they gradually came in every half hour or so throughout the early hours. Not that they were being particularly noisy mind - it was just that the 2 inch gap under each door magically amplified every sound - we even heard somebody blowing their nose in another room.....again this has been commented on by others and ignored by the management

4. The rather desperate revenue generation attitude. OK - I understand that we had to pay for wifi (although note to management - EVERY other hotel in our trip, including the aforementioned Hamptons provided it for free) but then when we downloaded a film and settled down with the family to watch it, we couldn't use the TV to display it as they had actively disabled the use of the HDMI connection! The staff were very embarrassed when they let us know this but clearly could not do anything about it. Obviously the hotel was so desperate to get us to watch the Pay TV films they had on offer, they came up with this idea of stopping us from enjoying our own movies. I can just see that management meeting now under the 'How to irritate your guests' agenda item..

So the final hour before we settled down to a ultimately fruitless nights 'sleep' (although we were blissfully unaware of this at this time) was spent with the 3 of us squeezed together on our bed trying to watch our film on my 13" laptop.

As a result, we emerged the next morning with sore necks and sleepy eyes but on the positive side with an in depth knowledge of the intimate social lives of our fellow travellers in the 6 rooms ether side of us, so it wasn't a totally wasted trip....

Tallahassee seemed a wonderful place with some really nice people and places to visit - make sure you see the old government building - but this hotel, whilst on the surface is impressive (yes those cookies were nice...) seems stuck in the last century with regards to facilities and the ways it tries to extract the last dime from its guests. I am sure there are more modern options...

Room Tip: Not sure it matters - you will hear them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_HirstUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

From the moment we checked in the front desk was very curtious! Students from local university and were very friendly and professional. Couldn't turn on TV and an engineer came within 5 minutes to fix it. And who doesn't love a warm chocolate chip cookie upon check-in?!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank CarolynB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel was clean, reasonably well maintained and the staff were friendly but there was one problem that arose that you might want to keep in mind should you come to stay. I had a 6:50 am flight and requested a 5:00 wakeup call at the front desk when I checked in. By good fortune I woke up on my own because there was no wakeup call and when I called the front desk and guest services lines there was no answer on either even though I let it ring about 20 times in each case. So be sure to bring your own alarm!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#13 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee Universities at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee

Property: Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee
Address: 101 S Adams St, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tallahassee
#9 Business Hotel in Tallahassee
#9 Family Hotel in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check-in complete with complimentary chocolate chip cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallahassee Doubletree
Doubletree Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing