We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,723)
Filter reviews
1,723 results
Traveller rating
800
445
257
136
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
800
445
257
136
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesjohn kellydouble treeparking garagefront deskheart of downtownfsu campusbreakfast buffetcapitol buildingflorida state universitybusiness tripthe entire staffstaff was friendlyjacobslobbyvaletgm
Filter
Updating list...
1,631 - 1,636 of 1,723 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Two years ago, a new general manager was named for the Doubletree Hotel, that had previously been in need of a major overhaul. All of the rooms and bathrooms have been completly renovated. The bedding and linens are new and of a high quality. Obviously, the Housekeeping Dept. has received indepth training as the rooms were among the cleanest I've ever stayed in. The front desk staff is extremely cordial and knowledgable. I worked with Gaby Arisso who gave special attention to a legislative breakfast that was my responsibility. Thanks to her high degree of professionalism each detail was perfect. During the legislative session, Tallahassee hotels are extremely independent and not always accomodating. This is definitely not true for the Doubletree. The complimentary, warm, delicious, large cookies are an added bonus. Complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is a definite cost saving.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PleasedMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeTLH, Sales Assistant at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2010

Thank you for your review. We at Doubletree know all aspects of a property must be up or above standard to provide guests with a positive experience. Management directs and ultimately contributes to each and every aspect of a property. Our General Manager is no exception he came in and took care of all previous issues. We are pleased you were positively influenced by these changes. Additionally, the legislative session is a busy time for Tallahassee however, at our property we are thankful for this business and find the busy time is one when we should work hardest to provide an enjoyable experience for our guests. When your travels again bring you Tallahassee we would love for you to hop on our complimentary airport shuttle and we’ll have a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie and stellar service waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My company recently held a conference at the Doubletree in downtown Tallahassee, and I could not have been more pleased with the front desk staff! Not only were they polite, friendly, and courteous, but they were also SO helpful with my odd little requests.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biztraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeTLH, Sales Assistant at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2010

Glad you had a great experience at your conference. Please know that our front desk staff, as well as all of our staff members, pride themselves on offering exceptional customer service. If you have a request, no matter how odd, we will try are best to fulfill it. Pleasant travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I travel to Tallahassee frequently for work, and my first couple trips down there, I stayed at this hotel. I found the property to feel a bit dated, and the charge for internet access should be reconsidered as many competitors offer this for free now. Positives include the location (extremely short walk to the restaurants and offices downtown; pretty views of the Capital building from some spots in the hotel) and the buffet which is excellent particularly for lunch. Rates vary but are often a bit high, especially considering that the aloft a few blocks away (where I now tend to stay) is a newer hotel that typically offers lower rates. All in all, you could do a lot worse -- Doubletrees are a nice brand, and this property is not an exception -- but this hotel could stand to improve and modernize a little.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeTLH, Sales Assistant at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2010

We are thrilled you enjoy our buffet offered at our on-site restaurant, Jacob’s on the Plaza. We invite you to visit again as we frequently update the menu to reflect the change in the seasons, currently we have a great Spring menu featuring fresh sandwiches, and crisp salads. As do our menus change other aspects and amenities are examined as well. We will certainly look into the areas you’ve mentioned. When business again brings you Tallahassee we invite you to visit our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Mr. John Kelly and his staff (especially Nalda) went above and beyond what one could ever expect we were made to feel very welcome! The intire Hotel was immaculate and was VERY appealing inside and out! The downtown location is PERFECT & is centrally located! The food was appealing & VERY delicious, HOT & it was kept at an excellant temperature! The staff kept everything filled on the Buffet with many items to choose from, NOT once did we ever have to ask for any items, NEVER have I been to a hotel where everyone worked together to make everything flow so evenly! Where the staff made sure you always had a full glass without you needing to ask & you always had ice in your drink & the staff kept the tables cleared & clean & were ALWAYS very polite and respectful & very friendly. ALL staff took pride in the service they provided to each & everyone of us! This was my 2nd year to visit The Doubletree Hotel & I might add it will NOT be my last either!. John you are a REAL professional & you have an outstanding personality! Thank you for making our long trip so enjoyable & we look forward to our trip again next year & many more years to come! Keep up the GOOD work! You & Nalda deserve a very nice raise each year, you both are definately an ASSETT to Doubletree! I have been bragging on the staff & you, John to all my friends & neighbors.

RESPECTFULLY,
BARBARA J. STAMM, BROKER/OWNER
STAMM REALTY, LLC
[--]

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamm4homes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeTLH, Sales Assistant at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

Ms. Stamm, Thank you so very much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction is in deed among our top priority and we are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Each and every staff member is expected to go above and beyond to deliver to our guests a wonderful experience while at our property. We are also thrilled you enjoyed your dining experience. Our restaurant staff at “Jacob’s on the Plaza” further extends our guests are top priority commitment and promise a pleasant time in our dining room. Again, thank you for your complements and we look forward to again welcoming YOU (friends, family, and neighbors) to the Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

If you have a need for hotel accommodation in Tallassee for downtown, the Capitol, FSU, etc, there simply isn't any other choice comparable to The Doubletree Tallahassee. It's location is convenient to everything. The efficiency of the staff is exceeded only by their friendliness. The food was excellent. The prices were right! The accommodations and amenities met my needs exactly! I rarely write a review, but I seriously could not understand why anyone would choose anything other than The Doubletree Tallahassee for their Tallahassee, Florida, business trip, business meetings or vacation. And when you go to the restaurant.......say hello to Nalda! The best!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeTLH, Sales Assistant at Doubletree Hotel Tallahassee, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2010

We appreciate your recent post on Trip Advisor. How wonderful it is to hear that you had a positive experience in all aspects of your stay at our property. In travels a great trip can be tarnished by just one particular instance. We pride ourselves in offering a great well rounded stay to each guest. We constantly evaluate and fine tune each element at the Doubletree Tallahassee with service training, varying menu selections, updating amenities, etc. If your travels again bring you to Tallahassee we would love to welcome you with a warm smile and stay that is sure to be pleasant in each and every way. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews