We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a wonderful time we had!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Killearn Country Club
Ranked #45 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a wonderful time we had!!!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We had the opportunity to have my mother's 75th birthday party at this facility. I would like to thank the great staff Lori Wilkie, Sarah and Mark for all the assistance they provided me with. The Oak Room and the staff that set it up for the event there were "no words to express the beauty" of this room as they got it ready for the event. The food was really awsome and that southern hospitality was everywhere. We had a really good time and I don't think my mother will ever forget it. Thank you all for a wonderful time. We also stayed at one of the Villas and it too accommodated, provided everything we need in having a rememberable occasion. Thank you all and i can't think of anywhere else we would have gotten the assistance that we received at this place. Charlotte D. Davis, Tallahassee, Fl

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davischarlotte02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The personnel are very nice but the rooms are so old and musty and dirty.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbmgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meme0882
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I recently stayed at Killearn Country Club for an FSU football game wknd, and was a bit worried about how it was going to turn out after reading the reviews. Much to my surprise, it was an enjoyable experience! The room was clean, the hours of the Inn front desk (which were a hot topic in the reviews I read) were now from 9am to 7pm, and the food at their restaurant was good. None of that fried frozen food, actual french fries made from freshly cut potatoes and the grouper sandwich was delish! I had a late arrival and arranged for a lock-box to be placed on my door w/ the key inside of it. I got in around midnight and had no problems getting into my room. The only complaint is that it is set so far back into the neighborhood. Better have a good GPS or mapquest directions to find this place after a long day of tailgating at the game!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meme0882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Thanks to having checked first with TripAdvisor before booking this place, I had a good idea what we were getting into. Most of the reviews were negative, but it was graduation (and fan) weekend for Florida State University, and our options were limited for six people who didn’t want to rob a bank to be able to stay overnight. The only lodging in town four weeks before was very expensive, like $250 per night, or the Killearn Country Club Inn.

Let’s start with the plusses: The inn is located way back inside a beautiful housing development. You have to drive quite a distance through it to get to it, and are treated to sights of some beautiful estate-style homes on big, manicured lots. It sits on a driving range with a combination of pretty houses and light woods around it.

They have an interesting option we took advantage of, great for several families or friends who want to lodge near each other or if you want to give a nice size party. Imagine a large rectangular room with wet bar, small fridge, a table that seats 8 (though only 4 chairs provided), a couch with pull-out mattress, Murphy double bed, barely-working old-fashioned TV and bathroom. Now imagine attached to each corner of that main room is a regular motel-size room with bathroom and connecting door. You can rent only the center room or any one or all of the four rooms adjoining it. It provided a spacious meeting space for our family group.

Minuses: The signage to get you to the inn is almost non-existent. And you cannot find it at night. The one small wooden sign that indicates you are near the inn isn’t even lighted at night. Don’t try to find this place at night.

The office is only open from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. so you can’t check out in the morning, if you need to leave early (must do so the afternoon before), and heaven help you if you are arriving late. We were told they would wait until 6 p.m. if we were arriving late. I don’t know what they do if you arrive after they have closed the office.

Check-in is not smooth. We had to wait almost 15 minutes for someone to show up. No one was at the front desk. The buildings and room numbers are confusing. Our room locations were incorrectly circled on the map we were given and we ended up accidentally trying to get into an already-occupied room

It’s quite a distance from the FSU campus - at least a 20 minute drive if there is not a lot of traffic. It’s on the northeast side of Tallahassee. FSU is on the west side.

The inn was obviously built many, many years ago and the rooms have not been updated in decades. They smelled very musty. The carpets needed cleaning and there was food in the mini-fridge apparently left by the previous occupants. In my room, the main “party” room, there were slats missing on the blinds and there was no cord to pull them shut. It had to be done by hand. The remote control on the TV did not work. My father’s room had a dead cockroach in the floor (at least it was dead).

The wallpaper in the bathrooms was peeling. And the strangest thing I’ve ever seen: On one end of the shower tub were the controls and on the other end was the shower head.

I would recommend this place if you want to be able to throw a party and have a room that will hold a lot of people (not much seating, but a lot of standing room). It’s OK if you expect that it will be run-down, smelly and unattractive. It’s not a dump. It’s a couple of notches above that, but it’s not a place for a romantic getaway for sure. It’s more a place to go if you are on a budget and don’t expect much.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenTessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2006

Situated on a lovely golf course, tucked deep in a residential neighborhood, the Inn seems like the after thought. We arrived at noon and the room was not ready. Since I knew we would not be back before the desk closed at 7PM, and had read the review about problems after this time, asked if we were completely set. Oh yes, I was told. We arrived back to the Inn at 9:30 PM. Our second story outdoor hallway was pitch black. Not one light was on. We felt our way down the hall and fumbled with the key in the invisible lock - it was that dark and creepy. We entered the spacious room with fridge and small kitchen seating area and immediately realized our roll away bed was not present. The rollaway we had confirmed three times (and needed, or my husband, 14 year old son and I would look like a scene from Willie Wonka - sharing one bed). We looked on the phone for someone to call: I am not exaggerating that the type was so small as to be almost unreadable with reading glasses. The first # reached a man that had not been employed by the Inn in 5 years. The second # reached an off site maintenance guy who was somehow miraculously able to reach a guy in the catering dept of the banquet room, explain to him where to get the bed and the catering guy brought it to us... he also promised to look into the lighting situation. About 20 minutes later some of them came on, but several were burned out. We used a bulb from one of our room lamps in the fixture outside our room.

It was a chilly night for Florida - low 40s. When we pulled back the light bedspread, there was no blanket. There was one twin size blanket in the closet... not great for a king bed. The rollaway had one blanket. Did we have the energy to call the maintenance guy to call the catering guy again?? No, we had a chilly night.

The room itself was decent, spacious and cheerful. The bathroom was very small and the light/vent combo made a horrific noise, but it had to be on to have light in the bathroom. All the outer doors looked horrible, maybe like they were in the midst of beiing scraped to be repainted, but no sign like "Pardon our dust" to alert us to the fact they were not just decrepit.

This could be a great place with a little time and effort. Don't really know if that's in the cards as things have not been addressed from much earlier reviews.... Just make sure to check in and check all aspects of your room before the desk staff leaves. Then I think you'll be OK.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rightofcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2006

We stayed at Killearn CC & Inn in one of the 'pods' in May 2006. A pod arrangement is four private rooms that enter into a large gathering room. We had reserved four rooms for family members attending a wedding. It's a great arrangement as there is a large gathering room in the center of the four private rooms. This was our second time to stay as we reserved a pod arrangement in 1997 while attending a wedding. However, it will be our last. This facility has not been maintained. The rooms have deteriorated and there has been no maintenance, much less improvements. The carpets were stained, the air was musty, the closets were dripping water from the ceiling, the bathrooms were moldy and the beds were old, soft and lacked any support.

After the office closes, there is no one to contact in the event of an emergency nor is there security on the premises. We made the mistake of taking the one key to the large gathering room (we left our four room keys in the individual rooms) and the one key broke inside the lock while trying to open the door. We could not find an emergency number to call on the office door nor did the Tallahassee Police Dept or Leon County Sheriff's Dept have an emergency contact name and number. We finally found a name from another person's room that said to call in the event of a maintenance problem. We called and it took over an hour for the maintenance person to arrive and unlock the door. We were outside for approximately 2.5 hours before finally getting in to our rooms around midnight.

Until they completely redo the rooms and provide better management of the property, you will not be pleased with the accommodations. Don't waste your money!

By the way, in addition to the pod arrangement, they have individual rooms. A relative staying in an individual room said that the individual rooms were in the same poor condition.

Helpful?
4 Thank txgrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 May 2006

We stayed in one of the executive suites for one night. We found both good & bad things. Outside, others were commenting on the peeling paint on the staircases. Inside, it looked like it hadn't been remodeled since the 1970s, but everything worked perfectly. Our suite had a nice intimate little balcony that looked out into a tiny patch of woods. There was a large dead roach in the bathroom when we came in. The woman at the reception desk did not tell us about the bed so we had to search to find it. After opening several doors in the wall, we located a double bed that pulled down from the wall, with no bedside tables. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and the pillows so thin that we had to get a blanket to put under them for enough support. The room had no extra pillows. There was a nice large table with chairs and a comfortable sofa. It was also very spacious. The desk clerk was very un-knowledgable about our questions. The outdoor pool is huge and there is a nice shallow one for small children as well. The setting is quiet and pretty. All in all I give it a 2-star rating.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallahassee hotels
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tallahassee - Killearn
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee
#12 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Tallahassee North/I-10 Capital Circle
6.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Tallahassee
Homewood Suites Tallahassee
#3 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Tallahassee North/I-10 Capital Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Killearn Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Killearn Country Club

Property: Inn at Killearn Country Club
Address: 100 Tyron Cir, Tallahassee, FL 32309-3330
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Killearn Country Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at Killearn Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Killearn Country Club Hotel Tallahassee
Hotel At Killearn Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing