We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by bad reviews - I had a good stay”
Review of The Regency Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Regency Inn
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by bad reviews - I had a good stay”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I live about a half hour outside Tallahassee, and stayed at this hotel one night before a morning medical procedure. I booked through a certain anonymous booking site, and when I found that this was the facility, I immediately checked tripadvisor, and was dreading this stay. Thankfully, I was surprised. The gentleman at the front desk welcomed me with a smile, and quickly checked me in - seemed like a nice guy, although the interaction was just the basics. The room was clean and well furnished - desk, chairs, small coffee table in addition to the usual. Had a mini coffee maker with the usual supplies. Although it was a cool day, I tested the A/C and it worked well. The minifridge was set to the highest (coldest) setting, unlike many places where they keep it at the minimum. The washcloths, hand towels, and bath towels were thick, clean, and all cotton. The soaps were decent. The sheets were clean, the bed was a little firmer than I like, but it was OK - also, I CLOSELY inspected the bedding and room, and there were no tiny inhabitants. I walked around with damp feet after my shower, and the soles of my feet stayed their usual pink, so I think the carpets were clean. The TV was an older 25 inch with remote, but worked perfectly and had clear cable with a very good selection of channels including several movie channels. Some of the fittings and furnishings were older, but they were good quality and not worn out (I would accept any of them as furnishing in my house.) The room was quiet - the facility is set well back from the highway. It is near a multitude of restaurants. Unfortunately I couldn't eat the free breakfast (the medical procedure I mentioned above...) but it seemed to be the basic continental you see everywhere - pastries, bagels, bread, cereals, juice machine, milk, etc. with the bonus of a waffle maker. The breakfast room was clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again. I am not sure if the management has changed or what, but my experience was nothing like the worst reviews below, and I can't imagine that I got the "magic" room. Thinking about some of my past experiences, for the price, this was actually a very good stay. I am putting this review in just after my stay, because I wanted it to be fresh in my mind, and because I never would have booked a room here if I had seen the other reviews (and probably would have ended up paying more somewhere else.)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you’ve given us, and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was more than satisfactory. We take time to address the issues raised in the reviews our guests give after their stay; for we are committed to deliver the best service you deserve. The detailed positive comments regarding our hotel room facilities and amenities, the continental breakfast served and the cleanliness of the room in total brings us much joy. This has motivated us to do so much more for our valued guests. We look forward to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    1
    2
    10
See reviews for
5
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Upon entering you are engulfed in a moldy smell. This smell consisted of dirt, bugs, and fielth. This room should be no more than $20 or free. Be sure to put toliet paper down on the seat because when you get past the bathroom smell you realize its all the old pee on the seat underneath. We didn't find bedbugs but while looking we found a family of fat silverfish enjoying a previous guest Cheeto bag by our headboard. Steer clear of the towels they had a sticky material probably snot or another personal biproduct.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,
We feel sorry for the short comings that we’ve had during your stay. Our customer service would’ve been very willing to render assistance if we reported those issues at that time. We will make sure that everything that you’ve mentioned will be covered on our regular meeting to improve what needs to be improved. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have never written a review but felt the need to because this was the worst place I have ever, ever, stayed . If you read the review from Auntie WInter 4, she didn't experience what I did. We just spent $315.00 for two nights to sleep in a room that was filthy. The tub had mold and cracked ceiling. The TV was +/- 20 years old and snowy picture. Single cup coffee maker was grimy. Towels were torn and frayed. Wouldn't walk on rug or bathroom floor without shoes. They gave soap, no conditioner. We would have gone somewhere else had it not been graduation week. Breakfast was equally bad. Can it get any worse than watered down OJ.

Room Tip: Find another facility! My husband and I don't need a lot but this place you should RUN, RUN, RU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipswich24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking some time in making this feedback. We also feel sorry that you had shortcomings during your stay here at Guest House Inn. We admit that we sometimes have flaws and our customer service staff is always there to render assistance to cater the needs of our customers. We assure you that this will be discussed during our regular meeting. We are hoping that you will still choose to stay with us on your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband stayed here for 3 weeks, and I visited. The staff was always friendly, however my husband noted if you had any issues, they would have to wait until the morning and mid afternoon when the owner/manager was present. I noticed that the cleaning staff was always fast and efficient, leaving enough toiletries, toilet paper, and towels. My husband's biggest complaint was the high speed internet was not always dependable, or available and on thursdays at 1:00 a.m. the garbage trucks woke him up. The continental breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cold cereal, milk, coffee, make your own mini waffles, & pastries. I enjoyed the lodge like feel and smell (like a cedar closet)of the main building, with it's porch and rocking chairs-very nice. Guests were separated enough that we did not hear the other guests. It is near I-10 (2 blks) and near many restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieWinter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for pointing out all the things that we need to improve. We are happy that you appreciate our service. This will serve as a motivation for us to do more and to give more. We will make an action about the things that affects your experience with us. We are looking forward to serving you again. Thank you so much for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My family was treated horribly by the staff of this hotel. They were extremely unhelpful and uninterested in making any effort to make the stay pleasant. When I asked to speak to the owner of the hotel he proceeded to scream at me over the phone. At one point, one of our friends that was visiting us at the hotel was harassed by the owners son. Worst experience I've had in a hotel!! Management is awful!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some time in making this review. We really apologize for the inconveniences that you’ve experienced during you stay. Our main goal in GuestHouse Inn is to deliver an outstanding customer service to our valued customers. We really do appreciate your feedback and this will be taken as a constructive criticism for us to further improve our services. All of your concerns are important to us and we are currently discussing these on our regular meetings. Rest assured that on your next stay in GuestHouse Inn will be great and we will show you the standard that we stand behind. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

It takes a great deal to make me angry enough to write a negative review, but what promised to be a wonderful weekend with family and friends was almost ruined not once, but twice, but the management and staff of this poorly run hotel.
We have been staying at the Cabot Lodge since 1995, so when the hotel changed management we were anxious to try the hotel under the new name, Guesthouse. We even convinced our friends to change their hotel from the Marriot Courtyard, which was a huge mistake because in doing so, we ruined their hotel experience as well.
Shortly after checking in, my husband ran out to buy a few items. My son, who is a college student in Tallahassee, was trying to find our room, but since my husband's car was not there, he was having a difficult time locating our room number, as the rooms are spread out on two levels. I told him it was by the pool, so he walked up to the pool level to see if he could find our room. At the same time, he called me to get directions. That is how I came to hear the whole exchange between my son and an employee of the hotel. He challenged my son by saying ,"What are you doing here? This is private property and I can have you thrown out." My son said he was looking for his parents' room and the guy clearly didn't believe him and said he was going to call someone to have him removed from the property. The exchange was ugly and completely unwarranted.
The next day, I mentioned it to the manager, who said he already knew about it. He said the employee, who may have been his son, called and said he merely said, "Excuse me, may I help you" and my son became belligerent. I shared that he said no such thing and I knew that because I was on the phone with my son at the time and heard the entire exchange. He replied that the employee was concerned that my son was going to touch the door to the room that he had just painted.
The whole thing made no sense. I don't understand why my son was challenged and I certainly don't understand why management didn't apologize to us as soon as the incident was reported. My son even phoned the manager to share that he was treated disrespectfully and it was completely unjustified. The manager proceeded to tell him about the freshly painted door and the concern that he would mess up the paint.
The hotel advertises free wifi. The wifi in our room did not work. I called the desk and the man on duty told me that it was working just fine in the office. I shared that I was not in the office. He said he just worked the desk and would have to call the owner and call me back. He never did.
My friends paid for 2 queen size beds and received double beds. It appeared we were the only ones at the hotel, so there is no reason why they could not be given the type of room they paid for.
This hotel has the worst customer service I've ever encounter. However, if freshly painted doors is what you are looking for, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay. Your voice is a lot important to us. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that you have experienced. We do not expect this to happen and this case will be taken seriously. At the moment, we are conducting meetings to all the staffs who failed to perform a good customer service. We will be giving probable sanctions to whoever failed. We are also conducting additional trainings to all our employees to improve our customer service and to serve you in the best way we could. Hopefully, you are still going to stay with us on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

You will not get any sleep in this sorry excuse for a hotel. There are a ton of foreignors that live here, and we were so lucky to get put in a room right in the middle of them. The front desk is mostly ran by americans, but it is owned by foreignors. They party ALL night long and it VERY annoying. But who do you complain to when it is the owners' family. The a/c unit does not come even close to cooling the room. It would come on for about 5 minutes and shut off, and no matter what you put it on, it will not come back on for about an hour. The front desk guy said it was becuase they were "energy efficient" units. That's BS. It was broke and they don't want to fix it. Don't get lured in from expedia claiming it's a 2.5 star hotel on their unpublished rate. There's a reason this one is unpublished.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_C1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHTallahassee, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our main goal is to value our customers by providing comfortable accommodations as well as the best services possible. We apologize for this unexpected incident. We are currently working on improving our facilities in order for us to cater to our guests the services that you deserve. This feedback was noted and served as a constructive criticism for us to identify the areas for us to improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tallahassee
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#37 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
Candlewood Suites Tallahassee
#15 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.9 mi away
Country Inn and Suites By Carlson Midway Florida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Tallahassee
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Tallahassee Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
Red Roof Inn Tallahassee
#20 of 58 in Tallahassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Inn

Property: The Regency Inn
Address: 2735 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32303-4029 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn Tallahassee)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Tallahassee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Tallahassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Regency Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Regency Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn Tallahassee Hotel Tallahassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing