We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale-Commercial Blvd.
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tamarac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Let me begin by pointing out that this is the Hampton Inn just of the Turnpike at 4499 W. Commercial Blvd and it's a terrific property. Housekeeping is among the best anywhere and the staff here are all pleasant and cheerful. Room maintenance is first rate too, with everything in perfect working order. The bed was among the most comfortable anywhere. Breakfast was fine, although a notch below that of Holiday Inn Express. Fresh baked hot cookies appear in the lobby around 6PM and they're really delicious. Overall this is a great place to stay. Only drawbacks are no refrigerator or microwave in room and no in-room safe.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2009

This is a typical Hampton Inn. The rooms are reasonably attractive and comfortable in an unspectacular motel style. They are clean and the towels and pillows are abundant . Management is a bit cheap with amenities such as shampoo, soap, conditioner and they don't appear to replace the toilet paper (two rolls) until they reach the end of the roll. The promised cookies were never when we were there but the complimentary breakfast is adequate, self serve as is the norm, and on styrofoam plates. Our fellow breakfast diners appeared to be mainly blue collar employees on trips for work, rather than vacationers. The hotel staff was very pleasant and obliging.

The motor inn is situated in a modest neighborhood with very quick access to Florida's Turnpike as its only positive. There are no dining options at all and strolling through the neighborhood would be a very unattractive option. There are numerous pawn shops, check cashing and gun stores and no upscale shopping at all in the vicinity.

We never felt threatened or unsafe but there was a noticeable police presence patrolling the hotel often. This could be a positive of course but one would hope that his lodging would not require police on site.

There was a tiny swimming pool but we never saw anyone use it. On the other hand the exercise room was well equipped and frequently in use. The lobby did offer a free computer and printer which I used once to print out boarding passes since I came with a Blackberry. The ink in the printer was almost out and the copies I printed were close to illegible. When I sat down at 10pm to use the computer it asked for a password. An employee chatting away on a cellphone in the lobby ignored me until I asked for help and then told me no password is needed, information which she could have/should have volunteered when I sat down.

So, if you are looking for clean lodging close to the turnpike, this is an adequate place but I did feel that the previous reviewers were a bit too generous with their praise. If you are looking for a vacation destination, keep moving!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rojersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Excellent, family friendly place to stay. The facilities were new, the rooms were clean, and the front desk was most inviting. We travelled with two kids under 3 and they treated our kids with kindness and invited them to help themselves to anything that was available. The front desk staff ensured that we enjoyed our stay. If we asked any questions, they were very quick to assist us in finding a resolution whether it was a place to go or something we forgot to pack.

I would recommend this place for families with young kids. The pool was fun and extremely clean. The hot tub was also very clean and we were very excited about our stay here at this Hampton Inn. There were many places to eat and entertainment close by. We fully enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GoingSouth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

This is a very nice hotel. The staff is so friendly. They had warm cookies when we arrived...the aroma was so inviting in the lobby when we checked in. The room was clean. We had access to the internet which was nice to check e-mails in the A.M.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank michgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

We were on our way back to Ft Lauderdale from Marco Island and wanted to find a clean motel to stay in. I had looked up the Hampton Inn on Commercial Blvd from home so we stopped in, what a clean well run property!
They allowed us into a room early which was great after a couple hours of driving.
The room was clean, the beds were very fresh and comfy, we did use the pool and jacuzzi while there and they were clean, maybe a little too much chlorine.
The breakfast area was very nice even though we missed the breakfast due to an early flight, they also put out cookies at the front desk in the evening.
The staff was very friendly and very helpful with instructions to get around the area. We would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WayneG714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in this area. We were completely happy with our choice. The hotel is relatively new, very clean and well serviced. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We really liked having breakfast in their lounge area. Nothing fancy but just what we were hoping for. They have close and easy access to the freeway. I would highly recommend this hotel for this area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveler2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

My stay ay the Hampton Inn was excellent. It is located right off the Fl. Turnpike and shopping & restaurants are within walking distance. The lobby and rooms are very clean.The beds were extremely comfotable. In addition , there is a TV with sofas and chairs in the lobby. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast has both hot & cold food as well as fresh fruit. There is coffee available 24 hours day. The homemade cookies are fabulous!!! The rooms are spacious. They have a computer in the lobby with free internet access. In the evening the hotel was quiet. Just a nice place to stay when you need a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Susan252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarac
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale/West-Sawgrass/Tamarac
7.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Sawgrass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale North/Cypress Creek
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale North/...
#50 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#77 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Tamarac
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Laud...
#61 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale-Commercial Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale-Commercial Blvd.

Address: 4499 W Commercial Blvd, Tamarac, FL 33319-3398
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Tamarac
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tamarac
Price Range: £97 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale-Commercial Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale-Commercial Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Commercial Blvd. Hotel Tamarac
Hampton Inn Tamarac
Tamarac Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing