We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Hyde Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyde Park Hotel
Ranked #111 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Of course, the price attracted me but I expected way better than what people said about this hotel. It wasn't that clean, a little old, no elevator, the aircon was so old and noisy. The only thing great was its location, if you're a young adult willing to go out at night (lots of bars and restaurants around).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Celine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was a fine two night stay in a perfect location with free parking and very comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses. Hotel is a converted apartment building, so room has a full kitchen. Staff very cordial and helpful. Clean and comfortable with the charm of an older building. Walking distance to some of the best Tampa restaurants and nightlife. Would certainly return. Good value.

Room Tip: Request room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It was cozy rustic sort of old school movie picture sort of environment. They even have a business center comodo 24 Atari era bizarre setting when you can check your social media in the middle of the lobby. Bizarre, kitch, 60s decore make this place comforting for
A one night stand. Kitchen is ready to cook and IHOP is 24/7. Take it or leave it . This is the place to be on a Monday night on your way to elsewhere a couple hours later. The bees is masmellow meaning is moist textured and absorbing. You well rested sleepy fairy style. Magical morning. Try it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldwideTravelVip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great location. Safe neighborhood. Can walk to everything.
Short cab ride to downtown. Friendly staff. It is old but clean. Rooms are a bit small but they have a kitchenette. All you need. Free parking as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hunza37093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Main attraction was a place to charge our car in Tampa. One level 2 charger and 5 NEMO 14-50 plugs recently installed in the parking area. I think it is under new ownership/management.

Quirky, almost European feel in an older (?historic) building in a walkable, mixed neighborhood that appears to be on the upswing. Very helpful staff when booking. We arrived late after 11PM and used their keyless entry system/lock box outside the room to "check" ourselves in - a little unconventional, but it worked well. Room was tight - small built in desk & 2 chairs, no room for a lounge chair, but was very clean. Only stayed one night, but the room had a fridge, small microwave, toaster & coffee maker for longer stays. Free WiFi. Bathroom appeared recently renovated with nice quality fixtures and tile. Plenty of water pressure/hot water. Very comfortable king size bed & a jacuzzi that we didn't have time to use.

Can't really compare to a chain, but if you're adventurous and want to experience being part of an urban neighborhood - could be a good fit. And if you're driving an EV, it's one of the few places where you can stay in Tampa and get electrons.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We typically do not stay outside the chain motels/hotels, We stayed here because we needed a room at last minute an our friends from Washington had stopped in a few months prior an said it was a decent an affordable place with a good location. So, we gave it a try; we enjoyed our stay, being older couple we were given a discount an given a very clean room. Ice could have been much better. Easy to take a taxi to decent restaurants. Very simple place; good for one night try an stay. We'll stay with chain next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is NOT worth the money. Rooms are too small, incredibly scuffed wood floors, dated furniture and decor, and unfriendly staff. The air filter in the AC had not been changed in months and caused my guests and I to wake up stuffy and sneezing. THE PLACE REEKED OF CIGARETTES. They dont allow you to make any noise and there is definitely not enough parking. Just say no.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessica a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Best Western Tampa
#51 of 163 in Tampa
484 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
508 reviews
Quality Inn Airport
#100 of 163 in Tampa
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Hotel

Address: 2105 W Bristol Ave, Tampa, FL 33606
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: £77 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyde Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Boutique Hotel, in the heart of SoHo! Minutes from Bern's Steak House and steps from Hyde Park Village and SoHo bar scene, in the center of Tampa. We offer fully furnished kitchens, free parking and free Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing