We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, big portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yummy House

Yummy House
Ranked #228 of 2,368 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tampa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, big portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The food here is great. Lots of meat in the meat dishes. One warning. If you order, say, beef and scallions, you are going to get beef and just scallions. No mixed veggies. Restaurant is a dive with billet holes in the window. Not fancy. You can bring in your own wine! No corkage fee. Good service. Have been there a few times and the food was always great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    59
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy house is sooo Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is one of our family favorites. It's not your typical Chinese place. We love the salt and pepper calamari, you can actually taste the calamari not the batter. It is also drizzled with chopped roasted garlic and baked slivers of jalapenos. The food is family style, which means the servings are large enough to share. Normally I would not eat sweet and sour chicken, however here it is out of this world. It's my kids favorite. The best bargain is on the second menu what I call the " secret" menu, not the one they hand out when you sit down you have to ask for it. My other favorite, is they allow you to bring your own wine/beer and do not charge a corking fee. We are constantly bringing friends to Yummy house and so far they all have loved it. During peak dinner time there is always a wait, but well worth it. The service could be a little organize, but as long as I have my salt and pepper calamari and bottle of wine I am in my happy place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Ducos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Basic chinese restaurant. Sweet & Sour pork was very good as was the mogolian beef. Mongolian beef has a few red peppers in it so if you do not like a little bite, ask for them to not put in the peppers. Portions are large, enough for 2. Service is not well organized. I believe they bring out the food when it is ready so if someones is not ready it may be a while before everyone is served. Restaurant was very clean.

Helpful?
3 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicate flavors and fresh ingredients”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a great place if you are tired of the usual grocery plaza Chinese food swimming in brown sauce. The cashew chicken was delightful. I would suggest going for lunch. Dinner time is crowded and if you are not picky, you might get a large table with a bunch of strangers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLWS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have never been to the Orient, but I've been to a lot of Oriental restaurants, and this is one of the few that stands out as being different. The food "seems" authentic.... not all of the usual stuff that's seen at the typical Chinese buffets and takeout places. Just lots of flavor, huge variety and great value.
There is no "decor" or atmosphere to speak of, but it's notable that the place is always packed, and a large number of patrons are oriental- I've never seen that at a Chinese buffet! Excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soundsoktome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Yummy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing