We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food & Service Were Devine”

Council Oak Steaks & Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Council Oak Steaks & Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 2,567 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Council Oak Steaks & Seafood is celebrating seven years of being one of Tampa Bay's BEST Steakhouses. This crown jewel serves only the finest cuts of dry aged prime beef and the freshest seafood from local waters. The award-winning restaurant recently won the 2014 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, as well as the 2014 Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Be sure to visit us to see why the restaurant was recently added to one of the most prestigious restaurant review guides, Zagat.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It was the last night of our honeymoon and decided on Council Oak - we were able to make a reservation the same day for 9:30pm. When we made the reservation by phone the nice woman said she would reserve a booth with curtains because it was more romantic. When we arrived that's exactly what we were seated at. The server and his assistant were fantastic. the food... excellent. We didn't scrimp and went for the specials which were probably a bit more than anticipated but we were ok with it because they did not disappoint. Together we had a half dozen oyster, the bacon appetizer, lobster bisque, the kobe beef surf & turf and the 61 day aged kansas city. there was no room for desert as i'm sure that would have been just as delicious.
This is an excellent special occasion dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sikestacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHRTampa, Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Stacy B,

I would like to thank you for the wonderful praise that you gave, not only for the food but for our service staff as well! We appreciate you taking the time to express your opinion about Council Oak and hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
April Malandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great ambiance, amazing food, great service! This restaurant came highly recommended to us by our concierge - they were spot on - we will return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ShepherdJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHRTampa, Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear ShepardJW,

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for sparing time out of your day to give your opinion on Council Oak. We appreciate the positive words! We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
April Malandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I know a lot of people love this restaurant so I was expecting a lot. I have had better steak and sides for less at local restaurants in Tampa. I understand if you are on business or celebrating and staying at the hotel. Its ok

Thank randeeroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHRTampa, Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear randeeroma,

I wanted to take a moment and apologize that you were less than pleased with your dining experience at Council Oak. You stated that you have had better steaks and sides at other dining establishments and I would appreciate further feedback on what could make them better. We welcome our guests opinions. I hope that you will give Council Oak a second try.

Sincerely,
April Malandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Went in casual and felt at home. Waiters were great! Food was above average. Not a place for a value minded consumer. Great for snapping your collar and eating mountains of beef!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelZipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHRTampa, Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear TravelZipper,

Thank you for your kind words on not only our Brontosaurus sized steaks but on our wait staff as well! Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
April Malandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Council Oak Steak & Seafood is located in The Tampa Hard Rock Casino. My husband and I had a very nice meal in an attractive setting. The steak was amazing and all portions are a la carte, however quit large. The service was excellent! You can end your dinner in the lounge next door and listen to some Jazz. The only downfall was we both were very cold. Next visit we will dress warmer and bring a light jacket.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHRTampa, Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Rhonda G,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and do apologize for it being a little too chilly in the dining room on your visit. Looking forward to having you as our guests again!

Sincerely,
April Malandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Council Oak Steaks & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing