We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic steak and service”

Council Oak Steaks & Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Council Oak Steaks & Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 2,637 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Council Oak Steaks & Seafood is celebrating seven years of being one of Tampa Bay's BEST Steakhouses. This crown jewel serves only the finest cuts of dry aged prime beef and the freshest seafood from local waters. The award-winning restaurant recently won the 2014 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, as well as the 2014 Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Be sure to visit us to see why the restaurant was recently added to one of the most prestigious restaurant review guides, Zagat.
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We showed up at this restaurant without having a reservation. They seated us immediately in the lounge, which also had live music. The service was tremendous, and the food was out of this world!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole Hard R... T, Guest Relations Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Bob, thanks for the winning review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Council Oak! We're looking forward to your next visit. Rock on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

A booth is much quieter than a table. Very noisy & cigarette smoke wafted in from the casino. Escargots for appetizers were great. I had lamb chops, were ok, had better for half the price. Husband had surf & turf, loved it. Side of bacon & brussels not so good.

It was our first visit & I think will be our last. Food very over priced, we don't have an issue with paying for an expensive meal, but this was not good value for money.

1  Thank FloridaLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole Hard R... T, Guest Relations Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. We value your comments and concerns, and appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent experience, from the greeting to the salutation this place does it right. Menu choices are plentiful and the wait staff is out of this world. We have returned several times over the years and it never disappoints. Be sure to try the Gooey Buttercake Desert.

Thank JTFMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole Hard R... T, Guest Relations Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thanks for the winning review! . It's great to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and we're looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

My husband and I were at Council Oak for our Honeymoon dinner, Mark our waiter took the time to talk to us, made spot on recommendations and the Japanese steak was absolutely amazing. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laurastahl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole Hard R... T, Guest Relations Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thanks for the winning review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Council Oak! We're looking forward to your next visit. Rock on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

So disappointing...You had THE BEST lobster tails anywhere on earth!!! Why did you change to (4) 4 oz tails that compare in no way to the (2) luscious 8oz tails??? We were going there every few months JUST for the lobster! Wouldn't spend the money on tough small tails now...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole Hard R... T, Guest Relations Manager at Council Oak Steaks & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I want to apologize that you were unhappy with your recent dining experience to Council Oak. It is disheartening to learn that one of our guests left disappointed. I assure you that your feedback will only help to improve our dining establishment in any service areas that we may have fallen short. We strive for all of our guests to leave us with a pleasurable and memorable dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Council Oak Steaks & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing