We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roll in for smokin' history”

Ybor City State Museum
Ranked #42 of 197 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tampa enclave's colorful history unfolds here.
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Roll in for smokin' history”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is small local museum focused on the heyday of cigar manufacturing in Ybor. The displays are informative but not interactive and provide a good history of the cigar industry. There is a short movie that you need to go next store to the gift shop to see. There is also a short visit to one of the workers houses. Overall we enjoyed this cute museum and it comes at a reasonable cost.

For some additional cigar talk and to pick up some freshly rolled cigars you can stop at a number of places nearby. We liked LaFarona Cigars.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cityglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    48
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“An added bonus to our walking tour”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our walking tour which was led by Wallace Reyes began and ended at the Ybor City Museum. After watching a documentary which was actually produced under the guidance of our tour guide we learned a bit more about the actually communities that made up Ybor City, Wally brought to life many of the facts we saw in the film as he then walked us through the original homes and showed us the factory remains and. historic streets of Ybor. as well as a cigar manufacturer in action. His knowledge was very detailed and he took great pride in this. The museum fee was $4 Pp but we did a private tour that we arranged through the museum shop and tour guide for $19.95 pp including the museum entrance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WBDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a little bit of Cuba in Tampa”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Who knew that Ybor City was a planned community evolved around the cigar manufacturing industry? We learned so much about the logistics of this area in a fascinating 2 hour tour by Wallace Reyes, tour guide extraordinaire. He was extremely knowledgeable about the history and people that comprised the working community and culture of this oasis of downtown Tampa. I highly recommend taking a tour of the historic center to learn about the various personalities that brought life to this otherwise underdeveloped area in the late 1800s leading Tampa to become one of the leading Cigar Manufacturing Industries in the early 20th century. The community grew to become a diverse multicultural mecca for many years and is still well recognized for its piece of Cuban history.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WBDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Small, focused museum”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This museum deals only with the history of the cigar industry in Ybor City and the people who worked in it. After you tour the museum, the ranger takes you thru a furnished replica of a typical home the workers lived in. We spent a little over an hour there and found it very interesting and informative. Once you finish, walk the Ybor City center and stop in the visitor center. The entry fee is $4.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimandcarolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

It was my first trip to Tampa, Florida. I went there with a group of other people. The museum tells the history of people of that came to Florida and worked at Cigar factories. It has a good collection of antiques from that era. It also gives an insight into how migrants came to live about in Florida, how the life was like on those days. A nice place to know about history of Florida and of course Cuba

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ybor City State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ybor City State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing