We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Walk in the Past”

Ybor City State Museum
Ranked #44 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tampa enclave's colorful history unfolds here.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A Walk in the Past”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Ybor City Museum offers visitors a glimpse of the past. The museum has three parts: a historic Casita (a cigar worker's home), a museum with changing exhibits (while we were there there was a special section in the influence of baseball), and a movie that shares the history of the area (the immigrants, the influence of cigar making and the Ybor City ties to Cuba). The Cassita is visited with a park ranger, the other two sections - the museum and film - are done independently. The cost is $ 4 per person (under age 5 are free) and, depending on how long you like to dally in the museum, may be completed in about 1 hour.

We found it well worth the visit because it gave us the background of the area. We found ourselves walking down the main street afterwards and looking at buildings and saying.."ah, that was in the movie". The park ranger who showed us the Cassita (Jessica?) was informative and interesting. We would recommend a visit if you are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank aw0rld2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit while in Ybor City”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The history of the cigar industry shows why Tampa was called Cigar City USA....The story of the Cuban, Italian, and German immigrants that made Ybor City buzz...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chef2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
213 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Roll in for smokin' history”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is small local museum focused on the heyday of cigar manufacturing in Ybor. The displays are informative but not interactive and provide a good history of the cigar industry. There is a short movie that you need to go next store to the gift shop to see. There is also a short visit to one of the workers houses. Overall we enjoyed this cute museum and it comes at a reasonable cost.

For some additional cigar talk and to pick up some freshly rolled cigars you can stop at a number of places nearby. We liked LaFarona Cigars.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cityglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
212 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“An added bonus to our walking tour”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our walking tour which was led by Wallace Reyes began and ended at the Ybor City Museum. After watching a documentary which was actually produced under the guidance of our tour guide we learned a bit more about the actually communities that made up Ybor City, Wally brought to life many of the facts we saw in the film as he then walked us through the original homes and showed us the factory remains and. historic streets of Ybor. as well as a cigar manufacturer in action. His knowledge was very detailed and he took great pride in this. The museum fee was $4 Pp but we did a private tour that we arranged through the museum shop and tour guide for $19.95 pp including the museum entrance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WBDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
212 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a little bit of Cuba in Tampa”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Who knew that Ybor City was a planned community evolved around the cigar manufacturing industry? We learned so much about the logistics of this area in a fascinating 2 hour tour by Wallace Reyes, tour guide extraordinaire. He was extremely knowledgeable about the history and people that comprised the working community and culture of this oasis of downtown Tampa. I highly recommend taking a tour of the historic center to learn about the various personalities that brought life to this otherwise underdeveloped area in the late 1800s leading Tampa to become one of the leading Cigar Manufacturing Industries in the early 20th century. The community grew to become a diverse multicultural mecca for many years and is still well recognized for its piece of Cuban history.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WBDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ybor City State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ybor City State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing