We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Pool Ever for Athletes - Great Rooms Too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Ranked #71 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
DC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Pool Ever for Athletes - Great Rooms Too!”
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This is a very nice hotel. I have stayed there many times. The front desk staff is awesome. The rooms are nice. And they have one of the best pools for triathlon swimmers at a hotel property. Based on my swim the length is about 50 meters, which is great if you need to do a 400 meter workout. Kudos for the pool designer at this property!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    83
    50
    14
    4
See reviews for
52
54
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Carpet sticks, bulls not working, below par kitchen and furniture and this is just a 2yr old building. Need I say more? I also got a handicapped room - requested a change and of course, "well're all sold out" was the reply, forget being apologetic! Would NEVER stay here again and don't want some to spend their money on this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pungi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSAvion, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 9 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback of the hotel. Our goal is to WOW our guests and provide our World Class service we are so proud of. Guest satisfaction is our TOP priority and we truly apologize that your experience did not meet our standards of excellence. Our hope is that you will provide us another opportunity to show our focus in the areas discussed in your response. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Not much to say. Clean and comfortable enough. Great location to shopping, airport, food, downtown, etc. Full kitchen was nice and would be great for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Stayed here for several nights for a convention, but didn't want to pay high convention hotel prices so instead got a great 1-BR suite for under $100/night and highly recommend it.

It's in the newish Avion Park development, less than a mile from the airport and convenient to all major freeways, downtown, beaches, restaurants and shopping. I have stayed at the Homewood Suites in this development (there is a Hilton Garden Inn also) and I prefer TownePlace. They also have their own parking, instead of having to go into a garage for the Homewood.

I love checking out new hotels, and this one did not disappoint. Clean, comfortable, modern, brightly decorated and comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff. They also have the longest outdoor swimming pool I have ever seen at any hotel or resort.

Do yourself a favor and stay whether for a couple of nights or an extended stay, you will enjoy it. Also - airplane noise is not an issue, and while the TownePlace is next to a sometimes-busy road (usually around rush hour) you don't notice the traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed at Towneplace Suites for 5 nights during vacation in April. The lobby is nice & staff is very helpful in providing directions to nearby locations. The business area in the lobby has 2 computers & a printer for guest use. During my stay 1 of the computers always seemed to have issues. It wasn't too much of a problem though because the other one was always free when I needed it. They don't serve a real breakfast, it is more of breakfast snacks. They offered coffee, orange & apple juice, granola bars & muffins. The pool is big but we did not use it during our stay. The downside to the large pool is no hot tub. The parking lot is not too big so it fills up early. But there is another parking lot across from the hotel that you can use.

Now onto the room itself, as others have stated it is small but adequate for just the two of us. For more than 2 people it would be pretty tight. The kitchen is nice and the bed is comfy. The bathroom is small as well but includes a second closet. One of the issues I had was the AC/heater. It was impossible to mantain a comfortable temperature in the room. There was a constant back and forth between the heater & ac kicking on. I got tired of it and just stopped using it after the first day.

Now onto my main complaint about the hotel...the housekeeping. They obviously don't do a good job of cleaning/checking between guests. During my stay I found a container of moldy lasagna that a previous guest had left in the microwave. Who knows how long it had been sitting in there. It smelled horrible and left the microwaver smelling horrible as well. Next my son's toy had rolled under the bed so I went to get it out and found a pair of underwear under the bed!! And the 3rd surprise, my son found a half used package of Cialis in the bathroom drawer. They really need to do a better job to make sure all of the previous guests items are out of the room. Overall the hotel is nice, but I probably wouldn't stay again as they have left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSAvion, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Dear mamason,



Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our lobby and found our staff courteous and helpful with local directions.



I am sorry for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. I have informed my housekeeping staff and am in the process of completing a full review of all factors involved. Rest assured I will take the appropriate steps to use this as a learning tool so we can provide better services to our guests.



I hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your confidence when you travel back to Tampa.

Please feel free to contact me personally.



Abel Bohorquez

General Manager

813.282.1081
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

What can I say other than it was clean, the rooms were spacious, the pool was an extended lap pool (had to be 40 yards long), very close to the airport, very close to the mall.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank corevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbo01
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I recently stayed here overnight and the location was great (about 3 mins to airport). One of my main concerns was not having a car and the front desk clerk told me that the shuttle could take me to International Plaza or Westshore Mall. I called for the shutttle and the guy was there within 5 mins. He dropped me off at the mall and came back when I was ready to come back to my room. The room was small and nice. My only complaint would be that the walls are very thin. There was an empty building across the street but if they make that a restuarant it would be excellent because there aren't many eating places around. I come to Tampa a lot and I definetely will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa Westshore Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport

Property: TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Address: 5302 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1412
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
#46 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Tampa Westshore / Airport Hotel Tampa
TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing