We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay somewhere else... trust me” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #58 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else... trust me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

The Sheraton has some of the worst service in the world and this location kept with the trend. Not only were the Front Desk/Concierge staff always preoccupied with something else (talking to each other, battling it out with valets, paper work), but when you did get their attention they get annoyed with you.

Do not ask for a late check out, even if you are Starwood Platinum. You will not only not get it, but you will hear some sort of rude response accompanied by a gasp (surprise you even asked), smack of the teeth, and a sigh (for having to even speak to you). This all will be followed by the "we're sold out tonight."

Do not park your car in valet. My car was parked there with an 1/8th of the tank left (still not in the red), and returned past E. Seriously, who really wants to joy ride in a 2008 rental Impala? I guess the valet. To top it off, I ended up having two stains (seemed like acid) on the hood of my car. Unfortunately I didnt notice until I had checked out and pulled into a Five Guys (yum) for a quick bite. Therefore I didn't call back, and now have to deal with it. Fun. So if you park - check EVERYTHING when you get your car back.

Pros: Balcony is great; Good size room (may have been upgraded though); Location; Fairly clean
Cons: Everything else

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uvatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Hello uvatia! We would like to take this time to thank you for your recent feedback of the hotel. Please know that your past stay is not one which is normal for us. We will definately look into this and make adjustments as needed. Normal check out time is at noon and based on availability the hotel may or may not be able to accomodate...thankfully we can always store your luggage complimentary for you while you relax in our restaurant, The Link area, or the pool deck. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    346
    240
    134
    87
See reviews for
241
273
73
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

This is a very nice hotel in downtown Tampa. We were visiting the University of Tampa and this was truly a perfect place to stay. We were able to walk to the University by just walking over the bridge.

Front desk very helpful and informative, room very comfortable, beautiful view from the balcony, and convenient computers in the lobby to use.

Pool area was okay but could use a bit of refurbishing/updating.

Free parking/valet.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaCambell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Greetings CynthiaCambell! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your past stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and be sure to come back and ask for the University of Tampa rate next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently on a Friday night. There was a wedding downstairs, and guests of the wedding decided to party all night long on our 4th floor. After hearing a security guard knock on doors to quiet people down several times, I finally got out of bed at 2 am and went to the lobby to complain. The security guard came immediately back to our floor to issue more warnings. He told me that they have trouble with people booking weddings and then acting as if they owned the place with no regard to other guests.
The hotel is older construction with older building materials/codes (as verified by my husband, an architect), the walls and doors were thin and anybody talking in even a normal tone of voice on the hallway outside the room could be heard! Also, the windows were not insulated and, since we were placed in a room on the east (streetside), we heard sirens, horns, and bus traffic all night long. Further, a
vent in the bathroom transmitted conversations from another room, also! So, don't stay in this hotel unless you can sleep through anything at all! I was very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tired34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Greetings tired34618! We would like to take this time to thank you for your recent feedback and want to assure you that your past experience with us is not the norm for our guests. We have taken some measures to ensure our future guests will not have to experience the same. Thank you again for your insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

There aren't many business hotel options in Downtown Tampa, so the Sheraton Riverwalk can do some obscene price gouging and get away with it.

First off, the hotel is pristine clean, even if the decor is a little early 90s. The rooms are very large. Some might think the bathrooms are a bit small-ish, but they're perfectly OK for one user at a time. The beds are quite comfortable and the bedding is nice. The wi-fi works great with a strong signal. The location is great if you're doing business in Downtown Tampa. (I wouldn't stay here for a pleasure trip, though, because it's not near any Tampa Bay area fun stuff and the cab situation in Tampa is inexcusably awful.)

The negative? It's a big one. This is a terrible value. Room rates are obscene, but given that's not many other options, they get away with it. That's capitalism. But it's worth knocking off a star on their rating.

And even though the place is called the "Riverwalk," please note that although there is a river, there's no "walk" alongside it. I was disappointed to find that out, because a walk along the canal would've been fun.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retrofuturistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Greetings retrofuturistic! Thank you for your recent feedback about our hotel. Please note, as with airlines, rates can fluctuate based on the demand in the market such as Super Bowl, NCAA, Master's, etc. Certain times of the year our hotel rates are very reasonable in comparision to our competitors. We appreciate your business and truly hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

I stayed here as part of a conference where I was presenting for almost two days straight. This place is noisy! The room is noisy, the conference rooms are noisy, the whole hotel is just noisy.

The room itself is nice and big, clean, and appears to have been renovated lately. Something about the windows makes it so that you hear every single sound outside the hotel, and it's a noisy street with plenty of motorcycles gunning their engines and emergency vehicles running their sirens. The door to the hallway similarly seems to let all the noise pass through it, and you can hear every person walking down the hall, every laugh or conversation, every door slamming shut, and every time someone gets ice from the machine. I had difficulting sleeping.

As a speaker I found the conference facilities frustrating. The largest room had a rattling air conditioner and many of the speakers were difficult to hear. The smaller rooms were all situated along the main service corridor, and I ended up having to pause several times as service carts rattled over the tile floor outside. Staff had little regard for quiet, talking loudly in the service areas near the rooms and stacking soiled plates loudly when tidying the room.

I'm a loud speaker, and I don't consider myself to be particularly picky about noise in general. However I can't recommend this hotel for another conference as it was simply difficult to be hear and be heard which is a pretty important part of any meeting.

Finally, internet access was intermittent and not particularly great when it was working. Both wired and wireless were spotty all week, and I know that others in my group complained to the front desk and got a bit of a shoulder-shrug response.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

I'm here just for a quick one-night visit for business, and the rooms are beige and old, but rooms have what you need, and room service dinner was delicious (I got the salmon) and the people who work here have been splendid. They seem happy with their jobs and it shows. Great water pressure in the shower, too! And I appreciated the free internet. My room was near the elevator though so heard people coming and going late night and early morning, but that's what you get for being near the elevator.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sologirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Greetings sologirltraveler! We would like to take this time to thank you for your recent stay with us and for your feedback. Our rooms were renovated in late 2008 and have had some soft uplifts since then. As you mentioned, they have everything you need/want in a hotel room. From our hairdryers to the irons to the Sweet Sleeper Beds that we are known for. We also provide complimentary internet access throughout the hotel- and are one of the very few hotels in Downtown Tampa that offer that. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner from the Ashley Street Grille. Many of our local businesses dine there for the superb food served. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

My family and I were called to Tampa Fl, a family member had had a stroke and was in Tampa General. Tampa General recommended Sheraton Riverwalk. The hotel was conveniently located to the hospital. Everyone was professional, courteous and understandable to our situation. Kindness prevailed. The valet asked if we were there on business/pleasure - he volunteered that free transportation was available to and from the hospital and other parts of Tampa. This was greatly appreciated since we did not know our way around. We had a wonderful lunch at The Ashley Street Grill, and we did have one issue with the restaurant at breakfast the next morning, which I emailed the hotel about. The catering manager called within a day and profusely apologized for any mishap. Kathy, the catering manager, was very sympathetic to our plight and went out of her way to express her regards to our family. Should we ever return to Tampa, the Sheraton Riverwalk would be the place we would stay. Wish we could have enjoyed the pool, workout room, Tampa, etc. Looks like a great city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Greetings sparkyandlou! It's unfortunate to hear the reason for your trip to Tampa but we're pleased that your overall hotel experience was positive and would love to have you back again under better circumstances. Thank you for your feedback and hope your family member is doing better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#34 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing