We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff and excellent downtown location . .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Budd Lake, New Jersey
1 review
“Outstanding staff and excellent downtown location . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

My stay was wonderful.
The entire staff without exception was friendly, knowledgeable with great attention to detail and made me feel right at home.

Room Tip: river-side with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOFIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Greetings SOFIC!!! We are extremely pleased to hear that your stay with us was a great one. We thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    346
    239
    134
    86
See reviews for
241
272
73
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed here for several days and thought that the staff was extremely friendly. We enjoyed the restaurant, where the grouper was especially great. The breakfast buffet was quite good, we thought, with omelets made to order.

Be sure to ask for a riverfront room, away from elevators, as the street side is very noisy. Weekends can be noisy with wedding parties, while weekdays were quiet. Nice workout room with good equipment. The riverfront views are very nice, especially at sunset!

Free shuttle to local restaurants, including Ybor City, was convenient.

Room Tip: Definitely get a Riverfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAtraveler007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Greetings LAtraveler007_11!!! We would like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It is comments like yours that help us build on the great customer service we provide. As you mentioned, the restaurant offers great entrees throughout the day and is one of the most popular restaurants in Downtown Tampa. One of our most popular amenities is the complimentary shuttle which runs anywhere in a 3 mile radius of the hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We arrived to Tampa the Front Desk was courteous and attentive. We stayed over looking the river which was nice.
The room was clean and the bed was super soft! However upon arrival we noticed our door did not open on every swipe.
The location was Ideal and was walking distance from the convention center which was convenient. We were very happy with the service however we found the rooms had paper thin walls we could hear everything happening next door. Checking out I forgot my bag in the hotel room an, when I realized I an hour later the hotel said the bag was "lost". I know the door was closed however the hotel claimed it was never opened after I left, I lost thousands of dollars in personal items along with all of my personal information being compromised. My trip was ruined in one day I would not recommend anyone to stay there

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-Seales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Hotel's lobby and pool area are nice but that's where it stops at. The rooms tub looked dirty and the window sills looked like they had not been cleaned in years. There was only 1 working elevator working, so the wait for the elevator was 6-9 mins. Took the stairs down just to save time. Room was on the 6th floor. Ordered the breakfast buffet in the morning. Food was cold and picked over and not much there. Asked when new food would be brought out and the waiter said in a few minutes and 15 minutes went by and still no food. Complained to management and nothing was done. So basically we spent $27.00 for cold food that we couldn't eat as much as you want. Sheraton obviously doesn' know what Buffet means. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjen523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Greetings jenjen523! We would like to take this time to thank you for your recent feedback about our hotel and your stay with us. Please know it is comments like these that help us in providing a great hotel/service. We will be sure to look into this so that it does not happen again with our future guests. Thank you again and we hope to have you back when you are in Tampa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Excellent location for parents who have children who stay at University of Tampa. It is a 5 minute walk to the school, and they provide a free shuttle that will take you all around town and to the University whenever you need to. You can also call them to pick you up. The shuttle people are always trying to help you as much as they can.

The people who work at the hotel are friendly and will accomodate you when you need
help. Pool faces the river so its very peaceful and clean, fresh towels always available.

Nice fitness center as well. Rooms are very nice, great beds!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibiron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Greetings ibiron4!! Thank you for the recent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed not only the hotel but the great customer service from our staff. As you mentioned, the University of Tampa is located within walking distance but we also offer a complimentary shuttle that can transport you there as well as anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon and please be sure to ask for the University of Tampa rate!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, FL USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

First the good: The staff and manager were very friendly and helpful..... in not charging us for our planned weekend stay as we left the place less than an hour after checking in.

Now the bad: In a nutshell, the room smelled of mold, the paint was peeling off the wall and ceiling on the outdoor balcony and there were bugs in the room.

The bugs notwithstanding, this hotel needs a total gutting and renovation. It's vintage 1986, with the only hint of the 21st century being the "Sweet Sleeper bed" and flat screen TV.

If you are a group of college kids in Tampa for a party weekend, this hotel will be perfect for you as you won't be in the room much and when you are, you'll probably be passed out! :-)

But seriously, this is a solid 2 star hotel and I'm shocked that the Sheraton brand is being represented like this in Tampa. I've always considered Marriott to be the equivalent class hotel to Sheraton and we moved over to the Marriott Waterside for the same price we would have paid at the Sheraton and the difference between the old and tired Sheraton and the up-to-date and beautiful Marriott Waterside was like night and day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOBEMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

The hotel was clean and busy. Most of the employees were nice. The beds were very comfortable. The shower pressure was not good. It took twice as long to rinse out hair and you were able to hear the people in the next room. We were not close to the elevator but at night I could hear the ding. Resturant was ok but expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emdaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Greetings emdaig! Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, our Sweet Sleeper Beds are one of the most comfortable beds to lay on and is a huge selling point for us. The hotel's restaurant, the Ashley Street Grille, which offers an array of options is actually one of the most reasonably priced menu's in Downtown Tampa. We appreciate your insight and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#34 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing