We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The most awful experience. Our room had water dripping from the ceiling. They lost the key to the package room and we had to wait a half hour for it to be found. The headboard had streaks on it - of what we don't know, The shower head was rusted. The fourth floor ice machine had pieces of the ceiling piled up next to it - with exposed pipes and mold. They would not honor the Starwood points. The carpet had stains on it, The garage smelled like a sewer and could be smelled up to the bell desk. Walls were thin so you heard all the noises. Oh and one more thing the wall next to the bathroom extended about two feet so if got up in the middle of the night it was very awkward.

When we were checking out someone mentioned it was being turned into a Ramada - they would have to upgrade to even have that name on it.

Only nice thing I can say is the bed was comfortable. I feel sorry for the manager and the staff - everyone was complaining and unhappy.

Seriously- don't stay here.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOAJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Good Afternoon Ms. Erin M.,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We're very sorry to hear that your experience was a negative one and we empathize with your frustration. We want to assure you that we take all of our guest feedback very seriously and act accordingly to help eliminate similar experiences by future guests. Our executive team including our General Manager, Director of Engineering, and Executive Housekeeper personally inspected the areas touched upon in your review and we would like to take a few moments to share their findings.

Regarding the “water leak” in your guest room, we were unable to find any leaking water but found that the ceiling had recently been patched. This work occurred prior to your arrival. Regrettably, we had not yet completed painting the patch work prior to your check-in resulting in the color of the ceiling not being uniform. We realize that perhaps the room should not have been released into inventory in this condition prior to the completion of the work and apologize for the impression this left on you. The guest room is currently out of inventory and the ceiling is scheduled to be repainted.

The streaks in the headboard were not from a substance at all but rather wear from scratches in the leather. The substance on the shower head was a mineral build-up from the hard water, common to our area. The stains in your carpet were certainly present. Although we have preventive maintenance programs in place to deep clean our carpets, touch up our headboards, and deep clean our shower heads/fixtures to eliminate mineral deposits; we concede that we may not always have the opportunity to do so as frequently as we would like, especially during high occupancy time periods. We are glad to hear you still enjoyed the comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. We are also pleased to share that we are finalizing details to begin our property improvement plan to continue to be in compliance with the Sheraton brand standards. Once this is scheduled, we will be replacing all guest room carpets as well as addressing other areas that have been identified as in need for updating.

The pieces of ceiling tile you observed piled up next to the fourth floor ice machine were down because we were in the process of installing new Wireless Access Points to boost the transfer speeds and enhance the internet connection experience from the complimentary WiFi service we provide to all our guests. Our General Manager personally inspected this area and although he found no signs of mold, one of the ceiling tiles did have a stain on it and it has since been replaced.

We were not able to replicate the odor you reported coming from our parking garage, but occasionally low tides and warm weather can cause an unpleasant scent to emanate from the Hillsborough River.

We certainly do not have any plans on being re-branded and the disclosure of the pending property improvement plan supports this. Furthermore, recently completed associate satisfaction surveys indicate that overall, our team members are happy to work here, are pleased with their working conditions, and would recommend working here to a friend. These are results we are proud of as we feel strongly that happy associates lead to positive and memorable experiences for our guests.

One item from your review that was unclear was your account of us not honoring any of your Starwood points. We would be interested in finding out more details and seeing exactly what you experienced as we regularly accept SPG reward stays. Please contact our General Manager, Bryan Clancy at (813) 223-2222 or bclancy@chrco.com to discuss and to recap your stay in more detail. Thanks again for staying with us. We’re sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction and genuinely appreciate you taking the time to tell us about it. We look forward to hearing from you.


Warm Regards,
Ignacio H.
Management Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Located close to Tampa convention center, has nice view to the canal in the rear.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Good Afternoon Raj N.,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share how convenient our location is relative to the Tampa Convention Center and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your scenic riverfront views. We hope you'll stay with us again during your next trip to Tampa and thank you choosing Starwood Hotels and Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ignacio Hernandez
Management Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We had booked a large block during the United Methodist World Conference and were very pleased with the excellent service. If there was any differences from our contract, it was immediately corrected. The front desk, kitchen staff, banquet staff, housekeeping, engineering, valet, and bell hops went over and beyond with any request. Those in our room block stayed anywhere from 4 to 15 days, with most staying 11- 12 days. We were constantly surprised at the little things the staff offered. Our stay was from April 20 - May 5, 2012.

Room Tip: for a Suite for a longterm stay. It offers so much more room. Also ask for a river view room. It...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Good Afternoon Ms. Debra K.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We truly enjoyed having you and your colleagues with the United Methodist Church in our hotel and community. We are delighted to hear that our staff went over and beyond with any of your requests and that you feel our amenities make our hotel well suited for longer lengths of stay. It is experiences like yours that we strive to have each of our guests leave with. We reward our associates to reinforce positive interactions with our guests. If you can recall the names of any team members that made a particularly strong impression with you that you'd like us recognize, please contact our General Manager, Bryan Clancy at (813) 223-2222 or at bclancy@chrco.com. I'm sure he'd be happy to hear from you. It was absolutely our pleasure having you and hope that you'll consider us again the next time you return to Tampa.

Warm Regards,
Ignacio H.
Management Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

While the staff was very friendly and helpful, the only good thing about the room was that the sheets and bathroom were clean. I would have expected wear and tear as it is an older hotel in this area, but the carpet and sitting chair in my room was absolutely filthy. I can ignore chipped trim on all the woodwork and even one of the end trim pieces on the TV credenza was broken off and a knob was missing on the closet. How hard is that to replace? So while it seemed safe to sleep and bathe, if you have a toddler I wouldn't allow them on the floor. Maybe the stains have to do with the "Pet Friendly" feature. Nice idea but maybe they need some enzyme cleaners.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel is fraying everywhere--not just around the edges. every painted surface has been painted a hundred times, but still needs a fresh coat of paint. Plumbing is rusted; wallpaper peeling and all wood surfaces need resurfacing. the staff is pleasant, but this is yet another Sheraton in desperate need of a major makeover.
That said, the beds are still heavenly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Mickey91,

Thank you for your recent review. We're sorry that we were unable to exceed you expectations during your recent stay with is. Although we have preventative maintenance programs in place to address the items you've highlighted, we concede that at times we are unable to to do so as quickly as we'd like. However, we are happy to share that we are scheduled to begin an extensive capital improvement and renovation project later this year. We're delighted to hear that you found our associates to be pleasant and that you enjoyed a good night's rest in our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed, both areas that we can better control in the meantime. We invite you to return during your next visit to Tampa and to let us know how we did.

Warm Regards,
IgnacioH
Management Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Having stayed at this hotel a few times, I noticed a few changes immediately pulling up at the valet. I was greeted as if I was a family member visiting a relative. A warm and friendly welcome not the professional welcome that is generally expected. This feeling continued from the front desk, to house keeping and the club lounge. There is a very subtle difference between professional courtesy and welcome friendliness. No doubt a change in management and culture has taken hold here.

I am a very frequent traveler and must admit I was very pleasantly surprised. I was travel with a person that is extremely loyal to a another hotel brand and he also commented on the great level of attention he was provided.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifetimespg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Lifetimespg,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay in responding to your review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share details from your recent stay with us. We value your business and appreciate your continued patronage. We've always emphasized exceptional customer service but more recently have been focusing on ensuring our associates make genuine connections with our guests to help make them feel like they belong here. We're glad to hear that our brand of hospitality has made such an impression on a veteran traveler like yourself and your colleague. We look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
IgnacioH
Management Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here because we had the points to do so and because it was close to the aquarium. There were a few issues. We have 2 small children (2 and 7 months) and we were traveling with 2 small dogs...we picked this hotel because it was pet friendly. The first issue was the valet parking. Its the only parking they have so the unloading process was difficult. Lets get the kids, the bags, the gods all unloaded one trip on a cart so the guys can take our car. The pull up area is tight, there were other cars waiting to pull through, we were rushed .When you have such a circus with you anyway, rushed is NOT something you want to be, We had a room with two beds and a view of the roof. The room itself was standard. We arent picky. The carpet however was gross. Like wear your sandals or socks dont walk bare foot gross. The manager sent an email after our stay to make sure our trip was great. I responded with the same issues i just stated here and he did refund the points we used for the trip. The location is very close to the aquarium which was great. We ordered in Pizza. There is a little grassy area around the corner good for walking the dogs. We wont stay here again because of the parking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Jackie S,

Please pardon our delay in responding and thank you for taking a moment to review your stay this past December. We're truly sorry that your valet parking experience was so disappointing. In our efforts to get each of our guests on their way quickly, our valet staff strives to be as efficient as possible. However, we recognize that we could have been more sensitive to your family's need for more time to unload. We also apologize for the condition of the carpet in your room. We have preventative maintenance programs in place to deep clean our carpets regularly. Occasionally, due to a variety of factors, we are unable to get into every room as frequently as we'd like. We're glad to hear that you felt our location was perfect for pets and visits to the Florida Aquarium and hope that you'll reconsider and give us another try the next time your travels bring you to Tampa.

Kind Regards,
IgnacioH
Management Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,455 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £109 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing