We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taylors, SC
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Overall a Great Place”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked this through Priceline and stayed for 1 night before our cruise. Overall, it is a great place to stay and is very comfortable.

POSITIVES:
- Great location...right in downtown, 10 min from airport, 5 min from cruise port, right on the river, a few blocks from restaurants
- Pool is right on the waterfront and is nice
- Staff was very friendly and helpful with our questions
- Free shuttle goes anywhere in a 3-mile radius, including the cruise port. This was great for us.

NEGATIVES:
- The hotel shows its age. While everything has been remodeled and is in decent shape, we found several things showing age including cracked lamp shades, burnt out lights in the swimming pool, older-looking shower tiles, worn carpet, cracking paint, etc.
- We didn't bring a car, but parking was very expensive
- No airport shuttle
- Expensive breakfast

While there are some negatives, I would definitely stay here again. Despite showing some age, the property is very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Hello esd87! First and foremost, thanks for taking the time to complete a review based on your past stay with us. It's input like yours that help us build the hotel to the exceptional level we are aiming for. As you noted there are several great things about our property, from the location to the courtesy shuttle to the superb service. In regards to your concern about our parking, please note that although we charge $18 a day, it's actually one of the lower parking rates in Downtown Tampa. Also, we offer a courtesy shuttle within 3 miles and offer an option for airport transportation thru our third party partner, Blue One at $10 each way- which is more than half the cost of a cab at about $25 each way. We understand the hotel is starting to show it's age which is why we are pleased to share that we are in the planning stage for an upcoming renovation which will touch every corner of the property. We hope this helped with some of your concerns, and can encourage you to give us another shot on your next cruise trip. Thanks again and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    358
    254
    151
    92
See reviews for
261
285
75
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

But the rest of the room was torn up. Wonder what Republican stayed here for the convention. As I said the bed was comfortable but the rest of the room seemed to be in the middle of a renovation. The carpet was so soiled I wore my socks. The balcony was unusable and they didn't finish painting tr room. Hopefully I can post my pictures.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnOc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Hello Shawn! We are very sadden to hear that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one. Please now that we have shared your input with our housekeeping and maintenance team so that they can look into further. We'd like to reassure you as well that this isn't the norm for our property and hope you can give us another shot. Thanks again for your input as it can only help us. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Due to airline delays, we were unable to make our connecting flight to Tampa. I called the hotel and they said I needed to fax them some airline information showing that the airline had delayed one of my flights. I got the information, but when I got home and checked my credit card statement, the hotel had already issued me a full refund for the unused room. This was for a non-refundable room that I had booked online too.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Hello Dennis! Sorry you had to experience some flight delays and issues while trying to head to Tampa although it's great to hear that we were able to work with your non-refundable reservation and apply a full refund for you. Please know that we try to do everything we can to help our guests as it was proven to you. Hope to see you soon on your next Tampa trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Many thanks to all of the staff at the Sheraton for welcoming the GOP convention attendees with open arms last week. Although I do have to agree with some of the prior reviews on the "worn" condition of the rooms - the Sheraton can easily fix that by scheduling a renovation. What you can't buy is a staff that works from dusk to dawn taking care of customers. Special thanks to Gabby (front desk), Dante (Club level) and Marcia and Ms. Frances (Cleaning Staff). If you want to have a worry free visit - plan a trip to the Sheraton Riverwalk.

Room Tip: The lobby bar has a great burger and pours some wonderful wines by the glass!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzee2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This hotel hasn't been nice since 2004 and looks like it still has the same carpet from the 90's. I stayed there for one night on my SPG points and $45.....let's just say, I still paid too much. The smells, the dire need of renovation, showering as if you're in a submarine that has just been hit by a torpedo and taking on water. we're rent desk were apologetic and offered a breakfast, which I didn't want. Funny is I received an email the day of check in from the GM and when I responded with this harsh review, he apologized and gave me SPG points. This place needs to be remodeled BADLY! Don't go here if your expecting something nice.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel sits on the Hillsborough River in midtown Tampa. The location is terrific for city visitors--a short walk to University of Tampa, less than five minutes drive or shuttle ride from the Forum and the Aquarium and a few minutes to lovely Hyde Park for dining and shopping. It's convenient to I275 and 10 minutes from the airport. The staff on my three stays has always been friendly and helpful. It's older but has been nicely updated. Rates are reasonable, particularly if you're a AAA member. Downsides are that there aren't a lot of dining or shopping options right around the hotel and the Gulf is a good 30 minute drive away.

Room Tip: The extra $20 for a river view room with a balcony is well worth it. Request a higher floor for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Greetings acc47! It's always great to hear our guests rave about our property and its convenient location, not to mention, our superb staff. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy yourself and even more so, enjoy your riverside room. By the way, although it may seem as if there aren't much options for restaurants close by, please know there are not only several within walking distance but tons more within our complimentary shuttle range. Please feel free to stop by our front desk the next time you are in town for a guide of all our local restaurants...just don't forget to visit our very own Ashley Street Grille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinacakes1987
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The rooms were old and the beds were uncomfortable! There was a lizard running around our room. The hallways are noisy and the walls are paper thin. You can hear everything your neighbor is doing/saying and you can hear everything out in the hallway. My room was not cleaned when I was gone all day. They had no highchairs available in the restaurant b/c they said they were being painted. The shuttle dropped us off to a local restaurant and then he said to call to get picked up. We could not get a hold of him to get picked back up. After an 1/2 hour of trying we ended up having to hunt down a cab. The only good thing was the complimentary breakfast. It was good. Overall the experience was HORRIBLE and I would NEVER go back even if they paid me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinacakes1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Hello tinacakes1987! We arppreciate you sharing your recent experience while staying at our property. Although we are glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle which runs within a 3 mile radius, it's very dissapointing to hear that you had to hail down a cab to get back. Please know, this is not the norm for our hotel and that we have a system in place where our shuttle drivers can be easily contacted by our guests when they are ready for pickup. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team so that it does not occur again. Once again, thanks for staying with us and even more, thank you for following up with your feedback. It's reviews like yours which help us revisit areas that we can improve on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#24 of 163 in Tampa
453 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing