We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good location for Convention Center”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Very comfortable bed. Loved the cookies they left for me on my last night there! Convenient shuttle to the convention center. I asked to be moved because the first room, although clean, had a stale smell, wallpaper peeling in the bathroom, front of the bathroom cabinet looked beat-up, and overlooked a roof with standing water. The desk staff was very helpful and accommodating, and the second room, same style, was better. Nice breakfast buffet, although I had to go find someone to seat us.

Room Tip: Upper level has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Hello Diane. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience with our hotel. Please know we have passed on the maintenance issues you stated to our Engineering team so that they can look into it and rectify as needed. Please know, it is not the norm for us to check in our guests to a room that is not ready for occupancy as it was an off situation. We appreciate your understanding. Anyhow, we are glad you enjoyed the cookies we sent to your room and even more the buffet served in the Ashley Street Grille. Thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    352
    250
    142
    90
See reviews for
255
281
74
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Business in town required me to stay overnight. The hotel is centrally located in quiet downtown near highways as well as univ of tampa. Lobby is clean and simple. The hallways and rooms are very dated. Wear and tear is evident. Half assed repairs. Bedding was nice though souJoanne Williams from Thomas shugenessy tel.2163749423 re. Anna erias in lake county painsvelle . Rubberynd was easily heard from other rooms and hallway

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khonkaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Hello khonkaen! We appreciate your feedback and have brought your concern to the Engineering team to look into. Please know we do our best to rectify any repairs and never go into it half-effort. As you stated, we are a great hotel location wise - centrally located to tons of businesses, restaurants and venues. Plus having our complimentary shuttle helps as well. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Absolutely amazing stay! Took my girlfriend to get out of town and celebrate her promotion. First the girl at the Front Desk got us a comp upgrade to harbor view due to my SPG status, which was awesome! Room was very spacious and clean. Great location right in the heart of Tampa Bay. Really could not have asked for more. Def recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through Tampa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hello Sean! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. It's great to hear that everything with both your stay and your girlfriend's stay was amazing. We hope to have you both back soon- and CONGRATS to your girlfriend on her promotion- way to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a decent hotel. Some of the upsides of the hotel are the pleasant staff, the pool overlooking the river, the central location, and attentive valet service. Tip: You can grab a free breakfast before 9AM on the sixth floor dining room. Skip the overpriced full breakfast at the lobby restaurant.

If you are lucky enough, you will have Sheila as your housekeeper. She is the friendliest and most helpful housekeeper that I have had at any of my hotel stays.

Downside - The hotel needs to do a better job getting its guests under control. Noise levels on several occasions were unacceptable. At one point I had to pound on the door of one guest to shut down his obnoxiously loud speakerphone conversation that disrupted my work.

The closet doors were also a bit tricky and the carpeting a bit shabby.

Net, net - had I paid more than $75 a night for this hotel, I would have given it three stars. However, the hotel is a good value option.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Hello mjdigennaro! We appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback on your past stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your housekeeper, Sheila- she's amazing!!! As you mentioned, we are centrally located to tons of venues, including businesses, restaurants and museums. Although there are tons of places you can walk to easily, we also have a shuttle which runs within 3 miles of the hotel complimentary. As you stated, we have a club floor which offers complimentary breakfast until 9am to our guests with Club Access. We also have a restaurant which offers a huge breakfast buffet at a reasonable price. The restaurant is also open for lunch and dinner and offers room service as well. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I purchased a living Social voucher to the property in June or July. The voucher expired on 8/31 but it clearly states that the $350 price could still be used but the package is void.

However, the reservation associate disclaims everything and says it's a lost case. Under recommendation from Living Social we contacted the Front Desk Manager, she told us to leave a message for the Revenue Manager. She never called back and upon calling her back we were again advised that there is nothing they can do.

In attempting to contact the GM, I received the run around.

Someone is missing the concept that they are in the hospitality and service industry! The $300 fee may be lost but I can assure you that each and every one of the multitudes of individuals will be made aware of this.experience. This is hardly what one would expect from a Starwood property. But, it appears that flag IS MEANINGLESS.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innseeker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Greetings Innkeeper! It's unfortunate to hear about your experience in the redemption process of your living social voucher. As you are aware, they was a deadline of 8/30 to redeem the offer and although you were doing so after that date, we did try to accomodate you as best as we could. We apologize if what we were offering was not what you were expecting but please know we were going above and beyond in getting you booked at our property despite the expired voucher. Please know this is not how we want our guests or potential guests to feel and we hope you will change your perception of us. Thanks for the feedback and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I travel for work every week and choose Starwood properties when at all possible. I have stayed at this hotel three times over the past three years. I decided to write this review as there were some issues at the hotel worth noting.

1. I was upgraded to a huge suite which was great. It was on the corner and had a view of the river. It was however in need of repair and updating. The furniture was scratched and dented, and the bathroom was extremely small and had not been cleaned well. There was hair in the bathtub and paint chipping in one of the corners.

2. The room was a connector and I always check to ensure that connector doors are locked. This one was not - in fact it had two locks on it and both were open. Meaning someone could enter from the connector room which was occupied.

3. Upon noticing the connector door unlocked, I checked the balcony doors (there were two). Each of the two doors had two bolt/latch locks on them and all four of them were unlocked. The balcony has a wall between it and the next one over but not impossible for someone to crawl around it. I found it very unnerving.

The service levels are very good in this hotel and the bell staff are excellent. I did not try the food and beverage this time around.

Room Tip: Check your balcony doors and connector doors to ensure they are locked when you arrive in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Greetings RobH3! First and foremost, thank you for being a loyal Starwood member and for choosing to stay at our property on 3 different occassions while in Tampa over 3 years. We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review on our hotel especially since you are a repeat guest and have several concerns to voice. Please be reassured that our hotel policy for safety does include having connecting doors and balcony doors locked. Please note, having such doors locked is not a norm for this hotel and is totally unacceptable. We have passed this information on to our Director of Housekeeping so that he can reiterate it to his team as they are already familiar with. In regards to the furnishings being scratched and dented, we'd like to share with you that we are in plans of having a full renovation within the next upcoming months which will definately touch on those items. On a brighter note, we are very glad to hear that the service you received from our team was superb. We pride ourselves in delivering exceptional service to all our guests and are pleased to hear you did encounter that. Thanks again for your input and please now we value it fully. Hope to see you again on your next Tampa trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Although having stayed in the Tampa region at other hotels, from the moment we walked in the door at Sheraton I knew this time was different! I was in town for a conference at the Convention Center, but family accompanied me so we got insight into how the hotel funcitions on both accords. I will never stay anywhere else when in the downtown Tampa region. The location is wonderful in proximity to museums and points of interest family wanted. Their shuttle service is free within a 3 mile radius which takes in Ybor City, museums, convention center and most other points of intererst. It is located near many great restaurants, although two evenings we ate at their hotel because it was so excellent! GREAT experience.

Room Tip: I searched online ahead of time and used my AAA card for a great rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crivera01, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Hello DeanaK! We are pleased to hear that both your family and yourself enjoyed your time at our hotel. As you mentioned, our hotel is situated in the heart of Downtown Tampa near several family friendly places, like the museums, theater, and aquarium. Not to mention, we offer a courtesy shuttle which can take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Thanks again for the review and can't wait to have your family and yourself back on your next Tampa trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#28 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing