We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #67 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Me and a buddy stayed here for 2 nights while taking in back to back lightning games,
I got a great deal on Priceline name your own price,
They just remodeled the place, nice bedding, clean, friendly staff.
Just what we needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Hello dmarch333,
Thank you for staying with us for your recent visit to Tampa to catch a Tampa Bay Lightning game. We're happy you and your buddy enjoyed a perfect stay for what you needed while in Tampa. We appreciate you recognizing our friendly staff and hope you'll consider us again the next time you choose to enjoy an NHL game in Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

My daughter & I signed up for tickets to a show and our hotel room was part of the package deal. The hotel, from the outside, is a construction zone but valet parking made the entry easy. The lobby was very nicely done as was our room on the 4th floor. The room was clean, the bedding looked inviting with all of the pillows plumped up for us. The bed was not as firm as I like but that is common in hotels, for me. The things that stood out for me were: the extremely friendly staff, getting a discount on our dinner at the hotel, free breakfast the next morning and shuttle service to where ever we wanted to go within the area. Our table, at dinner, was next to the "floor to ceiling" windows which looked out at the river. Watching all the boats, jet skis, and scullers parade by was very entertaining. I cannot say enough about the selection of items on the breakfast buffet! There was something for everyone. I especially enjoyed the fresh fruit. The only negative was the construction. It is hard to sleep with the trucks making so much noise not to mention the sounds of hammering and drilling within the hotel. I'm sure when the hotel is completed these issues will be a short lived memory. The prime location is a sure winner!

Room Tip: We chose a city view but I think the better choice would have been a water view as our room looked o...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Hello Karen R.,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent stay in Tampa. We appreciate you taking a moment to share some feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate your patience with us as we apply the finishing touches to our multi-million dollar beautification. In addition to our renovations, some of the items you described are actually from a construction project taking place next door. Although we empathize with the inconvenience this caused during your stay, we regret that it is out of our control. Thank you for recognizing our extremely friendly staff and we're thrilled that in lieu of these inconveniences, that overall you found your stay enjoyable. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you and your daughter back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel to attend a performance at the Performing Arts Center. The hotel is still under renovation, although the lobby and restaurant were impeccable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I guess the rooms are still undergoing renovations, as the mattress was a little lumpy and I am not sure what the sheets were made off, but they rustled every time I moved. Although I had 4 pillows on my bed there wasn't one that suited my needs. The bathroom sink & vanity proportions could be better, especially the height of it and the lights could be a little brighter. It feels a little gloomy in there. Another unfortunate aspect are the thin walls. Some family members stayed in the adjoining room and were able to hear me laugh and I was able to hear their toilet flush from my bathroom. The amenities in the room were nice, although they were a little stingy with the coffee creamer. All in all it was a nice place and I am hoping that upon completion of the renovation, the Sheraton lives up to its name again.

Room Tip: Traffic noise on the street-side is very loud. Choose the river-side if you need quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Greetings Gerda G,
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your patience with us as we apply the finishing touches to our multi-million dollar beautification. We apologize that your stay was less than perfect but appreciate your feedback as we strive to make our facilities and service better for all of our guests in the future. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked a room for a one night stay to attend a concert at the Straz Centre. Arriving at the hotel, the valet/concierge service was excellent. Our car was parked and our luggage taken to our room. The newlt renovated room was beautiful.

The valet/concierge staff were friendly and very helpful.

The shuttle bus service was excellent taking us to the Straz centre for our concert then after picking us up afterwards, on to a recommended restaurant that was excellent. We were picked up dinner and after a tour of Ybor City were taken back to the hotel.

Breakfast buffet service in the morning was excellent and tasty with a wonderful dining view of the river.

The hotel staff are friendly, efficient and helpful.

No question we will return as soon as possible.

Canadian Snowbirds from North Port Florida

Room Tip: Take advantage of the valet parking and the shuttle service to get around the city. Remember to tip...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Hello David T.,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to share some feedback about your stay. We're glad to hear that your stay in conjunction with the concert you attended at the Straz Center was excellent. Thank you for recognizing our staff for the efforts they made to make your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to downtown Tampa and our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here overnight pre-cruise with some acquaintances. It's a very clean hotel and the staff were very professional. Though I had a balcony it was not the best of views. There is a pool downstairs w/tables and umbrellas by the river. I will definitely stay here again when I sail from Tampa, Florida again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueWayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Greetings BlueWayTravel,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk as your home in advance of your cruise. We hope your cruise was as enjoyable as the way you described your stay with us was. We appreciate your feedback and welcome you back the next time you sail out of Tampa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were in town for an evening show, so we decided to stay over and not drive home so late. It was a great experience. As other reviewers have mentioned, they are renovating. True - it was mainly the lobby and merely changed the entrance/exit spots. The rooms were very spacious, with most of the amenities we've come to expect. No room fridge, though, which was disappointing. The broad expanse of window gave us a great view of the city. The Valet service was superlative, and the shuttle driver was beyond-excellent. He was a true gentleman.
We had dinner and breakfast here as well. Dinner was delicious and quickly served. They are used to people staying there and seeing a show at the Arts Center, so our server knew to get our orders in quickly. We were delighted with our meals, and our server Natasha went out of her way to make sure our dinner was the best possible. All the staff were friendly, stopping by the table to clear off an empty dish or glass or to make sure we didn't need anything.
Although we didn't allow time to use the pool, it looked beautiful. It is overlooking the river and has ample lounge chairs and towels for people. The Riverwalk itself begins next door, and is a delightful walk. It has ample benches for those of us who need to rest during a walk.
At night, there were lights up and down the river, which was interesting to watch. We will definitely plan more events in downtown Tampa now that we know an excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms have a balcony and face the river. The even numbered rooms have a beautiful v...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Greetings cj C,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for your recent visit to downtown Tampa. We're happy to hear you had such an excellent stay. We appreciate you taking a moment to acknowledge our staff, specifically Natasha, for the excellent service you received when you enjoyed dinner in our Ashley Street Grille. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to downtown Tampa and our hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for just one night while in town and it was just fine. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations (old hotel) but the work seem to be mainly in the lobby so it didn't affect us.

Tampa is not a huge town so anywhere downtown is a good location. Being right on the river was nice. Having the free buffet breakfast (huge bonus) as you look over the river and watch the fisherman, rowers and various birds and fish at work was great. The free shuttle to Yibor city was fantastic as well. With the free breakfast and free shuttle that is a decent savings for anyone. This seems to be more of a business-crowd type of hotel which I prefer (much quieter)

The rooms were great. Spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The only issue we had were the housekeepers outside in the hallways at 7:30-8:00am talking back and forth to each other loudly. I'm on vacation, I don't want to be up that early! There is a do not disturb sign on the door for a reason!

Overall we had no complaints and would definitely stay here again. Great staff from the valets to the front desk as well.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with balconies which I believe face the river. Get higher up rooms to cut down...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooliepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio H, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Greetings Cooliepops,
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking a moment to tell us about your experience. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our scenic riverfront location and that you feel the added amenities in your package were a great value. Thank you for letting us know about the situation regarding the room attendants being too loud in the corridors so early in the morning. We will use your feedback to coach our housekeeping team for the benefit of all our guests. We appreciate your recognizing our great staff and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,456 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#22 of 163 in Tampa
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £112 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing