We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I are moving to the area, and needed a place to stay. I called ahead to make the reservation. The man that answered acted like he was doing me a favor by finding us a room. He checked us in was extremely flustered and didn't seem to know what he was doing. I filled out two tax exempt forms during check in and still was charged tax! I found out the next day, when looking on the website, that my dog could've had a bed and water and food dishes brought up. But I can't complain too much since the dog stayed free. I spoke to a woman about the tax exemption in the morning and she told me she would send me an email with a new receipt within 30 mins, it has now been 24 hours and I still don't have it. Overall the room and bathroom were clean. The beds were okay. No breakfast provided but there is a restaurant. There is only valet parking which costs $18 per night! I need a hotel for tonight but I won't be going back there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stormycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience we caused you and for felling below your expectations.

Your comments have been shared with appropriate departments and an action has been taken.

As far as the $18 valet charges, it is a common practice in Downtown Tampa that Hotels charge such a fee or even higher fees due to a limited parking spaces.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    346
    239
    134
    86
See reviews for
241
272
73
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked a room for three to spend a night before embarking on a cruise from Port of Tampa. Although the hotel is not a lavish or modern as most SPG properties, we were very pleased with our stay. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, beds comfortable, and front desk staff were very helpful and professional. The hotel provides a free shuttle service to the cruise port and additionally to any location within a 3 mile radius. Although there are several restaurants within walking distance, we used the free shuttle to dine at the original Columbia Cafe in Ybor City. Shuttle drivers are excellent. Very short wait time for either our ride to the restaurant or return. When we were ready to return we simply called the hotel for a pick up in front of the restaurant.
The hotel does not offer free shuttle service from the Tampa Airport as it is quite far away, but provided information for the Blue One Shuttle, which is very inexpensive, when I reserved the room, I would definitely recommend this hotel for cruise travelers.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the river front offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
It is great to hear that you found our rooms and bathrooms very clean and you enjoyed our confortable Sweet Sleeper Sheraton Brand Beds. We are also glad to hear that you found our front desk staff very helpful and professional. We appreciate sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thanks,
AL M. ALSALEH / HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for a conference at the convention center and while a bit cheaper than the closer Marriott or Embassy Suites those, having stayed there before, would have been a better choice.

The room is dated. The ceiling In my room was recently painted, but they missed a big spot so it looked half baked.

The toilet mounted on the wall was crooked. I mean leaning! Water pressure and volume was fantastic!

Bed was comfortable, work area was adequate. Limited outlets to charge things meant you had to spread your devices around the room which is a pain.

Wifi is free, but slow.

The bar does not have nbcsports so no NHL playoffs shown there. Bartender says he's been asking for years. I guess they don't take employee feedback very well.

Housekeeping did a reasonable job, but didn't vacuum every day.

Even numbered rooms face the street and at very noisy. Trash collection at 4am can really ruin your day, not to mention the leaf blower toting idiots at 530am blowing the sidewalks across the street.

While this is an OK property, there are much better close by at a reasonable value in comparison.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Firestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Mr_Fireston, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent and less than pleasant stay. We are very sorry for our shortcomings and we wanted to assure you that all your comments were shared with appropriate managers and departments. The necessary actions and steps have already taken place to guarantee such non pleasant experience will never be repeated again. As far as the sport channels, I wanted to share with you that we submitted a request several weeks ago to install sport channels at the bar and lobby areas and we should get it done soon. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to prove ourselves.

Kind regards,
AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed during the IIFA weekend in Sheraton Riverwalk. I got the best service from the moment we walked till we left the hotel. Each and every staff member was polite, courteous, and ready to help you. They exceeded our expectations in every way. From bell desk, Reception, Lounge on the 6th floor... all were pleasant and made our stay extra special. Thank you for making our trip memorable. I wish all the hotels were like this.
Thanks so much,
Seema Govil
Reporter TV Asia

Room Tip: We really liked our suite. it gave privacy and was very comfortable to all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seema G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Ms. Govil, thank you very much for taking the time sharing your experience. Your kind feedback and gracious score are greatly appreciated and have been shared with hotel staff. we are very happy to hear that you found our staff excellent. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,
AL M. ALSALEH - Hotel Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York,NY
Level Contributor
556 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend attending a Sunday wedding. Staff was great. Except one front desk gentleman that was grumpy. Everyone else especially the valet were exceptional. Rooms were modern and spacious and located in downtown Tampa. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefMillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and you found our valet staff professional. It is very disappointing however to hear that one of our staff wasn’t as accommodating as he/she should be. I hope you will accept our apology for this issue. Our guest's needs and satisfactions are very important to us and to not have met that expectation for our guests is not a standard here at the Sheraton. I assure you that we are using your comments as a guide for our future encounters to be managed more seamlessly. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
AL M. ALSALEH – HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just returned from our daughters graduation in Tampa and stayed at the Sheraton Riverwalk Hotel. This was not our first time there, however, each time we go back it gets better and better. We have had to stay at other downtown hotels during my daughters 4 years in Tampa only because the Sheraton was sold out on those dates, but whenever a room was available, we stayed at the Riverwalk.

The management and staff were always accomodating of our many requests from arranging a wheelchair for my Mother to an additional rollout mattress for one of the rooms when an extra family member spent the night with us.

The lounge and restaurant are fantastic, we always have so much fun with wait staff and the bartenders they deserve a giant THANK YOU!

This stay our room overlooked the pool and the river which felt like a beach setting in downtown. We saw dolphin and several other ocean dwelling sea creatures in the river much to the delight of the younger ones and me included!

We took a short walk to the Aquarium and to many other wonderful places that there is to see and do downtown. It's all within a short walking distance or a quick taxi ride.

I am sad writing this, I may never be in the Tampa area again but be rest assured, if I am, I will be staying at the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk. My daughter who will visting Tampa often in the future will always go there first before any other hotel, she feels like it's her hotel home away from home.

Thank you for our many stays during the 4 college years in Tampa. Our gratitude goes out to the Sheraton Riverwalk and its great staff of accommodating managers and employees!! Thank you, Thank you!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and request a Riverfront room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Many congratulations on your daughters’ graduations. I think your daughters made the right decision by choosing one of the most respectful universities in FL, the UT, as their school. Your kind feedback and generous score 5/5 are greatly appreciated and have been shared with all hotel associates. Hearing that you found our staff accommodating and you enjoyed hotel services and the view made us very happy. In fact, your comments provide additional inspiration to our team and certainly make us all glad to know that our efforts have paid off. We'd love to see you and your daughters again the next time you're headed to Tampa.

Kind regards,
AL M. ALSALEH-HOTEL NIGHT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We decided to canoe down the Hillsborough River in Tampa, and was looking for a local hotel getaway to explore the downtown Tampa sights. The hotel is centrally located (we walked to great local entertainment both nights), the area is well light and safe. Check-in was quick and with a smile. Hotel breakfast buffet is worth the price. (Did not eat in the hotel any other meals). Great workout facility and outdoor pool. Vendor trucks on Friday evenings. We enjoyed walking on the RIverfront after dinner both evenings.

Room Tip: City view was a bit noisy on both weekend nights. We heard alot of car horns and sirens.
See more room tips
Green Features: Complimentary bottled water in the room- replenished both days.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catlady02_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL A, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write such a pleasant review . We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and you found our staff helpful. We are also happy to hear that you found our hotel ideally located. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us back in the near future.
AL M. ALSALEH – Hotel Night Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#34 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing