We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Needs updating - lobby is nicest feature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #69 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at the Riverwalk hoping to find some nightlife or things to do. Its location is Downtown so we thought there would be plenty - not so however. Starting with the hotel - the lobby is very inviting and they have a nice restaurant and outdoor pool. That's about the end of it though. The property was remodeled 5 years ago but you would never know it - the rooms are very dated and have mis-matched furnishings - the bathroom lighting is almost non-existent, the rugs could use shampooing and the lamps had stains on the shades. The newest thing in the rooms were the flat screen TV's but they aren't Hi-def or digital - everything was analog and not many choices on the TV. They do offer free WiFi which is a nice plus. Our room was on the 2nd floor and on the bayside, however, we couldn't appreciate the view because they put us in a room that overlooked the roof of the extension for their conference area and it was overtop of the parking garage so we heard cars starting and getting locked all the time. The entire 2nd floor has those type of obstructed views except for the center rooms. So if you go, do not let them put you on the 2nd floor!! The restaurant had very good food and we sat at the bar one night which was ok - one TV with nothing special on it - there are only about 12 seats at the bar so if you get there late, you don't get a seat. Now, the area - downtown Tampa is a very depressed area - lots of closed stores and doesn't seem safe at night. We went to the Channelside Area, which was within walking distance of our hotel. But the area you walk past is a little shady to say the least. Once we got to Channelside, half of the stores and/or restaurants that were once pretty cool looking, were closed and/or out of business. This should be a thriving area on the waterfront but its not. Parking lots are overgrown with weeds and mostly empty. The Riverwalk area is nice but you can't walk along the river, they have it fenced off. We walked over to the University of Tampa's campus which was right across the bridge from the hotel - that area too had a lot of vacant and closed stores and shops. I am sure that Tampa is suffering from the economic downturn and its really sad to see. We did, however, go to Ybor City and that was a good choice - good restaurants, entertainment and lots of trendy bars. Something for everyone. It appeared that all the money and efforts of the entire city of Tampa are hinging on Ybor City being successful - and that's where all the people are so its working. Don't think I'll be back though.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nailbitter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHBR, Management at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2009

We are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay in Tampa. Like many cities all over the world, downtown areas developed over the last few decades as business districts that were not conducive to nightlife. It has only been in the last few years that downtown areas are being revitalized and in the case of Tampa, the downtown area has many neighborhoods some that have started seeing a influx of nightlife and others that are awaiting additional investments. The Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk like central downtown Tampa also has plans of being revitalized overtime. Capital improvements are made on a regular basis at varying degrees and the hotel ownership and management team has to prioritize its efforts for property improvements. In the meantime, the staff does make every effort to clean and maintain the hotel to its utmost potential as well as provide exceptional service. While we understand you were disappointed, we do hope that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2009

The room was a little dark, but I had an enjoyable stay. Be sure to have a drink out on the restaurant patio - the view is great!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHBR, management at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2009

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will review the amount of light provided in each room to ensure it is sufficient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Breakfast was the best part so this may give you some idea about this hotel. It may belong to an international group of hotels but this is not up to international standards.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHBR, management at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2009

We are so sorry that you felt your stay was less than perfect. The Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk does strive to provide service that would exceed that of other hotels you might experience around the world. We hope that next time you stay with us, if there is a concern you bring it to the management teams attention to allow us to take corrective action as we understand that while we want to reach perfection we are all human and mistakes can be made, however as our guest you should not have to live with our mistakes if they cause discomfort or inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Got 50% discount off standard rate through travel site. Well worth the $65 for a nice recently renovated room. The city view was great and the traffic noise was subduded enough with the thick balcony slider glass. The staff handled me efficiently. The parking was $16 night with valet. My only issue was that I had to pay $20 night for a mini mini refrigerator.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakoMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonTampa, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2009

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here at the Sheraton. We do have refrigerators available upon request for $20.00 per night as well as offer a complimentary refigerator for medical purposes. I am glad you enjoyed the wonderful city view during your stay and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The location on the river was great. I had a room with a huge balcony facing the river. It was beautiful. However, the room itself was old and worn down. My bed was lumpy and the springs were making such horrible noises that my roommate woke up one night and thought I was in pain and was crying. My towels were all stained. The bathroom had peeling wall paper, rusting metal, and was just in bad shape overall. The carpet was stained in places. Our closet door did not open all the way. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winter_turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I stayed in the Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk for a business trip and was generally pleased with my stay. The service was excellent. The hotel has a shuttle that takes you around the local restaurants for free, which I loved, and I ordered room service twice and thought both the food and service was superb. Everyone was extremely friendly and offered great advice.

The room was very nice -- spacious, wonderfully comfortable bed (I LOVE the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. I have back problems and almost always stay in the Starwood chain hotels because their beds are so good) -- but the housekeeping service could use some improvement. My room was not cleaned very well (the shower was still slightly grimy) and the housekeeping staff left a dirty rag on the carpet. Not huge infractions, but management could certainly address these things and make the stay better for all.

The location is OK. There aren't too many places to walk around nearby (downtown Tampa is dead during the week), but the shuttle made it easy to get to a great sushi spot nearby. Oh, one weird thing. Apparently on one shuttle ride I took to a nearby restaurant, a hooker and her guy (a hotel guest) got on. The hotel really should be more careful about that, it makes such a bad impression!

Value -- pretty good. I paid $140 plus taxes per night, which is pretty good for a Sheraton.

Pretty good fitness center and REALLY nice pool.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonTampa, Management at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2009

I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed the Sweet Sleeper bed and other amenities of the hotel. I am so sorry to hear that your room was not up to Sheraton Standards. This information has been shared with the housekeeping department for training and developement. Customer Service and Cleanliness is a #1 priority here at the Sheraton Riverwalk. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and please consider us for any future trips to Tampa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I read about this hotel on trip advisor and wasn't for sure whether to stay here or not. But decided that I would go with the good reviews. I am so glad that I did!!! We booked a room with a city view and got upgraded to a river view. They helped us in every way!! The shuttle was a godsend. We will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felinfoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 164 in Tampa
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 164 in Tampa
547 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 164 in Tampa
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £96 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. Ideally situated on the Riverwalk and featuring thoughtful amenities like delicious New American dining at Rivers Edge restaurant, a picturesque waterfront outdoor pool and a 24-hour Sheraton Fitness Center. Unwind after a busy day exploring Tampa in one of our 277 pet-friendly guest rooms and suites, all of which feature our Sheraton Signature Bed® and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing