We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the friendliest hotels i have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
tampa
1 review
“One of the friendliest hotels i have ever stayed”
Reviewed 24 November 2009

The staff was very pleasant and helpful, frequently offering assistance

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fntimes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    358
    255
    151
    94
See reviews for
263
285
76
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2009

I had the opportunity to stay at the Sheraton last weekend and from check in to check out we were highly pleased. The front desk agent who was a trainee checked us in quickly and efficiently and was very friendly. Your bell staff is amazing and we enjoyed riding in your shuttle as well. We had drinks and desert in the lounge and the service was quick and friendly. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The biggest challenge for a hotel is to provide great customer service with no disruption in the service delivery system. From beginning to end, it was flawless and most enjoyable! Kudos!



Please make sure that you extend our gratitude to Chris and his staff, as well as all others involved. It is hard to come by these days but it was a pleasant experience and I can’t wait to visit your property in the future!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnieb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We arrived at the hotel before check-in and the front desk staff was able to get us into our room early. The room was very nice and clean. We ordered room service for dinner and it was out of this world. We were very happy with our stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonTampa, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of the Sheraton Riverwalk Hotel. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service! I am so happy you had the opportunity to sample the room service menu during your stay. We would love to have you back again soon. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

This is our 2nd stay at the hotel and both stays were greeted with a friendly staff (everyone says hello) and the rooms are very spacious with a large balcony overlooking the river which is really nice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieLou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonTampa, Manager at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2009
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Sheraton Riverwalk Hotel. We appreciate your repeat business! I am so happy you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful view of the Hillsborough River. Please consider us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2009

I recently stayed at the Sheraton Riverwalk Hotel. I cannot wait to return! I have stayed at many hotels in the past, and I have to say that the staff at this hotel are the most friendly and helpful I have ever dealt with. From the moment we arrived we were met with happy, smiling faces. After a 20-hr drive that is certainly something appreciated. As a traveler I feel that the first "feel" of a hotel is when you step outside your vehicle and feel like you are someone special. That is how we felt, and throughout our stay as well. We arrived at 10pm - and it almost seemed like the front desk staff were waiting on us as we walked into the lobby. Erik at the front desk was absolutely delightful and definitely an asset to the hotel. Our room was beautiful and new and the bed was so comfortable we just melted. We dined in the Ashley Street Grille a couple times during our stay and the food was superb. I can go on and on....I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the downtown Tampa area. Our stay could not have been more perfect!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lott66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at the Riverwalk hoping to find some nightlife or things to do. Its location is Downtown so we thought there would be plenty - not so however. Starting with the hotel - the lobby is very inviting and they have a nice restaurant and outdoor pool. That's about the end of it though. The property was remodeled 5 years ago but you would never know it - the rooms are very dated and have mis-matched furnishings - the bathroom lighting is almost non-existent, the rugs could use shampooing and the lamps had stains on the shades. The newest thing in the rooms were the flat screen TV's but they aren't Hi-def or digital - everything was analog and not many choices on the TV. They do offer free WiFi which is a nice plus. Our room was on the 2nd floor and on the bayside, however, we couldn't appreciate the view because they put us in a room that overlooked the roof of the extension for their conference area and it was overtop of the parking garage so we heard cars starting and getting locked all the time. The entire 2nd floor has those type of obstructed views except for the center rooms. So if you go, do not let them put you on the 2nd floor!! The restaurant had very good food and we sat at the bar one night which was ok - one TV with nothing special on it - there are only about 12 seats at the bar so if you get there late, you don't get a seat. Now, the area - downtown Tampa is a very depressed area - lots of closed stores and doesn't seem safe at night. We went to the Channelside Area, which was within walking distance of our hotel. But the area you walk past is a little shady to say the least. Once we got to Channelside, half of the stores and/or restaurants that were once pretty cool looking, were closed and/or out of business. This should be a thriving area on the waterfront but its not. Parking lots are overgrown with weeds and mostly empty. The Riverwalk area is nice but you can't walk along the river, they have it fenced off. We walked over to the University of Tampa's campus which was right across the bridge from the hotel - that area too had a lot of vacant and closed stores and shops. I am sure that Tampa is suffering from the economic downturn and its really sad to see. We did, however, go to Ybor City and that was a good choice - good restaurants, entertainment and lots of trendy bars. Something for everyone. It appeared that all the money and efforts of the entire city of Tampa are hinging on Ybor City being successful - and that's where all the people are so its working. Don't think I'll be back though.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nailbitter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHBR, Management at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2009
We are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay in Tampa. Like many cities all over the world, downtown areas developed over the last few decades as business districts that were not conducive to nightlife. It has only been in the last few years that downtown areas are being revitalized and in the case of Tampa, the downtown area has many neighborhoods some that have started seeing a influx of nightlife and others that are awaiting additional investments. The Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk like central downtown Tampa also has plans of being revitalized overtime. Capital improvements are made on a regular basis at varying degrees and the hotel ownership and management team has to prioritize its efforts for property improvements. In the meantime, the staff does make every effort to clean and maintain the hotel to its utmost potential as well as provide exceptional service. While we understand you were disappointed, we do hope that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

The room was a little dark, but I had an enjoyable stay. Be sure to have a drink out on the restaurant patio - the view is great!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHBR, management at Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2009
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will review the amount of light provided in each room to ensure it is sufficient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 163 in Tampa
454 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 200 N Ashley Dr, Tampa, FL 33602-5174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Tampa
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located near the Port of Tampa and Raymond James Stadium, home of the Buccaneers. Onsite we also have over 10,000 sq ft of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Sheraton
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing