We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service Matches a Great Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Berrien Springs, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service Matches a Great Property”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Angela the registration staffer was outstanding
I travel a lot
I am a platinum member at several hotel chains and so I know bad service - average service & outstanding service

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Hello! Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to fill out a Trip Advisor review of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF Busch Gardens! Angela will be thrilled to see her name on a review. We always celebrate a team member who is lucky enough to be recognized on a review site such as this. It is hard to get your name mentioned on here, and I know she truly appreciates you! We brought Angela on board from California about 2 months ago, and she has been a major factor in the boost to our customer service and team spirit here! Kemelya Scott(AGM) and I are very happy to have her on our team! She is a fantastic team member and our guests just love her as much as we do! I hope everyone who comes to visit with us gets a chance to meet her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    247
    104
    40
    32
See reviews for
420
177
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This hotel is great for the price. It's within walking distance of Busch Gardens (about two blocks), and they offer a free shuttle back and forth at certain times. If you want to ride it, be sure to reserve a space for yourself ahead of time because it fills up. The breakfast was great and the eating area was very clean. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The next time I visit Busch Gardens, I will definitely be staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Only a few of the floors have ice machines, so make sure you ask which floors have them to save a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WVCoasterFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Hello! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel! We truly appreciate when guests give us and our future guests their thoughts on how we have done. I am very happy to read of your experience with us. The breakfast hostesses and guest services team will be very happy to see they were mentioned in another review! We are looking forward to coming back soon to stay with us!

I love your room tip. You are correct, we only have ice machines on the second and fourth floors. The first floor has vending and the third floor is where guest laundry is located (so no room for an ice machine). I hadn’t thought about publishing that information before. Thank you for making me think to do that! Sincerely, Ryan Cornelius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed here couple of times before, found staff a bit disinterested this time eg asked five times for extra hangers but got none - "housekeeping go off at 3pm, room is locked!". Decent room, good breakfast if a bit busy and chaotic (Halloween Week), hotel very busy but not noisy at night. Nice little pool but goes into shade midafternoon. Very efficient Busch Gardens shuttle 3 times a day morning and afternoon, but otherwise not a bad walk(for Brits anyway!) about 1.5 miles. Definitely good choice for BG

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SagaBoy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Hello! I know this sounds repetitive if you have read my previous replies to everyone who leaves reviews for us, but I sincerely want to thank you for your review, and offer a sincere apology to you for the seeming lack of interest in helping you with your request for more hangers during your stay. I find this response to your request completely unacceptable. We will be highlighting your review in our next team meeting so we can improve our service level. Identifying improvements in our commitment to our guests is integral to Striving for Excellence. I want my property to be known for going above and beyond for our guests. Thank you for assisting us in getting better and better every day in every way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is a close hotel to Busch Gardens, it took us about 2 minutes to get to the parking lot for the theme park. The Olive Garden and Red Lobster restaurants are just a few steps away so we took advantage of that for our dinner. The rate we paid was less than $100 so we were not expecting much. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and the check-in staff was efficient. The free breakfast was a nice surprise- They had the usual muffins, doughnuts, and toast but, they also offered scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy plus an assortment of cereals. So that was a plus- not top of the line quality but, enough to satisfy a family before heading off to a theme park.
The only negative thing about this hotel was that we found it to be noisy. Since it is next door to the Olive Garden they had delivery trucks first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_FamilyFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
First, let me thank you for your review. We are happy you chose us for your stay here in Tampa. Second, let me thank you for letting me know about the deliveries next door. We have a very good relationship with our neighbors, and I am sure we will be able to come to some sort of resolution about the noise from the deliveries. I am sincerely sorry for this inconvenience, and truly appreciate you letting me know so I can address it right away! It really helps when we are able to get constructive feedback from our guests in this way. We can only take steps to get better and make things right for my future guests when we are notified of issues such as that we normally wouldn’t be able to identify ourselves. You have provided me with a valuable service. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I love this hotel!!! We have stayed twice and both times was wonderful. The staff is the best. They are extremely friendly and nice. The hotel is pretty new so the rooms are very clean and modern. Breakfast buffet saves you money and a tasty breakfast too. If you are going to busch gardens, you have to stay here since it is only within walking distance from the park and they even have a shuttle that takes you there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Hello! Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write your review of our hotel. We absolutely agree with you, that anytime you come to Busch Gardens you need to stay with us! My team and I are working hard every day to get better and better at meeting and exceeding your expecations. We look forward to having you come back soon and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
407 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here for one night for a Busch Gardens day before visiting our friends in Fort Myers. Very closed to Busch Gardens, about five minutes drive to the park
Very quickly check-in, room clean and confortable.
The breakfast was ok and in the afternoon they offer pop-corns and biscuits.
Very reasonable price !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FedericaRoma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for your review of our property! We know you had a lot of choices in the area, and are happy you decided to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I reserved and pre paid for the room about 15 days in advance, at the Holiday Inn website, locking in a large discount. I chose this hotel because of a) Tripadvisor reviews; and b) I like Holiday Inn Express.
I arrived at around 7:00PM on Tuesday, November 1, 2011 for a 3 night stay. My main idea for making this trip was to spend a day at Busch Gardens, and the hotel's advertized free shuttle service back and forth was also a deciding factor, avoiding parking fees at the park. Therefore, for the purposes of this trip, the hotel's location was perfect. That is why I rated it a 5 star for location.
I asked for and received a non smoking king leisure, on the second floor. I took a few pictures, which I will attach to this memo. The modern flatscreen TV, the HVAC unit and the microwave all worked great. Lots and lots of TV stations. The bathroom was super sparkling and nicely decorated too, and very large. The room itself was spacious as can be. I did not use the coffee maker. There was always some coffee ready in the lobby! If not, they would make some, I was told. By the way, I drink coffee 24-7. I did not use the outdoor pool either, though it looked very nice, and the fitness room had just 3 cardio machines, and I tried 2 of them and they both worked.
I was driving a rental car anyway, and to get around this city you just have to have a car. There is plenty of free parking just outside the front lobby; also tons more around the sides of the building. The day I went to the park, I just left my car behind.
The hotel was quiet and there seemed to be not too many guests. I could tell this because at breakfast time, 6:30 to 9:30AM, there were not many coming to the Express Breakfast area. When busy, these are usually packed.
I am a breakfast person, usually up and at 'em before 6AM. The 'standard' Holiday Inn Express breakfast is something I always look forward to. Here, I always know what to expect. Holiday Inn Express has never let me down, their breakfasts are identical everywhere. The short list: An automatic pancake machine, sausage patties, hard boiled eggs along with either scrambled eggs or omelet, biscuits and sausage gravy which I love the best, bacon sometimes, bagels and toast and toppings for them, 3 juices, milk and coffee and yogurt, sweet rolls, cold cereal choices and more.
The condition of the property was very good, what you would expect from a recently opened hotel; it's about 2 years old I think I read. Housekeeping was above average, including employees constantly cleaning, sweeping and polishing the lobby and hallways and seating areas. I was very impressed by that. My room was cleaned perfectly every day while I was out.
The front desk personnel were extremely friendly and helpful, greeting guests with a "Good morning, sir" or "hello, sir" every time you pass by. I did meet the manager, on my last day as I was checking out, and told him that I was pleased with my stay.
The shuttle service was ready to go, on time basically, according to the published schedule.
When I say on time basically, I mean give or take 15 minutes. I was not the only one on the bus that day, and we were all 5 basically pleased with the service. For me, I could drink a couple of beers at the park, (guess what, Budweisers!), and not have to drive "home".
Now a final note about location. Busch Blvd, and the entire north side of Tampa, is not known for its beauty. I don't think there is any neighborhood within 10 miles of Busch Gardens where you could go out safely and fearlessly for a walk after dark. That is a little confining, but not unsettling as long as you stay indoors. I did walk down the street a couple of times for dinner, but stayed pretty close to the hotel, watching when I crossed the street, and generally on guard at all times. 2 of the 'better' places to eat require 2 u-turns to get to if you drive there. So walking made more sense to me. Personal preference, and I am a vigorous male too and that makes a difference.
I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express at Busch Gardens and USF if you will be going to Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fritomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
What a kind review from someone who is a prolific Trip Advisor contributor! Thank you so much! I love how you took us step by step through your entire stay. Including mentioning how to get a great rate by booking in advance. I also found it fantastic for you to mention the reviews here on Trip Advisor were a contributing factor on choosing us. My team and I continue to cultivate the best customer service available to anyone who is planning on staying in the Tampa area. We know there are hotels out there that offer a bed and a TV and a bathroom. We are also very aware it is the service and the genuine caring attitude our guests receive that will set us apart from everyone else. That is why we are so focused on bringing the right people onboard that mesh well with the crew I have, and can contribute to our ongoing development of an elite team of hospitality professionals. I can’t wait for you to come back and try us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Address: 2807 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33612-8729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites is adjacent to Busch Gardens / Adventure Island and is the closest hotel to the University of South Florida and University Community Health Hospital. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn in Tampa, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, located within walking distance of the hotel. Your family will love staying at our Florida Green Lodging designated hotel in Tampa. We're located just off I-275, directly across the street from Busch Gardens and just a mile away from USF and University Community Health Hospital. Located in the heart of Tampa, we are in close proximity to several other local attractions, including Lowry Park Zoo, Port of Tampa, Florida Aquarium, and the Museum of Science and Industry. Business travelers will appreciate the amenities and services provided at our hotel too! Our Green Lodging hotel is in close proximity to many area businesses, such as Syniverse, Verizon Information Technologies, USAA and the Anheuser-Busch and the Yuengling Breweries. In addition, we provide meeting space that can accommodate up to 60 people with free wireless Internet access. While staying at our tropically landscaped Tampa hotel, you can enjoy our premium amenities, including an outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Tampa, FL hotel room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tampa Usf-Busch Gardens
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing