We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre but Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Leisure trip Oct 2011. Newer hotel located near Tampa airport with lots of other hotels literally next door with a shared a parking ramp. The price charged was within $10 of the Homewood Suites which is across the street but that hotel offers 2 room suites with included hot breakfast. Plus there are 2- 3 other branded suite hotels on the same street..

Overall a very mediocre hotel. Comfortable bed - sleep number. Size: big enough for a sofa & desk. But the entry, bathroom, & closet doors were all in a the same small entry area each blocking use of the other. I can't imagine how a family could comfortably stay in one of these rooms. It felt cramped for 2 of us.

Extra charge for breakfast but it was of good quality similar to other Hilton family hotels. Work out area had free headsets and several aerobic machines.

Complimentary internet service in the rooms but it is a bit slow - painful Youtube on this connection. Every session requires a new log on that must begin from a system start.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jls1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,637 - 1,643 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

I'm a frequent business traveler & am making time today to write my first hotel review. As all of us road warriors know, the people, at the end of the day, make or break the travel experience.

The team at the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa on Westshore are the friendliest & most professional group I've ever met. They make you feel welcome right when you arrive...no sterile hotel greetings here. Whether it's Nancy, the server in the restaurant or Glaiza preparing a fantastic Starbucks coffee, or even the GM Jeff who is continuously walking the property to ensure guest satisfaction, I'm privileged to say they have all become my extended family.

For those of us who have had the opportunity to stay at the 5-star resorts & felt a bit under-whelmed, I would recommend those fancy hoteliers stop by the Hilton Garden Inn & learn how to truly deliver a great guest experience.

i think you'll find this is a great hotel that will exceed your expectations...it has mine!

Enjoy,
Kevin

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I used the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. The shuttle was there within 10 minutes of calling and I was deposited at the hotel about 5 minutes later. The hotel is clean and comfortable though it is not close enough to any attractions or restaurants to walk. I checked in, took my belongings up to my room and then went down to use the business center to print my next day's boarding passes, use the ATM and then on to the restaurant. This is where my review goes down to 4 stars. The hostess looked at me like I had 5 heads as I approached to get seated. She asked if I wanted to pay my bill??? I said that I would prefer to actually be seated and eat first. She then acted flustered and sat me at the only clean table in the place in spite of most of the seats being empty. It was pretty gross to see all of the tables so dirty and cluttered with half eaten meals. I mistakenly ordered the very bland and overpriced salad, ate it and was only offered a drink refill as I presented the bill. BLAH. Take food with you take out from the airport or plan to make other eating arrangements. The breakfast the next morning was okay fare, but definitely not worth writing rave reviews about. The staff wasn't overly friendly. I've met much nicer staff at other hotels. The desk clerk in the morning acted like I was bothering him when I asked him to confirm my reservation for the shuttle back to the airport.

All in all: A+ Location, B- service, and D- food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoagy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Great location if you are arriving or departing from TPA. It's practically just off the runway and very close to the International Plaza Mall. No airport noise noted in the room. This hotel is spotless clean and fairly new in appearence. Staff was friendly. Parking was available and free. One hallmark of Hilton Gardens, the little snack store, was well stocked and next to the front desk. Breakfast buffet / service was available in the AM. We were fully satisfied that we got what we were looking for here. Small note: HG offers sleep comfort beds, you need to adjust them before sleeping... we did not realize that there were controls on both sides of the mattress, you need to adjust both.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This hotel is clean, fresh, has a parking garage, and it’s good for travelers, especially those looking for a place to leave their cars for a week or more. We live two hours away from the airport and wanted a place to stay before our early morning long-distance flight. We also wanted a place to stay when we returned two weeks later and had a late-night arrival. This was a good choice for us and our room included free indoor parking at the garage. International Place with its shopping and restaurant choices is nearby (but not for walking) and the TPA terminals are within a mile or so. It has a quiet bar and restaurant. Nothing fancy but not bad at all. Front desk service is excellent and helpful. There is a shuttle to the terminals every half hour and we will definitely use this same hotel in the future when travel from TPA is required.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

When traveling to Tampa/St Pete (my home town) for frequent work / business trips, I usually arrive rather late since I am traveling from the west. My husband travels to Tampa for business as well, and we both enjoy staying here. It is "realiable" - never any bad surprises. Always a very kind,helpful staff. And, if I'm not going to run out to one of my favorite restaurants in Tampa or St Pete, the restaurant is good. One thing that I always like to point out to business travelers who are there for a short trip, but want to dig their toes in the sand. Yes, Clearwater beach tends to be the one they suggest that you drive out to. BUT, Pass-A-Grille is far better, and actually about a 20-25 minute drive from the hotel depending on traffic. Easier to find a place to park vs Clearwater beach. Just hop on I-75 South and exit as if you are going to go to the DonCeSar hotel on St Pete beach. Once you "dead end" at Gulf Blvd by the Don, take a left. Drive down about a mile and then cut over to the beach. Plenty of public parking. You'll hit a toll bridge (cheap) before you get to Gulf Blvd, and you can use a CC for the metered parking in case you don't have enough quarters! A beautiful beach, and a beautiful walk after a long day of work/meetings. This is one of my favorite beaches in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tpa2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for a brief weekend. We are really impressed with the hotel's cleanliness, service from the staff, quiet, and peace. A great place to relax, close to major malls in Tampa, oh and don't forget clean and quiet.

It's also very close to the aiport so getting there is a breeze. Finally, it's on the Westshore area, close to major highways that take you to the beaches, or Orlando, or any other place in Tampa.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
12.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa Brandon
1.6 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore

Address: 5312 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#4 Business Hotel in Tampa
#4 Family Hotel in Tampa
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £101 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore Hotel Tampa
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing