We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOR TWO NIGHTS IT WAS OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Ranked #93 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FOR TWO NIGHTS IT WAS OK”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Here for two days on a business trip. Nothing fancy but very friendly staff; a little outdated, however the rooms are large & clean. Since it was not a vacation I didn't mind the noice level starting at 6AM due to garbage trucks in the lot picking up waste from hotel. Restaurant/cafe for breakfast (not included in price) was also "ok". Short trip to convention center. WiFi only works downstairs????? Get a room in the back of hotel if you don't want an early wake up call. It's really more of a motel with kitchenette than a hotel although the do have a spa which I did not use.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesca56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    151
    98
    73
    69
See reviews for
127
164
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

E-mailed them to confirm for park and ride (cruise). Never responded. When I arrived I verifyed for transportation to cruise ship. They verifyed. Next morning when time to go to cruise ship, they didn't have me listed-Didn't do a thing to help me, had to get a cab and pay out of my own pocket. Floors very dirty and has a spider problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brewColumbus_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tampa hotels

Saginaw, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Went to the cafe for breakfast with family. Delicious eggs benedict. Busy restaurant with good food & service. Nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was nervous to book this hotel, since it was not a well known chain hotel. Sure, this is a hotel that has a certain back in time charm- but it still had a clean, well cared for quality that makes it a modern and comfy stay in Tampa.
The walls were thin, since it was an older establishment. However, it did not detract from our stay. My boyfriend got a massage in the Spa, and was quite happy with the experience. Overall, I would suggest this hotel to anyone staying in Tampa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I were here for convention at Tampa Convention Center and all hotels around convention center were $250 +. Tahitian Inn was the closest to Convention Center at a reasonable price. Wish I had paid $50 but rate this time of year was $109. Still a great value! I had booked a Queen Suite at $139/night but upon arrival I was told that it was windowless. I have to say that the website is confusing when it comes to room descriptions.

Stayed on 2nd floor of main building (room 236) with large sliding glass door to itsy bitsy balcony. No room to go out on balcony but nice to be able to open doors. Palm tree directly in front of window for privacy. A little noisy from traffic on Dale Mabry which is one of the main drags in Tampa. I would not want either of the rooms facing Dale Mabry which also have the small balcony because you would hear the roar of Dale Mabry for sure with no buffer.

Rooms are nice -- good size, nice decor (English colonial), tile floors, comfortable bed, great kitchen complete with sink, microwave & refrig. Coffee maker too. No dishes or forks though so bring your own if you plan to dine in.

Did not see rooms at back of property inside but from outside looked fine. They would definitely be quieter but I have to defer to other reviewers for their layout and appeal. In traditional motel style with parking in front of rooms and 2 stories with doors open to parking lot.

Kon Tiki restaurant was closed while we were there. A little mysterious. In the bar they told us that they were on hiatus??? Bar has some food available but so many great choices around Tampa, Id go out for sure.

Hotel is small, nice and right in the thick of it all in Tampa. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2012

As i mention in the title, i payed $50 a night for my stay at the tahitian inn. My boy friend and i stayed in miami for his interview and he was supposed to fly to tampa for another interview and come back and enjoy the beaches at miami. He was looking for a hotel to literally sleep in and since its the height of the cruise season we got a stwo and a half star star hotel for fifty. We weren't excpecting much. Yet when we git there, we were pleasantly surprised! The kitchinette was terrific. There literally was a kitchen with a microwave, sink and a fridge. There was plenty of room to hang clothes, the bed was comfortable and most importantly, it was so clean. I am a very picky person when it comes to bathrooms and i cannot stand dirty bathrooms. Thats why whenever i plan on staying at a hotel more than a day, i get an above 4 star hotel. Also the reason why we stayed at hyatt regency (4*) in miami. The bathroom at tahitian inn was uncomparably clean and roomy compared to our four star hotel. They had standing showers and the the tiles and the crack in between tiles were impeccable. They even had a jacuzzi tub almost comparable to the one in mgm las vegas suite room. It also has an above average restaurant that is moderately priced, beautiful pool, small gym and a complimentary spa experience! I loved the say thoroughly.

The only downside was it was too close to a major street and it was a bit loud bc of the cars. But since its closeto the hotel, its acessible to many restaurants (i love chick fil a chicken biscuit and coffee and this place is literally 15 seconds walking distance from chick fil a!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed there 12-18 November with friends.
Positives:
- location is central on this main road, 10 min from airport, downtown
- restaurant food is good and not expensive, one of the best porrige breakfast i had, only 4$
- receptionists are super friendly and help with pretty much any question ( we looked for restaurants, poker clubs, gas station with vacuum cleaner, spa, specific shops, changed arrival - leave dates, who stays in which room - and they managed it all with a big smile. Unfortunately forgot their names, there was a lady from Georgia and a gentleman at the evening who came from Egypt orignally).
- it was very quite at the poolside in the evening when we sat there (i was expecting the crazy party-ing from reading the reviews, but it never happened)

Some things to note:
- parking space is tight, but i always found a spot at the front of the property when it was full
- the rooms are more like a motel type, not really resembled the pictures i saw on the website, but nevertheless it was large and bed comfortable
- tv is a bit outdated in room and the picture has an overwhelming red colour in it, good if you like watching everything in a pink fog;-)
- we did not get the rooms in the main building, most rooms are at the back in a modern building
- room next to laundry can be a bit loud, so check with reception where is yours
Overall i recommend it for a stay. Wifi worked perfectly in the room.

Room Tip: Try main building, though i am not sure if you can hear the music from the restaurant bar then so ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisztina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tampa
Best Western Tampa
#48 of 163 in Tampa
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#99 of 163 in Tampa
270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#104 of 163 in Tampa
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Property: Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Address: 601 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609-3948
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahitian Inn and Spa is a boutique gem in the heart of South Tampa. Located just minutes from downtown, Raymond James, and Tampa International airport, the legendary Bern's Steakhouse, and SOHO area, University of Tampa, shopping and dining, Tahitian Inn is in the perfect location. With on-site dining and outdoor pool and poolside Tiki-bar, guests enjoy resort-style amenities and an all-inclusive experience. Rooms are interior Executive or exterior Cabana rooms, all have tile floors, microwave, mini-fridge, free wifi, free parking, and with executive Queen rooms add a wet bar, plus jetted tub and balcony upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing