We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Ranked #84 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having stayed at the Tahitian Inn once before a few years ago, I was looking forward to my return visit this past weekend.

Somehow I remember it being a lot nicer.

The positives - TI has a great location, rooms are spacious, beds are comfy and the breakfast is excellent, albeit pricey (40 bucks for breakfast for 3 people!!!). Employees were very nice and helpful.

The negatives:

- our room had ANTS (see the picture).
- the A/C unit was noisy and didn't cool down the room even at 68 degrees.
- we were next to the pool in room 131 (avoid!) so we were treated to pool bar noise until late at night.
- As stated in a previous review, the walls are paper thin - at one point we were startled by what apparently was a jet engine, but after a few seconds we realized it was the guest in the next room taking a shower.
- Our room was also next to the maintenance room, ice machine and vending machine ($2 for a can of Diet Coke btw). More traffic noise, starting at 730 AM.

We were so tired we just put it with the noise and ants and heat... but we only stayed one night.

Sorry to say I'll skip the TI next time I'm in Tampa.

Room Tip: Avoid #131 or any room on the 1st floor close to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dictator_Sulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    146
    91
    67
    64
See reviews for
121
155
35
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
236 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This was my third visit to the Tahitian Inn. I enjoyed the pool and bar area and had the regular room (outside entrance). Staying there on my own this time I felt safe and comfortable. Took at cab to Bern's Steak House (wonderful) for dinner. Front desk staff is capable and efficient. The free airport shuttle was timely and only runs from their hotel (so no time-delaying extra stops). The tiki décor around the pool is festive and the bartender was great. Rooms are cool and comfortable. Looking forward to another visit soon. Thanks Tahitian!

Room Tip: Indoor corridor rooms are fancier but the regular (exterior corridor) rooms are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I booked two rooms here for a girl's weekend. The outside and lobby area are very nice. It was beautifully decorated for the holidays. The front desk reception and all the employees in the restaurant were so friendly and helpful. Even the rooms were decorated in an attractive manner and were very clean. The negatives are that the walls are apparently paper-thin. Both nights we could hear cackling laughter from the pool area until 2 AM. Then the cleaning crew and kids playing in the pool would wake us up at 7AM. The air-conditiioner was also very disruptive to sleep, since it was so loud as it switched on and off. The first night, it woke me up every 30 minutes. The second night, I chose to be hot and turned it off. We also had some breathing troubles and suspect the a/c units are moldy. All in all, I probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ficklered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I are staying here tonight and we were here last night. What a lovely place! It has such charm and the staff is spectacular....Vanessa on the front desk was a delight when I called and made my reservation on the phone about a month ago and it was such a pleasure to meet her. We had breakfast at the cafe and it was perfect and the service was spectacular. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and it was great. The bed was really comfortable and when you walk into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyfromnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with bell captains, turn down service, or even an elevator this is not the hotel for you. In fact, I think this is more like a motel.That said, it is quaint, with a 1960s south Florida vibe-tile floors, plantation shutters, small bathroom and rooms that open onto the parking lot rather than a decorated hallway. But, to be fair, It was quiet, not expensive, had a nice pool area and a decent cafe.
If you want bells and whistles you should stay somewhere else.
If you want to hear bells and whistles-you will from the highway once you open your door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florabella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We've stayed at this place a number of times while visiting family and liked it for the convenient location, good price and adequate accommodations.
This time, however, the accommodations were less than adequate. During our 3-night stay the room was never cleaned despite the fact that we were away from the hotel for most of the two days. Even a reminder to the front desk to have it cleaned on the second day produced no results.. Complaints to the front desk were met with comments "there's nothing I can do about it"; "you will have to wait until there is a manager here tomorrow".
In a city with many hotel options, the Tahitian Inn will not be one we will consider again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

not what it looks like in picture, that is only a smallpart where the reception area and spa are,very few rooms there..most of the rooms are old and need alot of work .they are laid out like a motel.our air conditioner really did not cool anything and sounded like a b-52...noot worth the low price

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tampa
BEST WESTERN Tampa
#52 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#108 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park Hotel
#87 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa

Property: Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Address: 601 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33609-3948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahitian Inn and Spa is a boutique gem in the heart of South Tampa. Located just minutes from downtown, Raymond James, and Tampa International airport, the legendary Bern's Steakhouse, and SOHO area, University of Tampa, shopping and dining, Tahitian Inn is in the perfect location. With on-site dining and outdoor pool and poolside Tiki-bar, guests enjoy resort-style amenities and an all-inclusive experience. Rooms are interior Executive or exterior Cabana rooms, all have tile floors, microwave, mini-fridge, free wifi, free parking, and with executive Queen rooms add a wet bar, plus jetted tub and balcony upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe Tampa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe And Spa
Tahitian Hotel Tampa
Tahitian Inn Spa
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing