We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly a suite...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North
Ranked #33 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not exactly a suite...”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

First off, the hotel is not exactly located in the best part of town. There are virtually no restaurants nearby - just a ton of bodega-type merchants. I didn't feel unsafe, but rather unsettled.

The hotel appears to be new, and everything was quite clean. The room itself, however, is not exactly what I would consider a suite. In fact, it's not really any bigger than a standard hotel room. The 'living area' is small with a sofa, coffee table, and mini-fridge with coffee maker. There is a 1/3 wall between the living area and bedroom, and the TV straddles this area. The bed was pretty comfortable, but the drapes didn't exactly meet in the middle, causing light to seep into the room. Worst part - you can hear everything in the room next to you and out in the hallway.

Net, I'm mixed on this one - it was just 'OK.' Unless I really needed to be in this specific area, I would probably pass it up.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    80
    37
    9
    9
See reviews for
94
72
19
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I don't know what the rate is during high season, but this may be the best deal in Tampa in September. Very nice room, good WiFi, good breakfast, nice clean outdoor pool. TIP The hotel is off the toll road from the airport. You will need 50 cents in coin to exit the toll road, and to get back on. (You won't appreciate this tip until it's dark and you don't have change in your pocket so you have to pull over to get change out of you carry on in the trunk!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_and_M_travels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

great in every which way...location,staff, quality of rooms, etc

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAMAPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Noisy, horrible, DIRTY hotel........housekeeping is rude and obnoxious!!! Will never recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labelledoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My daughter and I were in town to visit NMU. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was spectacular and amazing. Great breakfast and other amenities. Would highly recommend this to anybody going to Marquette.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyspelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We drove to the hotel from the Orlando Airport (from the east) and it looked to be a run down, rough area, and we both said "uh oh". Right before we reached the hotel the location became much nicer and we relaxed. We slept the first night on the front side of the hotel on the fifth floor and the traffic on West Waters Ave kept us up all night. The next night we switched rooms to the back of the hotel and it was peaceful. The second room had a lamp next to the bed that did not work, a toilet that did not flush, and curtains that did not close completely. All of these problems, except the lamp, were corrected within the day. We went out to the pool in the evening, but that seemed to be the group smoking location for several guests. Because of the solid walls, the smoke did not dissipate; we left disappointed. (obviously not the hotel's fault) The breakfast was sparse and had a slim selection of healthy options. The eggs were hard, dry discs of some sort. The manager was very helpful with ideas for entertainment, beaches, etc.

Room Tip: request a room on the back of hotel (north side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacefulperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel Summer 2009 for 5 days, the location was very close to my Dad who lives in Tampa, and he made the ressies for us a family of 5. He told us that this hotel was fairly new. We stayed at the Suite and it was very comfortable. A great value if you book online!. Excellent service. This is now our new place to stay when we visit our family. The room included a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sitting area with couch and chair, flat screen television mounted on the wall, and pillows that were so comfy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disneymom71abq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmfl760, Manager at Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Shital Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium
813-880-8938
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
12.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North

Property: Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North
Address: 5421 W Waters Ave, Tampa, FL 33634-1219 (Formerly Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
#21 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites near Raymond James Stadium is located near Tampa International Airport TPA and Raymond James Stadium. Rates always include a free hot breakfast, outdoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room 24 hour Business Center and Free Aiport Shuttle from 5:15am to Midnight. Located minutes away from Veterans Expressway, Dale Mabry Hwy and I-275. Area Businesses include Home Depot, Fed-Ex, CAE, Kesier University, Cemex, Barry University, Alessi Bakery, Jacobs, and McDean. Area attractions such as Busch Gardens, The Florida Aquarium, Big Cat Rescue, Lowry Park Zoo, Tampa Convention Center, Straz Center, Mosi, Tampa Times Forum, Ybor City and Channelside are all a short drive away. Come and enjoy the Suite life. PETS ARE NOT ACCEPTED AT THIS LOCATION. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Near Raymond James Stadium Hotel Tampa
Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing