We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must see!!!”

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.95*
and up
Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo Admission
Ranked #8 of 197 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tampa’s Lowry Park Zoo is home to more than 1300 animals and famous for having one of the most beautiful, tropical zoological settings in the world. The Zoo brings together animals and visitors to create unforgettable, natural connections. Guests get closer to wildlife than ever before by touching a giant tortoise, feeding a giraffe, getting nose-to-horn with an Indian rhino, hand-to-fin with slippery stingrays and more! Families can also splash in water play areas, feel thrills on rides and take in educational shows. Love manatees? The Zoo is the only place in Tampa where guests can see Florida manatees year round. At the David A. Straz Jr. Manatee Hospital, the Zoo’s veterinary and animal-care staff treat sick, injured and orphaned manatees, and return them to the wild after rehabilitation. The Zoo also cares for the most diverse group of Florida wildlife anywhere, and has won numerous awards for animal preservation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is a must see!!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I know I'm biased because Tampa is my home town, but having been to many zoos around the country, I must say that Lowry Park ranks very highly. My favorite spot is feeding the giraffes (you pay a minimum fee for it) and it gets you up close and personal with these wonderful animals. The zoo has an amazing group of animals and a staff that genuinely cares for them. There are also camel rides (my niece's favorite) and plenty of species with babies. A petting zoo and a few watering play areas for the little ones (so bring a towel). Parking is free, which is always a plus.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeenThereFromPTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,734
    929
    345
    100
    55
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lowry Park Zoo - a Must-Visit!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A full day can be easily spent here, whether you're with children or without. In addition to the large zoo with African and Asian animals, there's a large section focused on Florida wildlife. You can feed the sting rays, and the manatee viewing is, in my opinion, the best in the Tampa area. Mechanical rides for the kids are included in the general admission - my granddaughters love the carousel, flying bananas, roller coaster and train. They also love to play in the water... there are special fountains and water areas for kids to get soaked in. So bring a change of clothes and water shoes for them. Non-mechanical rides (riding horses and camels) will cost extra, but the petting zoo is included. There are a couple of bird and reptile shows that are OK, but don't lose sleep if you miss them. Plan to spend the day, and don't forget your camera.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Zoo for Tampa”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A medium-sized Zoo with a sort of theme-park attention to detail, Lowry Park is very kid friendly and also interesting enough to keep your adult attention. It's got some interesting animals and shows, and I even bought an annual pass a local so I can take visiting friends and guests. Just don't expect a world-class zoo or rides. They have some great giraffes, Rhinos, and elephants but the viewing area is disappointing. Also, the tiger is cool but a frequent no-show. I wish Tampa's Zoo was more in line with the stature of our city, but Lowry Park has done amazing things with the size and budget it has. Definitely worth a visit, and much much more than a typical local zoo.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingCetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“moms go in free”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

In my experience the best time to visit this zoo is on mother's day, not only do we moms get in free with a paying child, you see all the animals, petting zoo, and our favorite the stingray tank. Also, on father's day dads enter free.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Salsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get more for Busch Gardens”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Over priced. Go on $5 days. Food is real expensive and not all great so don't go hungry. You can go to Busch Gardens and still see a zoo there plus much more.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tampa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing