We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great zoo”

Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.99*
and up
Tampa TRIO Pass with Attractions: Aquarium Zoo and Museum
More Info
US$106.00*
and up
Tampa Bay CityPASS
More Info
US$32.95*
and up
Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo Admission
Ranked #8 of 198 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tampa’s Lowry Park Zoo is home to more than 1300 animals and famous for having one of the most beautiful, tropical zoological settings in the world. The Zoo brings together animals and visitors to create unforgettable, natural connections. Guests get closer to wildlife than ever before by touching a giant tortoise, feeding a giraffe, getting nose-to-horn with an Indian rhino, hand-to-fin with slippery stingrays and more! Families can also splash in water play areas, feel thrills on rides and take in educational shows. Love manatees? The Zoo is the only place in Tampa where guests can see Florida manatees year round. At the David A. Straz Jr. Manatee Hospital, the Zoo’s veterinary and animal-care staff treat sick, injured and orphaned manatees, and return them to the wild after rehabilitation. The Zoo also cares for the most diverse group of Florida wildlife anywhere, and has won numerous awards for animal preservation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lewes, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was a great zoo. We spent about 4 hours here and loved it. A little on the expensive side but look for discount coupons.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,715
    923
    345
    97
    55
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great family attraction”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I took our two children (8 and 5 yo) while we were visiting Tampa for a week. The zoo does offer a reciprical discount to members of other AZA accredited zoos and aquariums so we were able to get a 50% discount. The zoo has some great exhibits and several rides and interactive exhibits, most of which are included with admission. We all had a great time, even though it began to storm mid afternoon so most of the rides and attractions were closed the last half of the day. We were told that it's Florida policy that if there's any lightning within a 25 mile radius that parks are required to shut down all rides (much more conservative than policies in Ohio).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank abaker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“We went for Free~”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went on Veterans Day. The Zoo is really great to the Veterans of our country! It was pretty hot. Fortunately, there are plenty of fans and shade for when you need it! The Zoo is well stocked with animals and the staff is very friendly!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It was the Best !!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We are retired and were in Tampa for a few days and took a trip to the Lowry Park Zoo...so glad we did. We had the best time. so much to see...the animals are well taken care of and some will even be released back into to wild when they are well enough. It rained on and off while we were there but there is several places to take cover...wished we had our grandkids with us , I know they would have loved it !! They have rides for the kids too....Happy we went ! Enjoy ....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank khdlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our family had a blast. It was hot but found plenty of shade. It is a little pricey, but worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigManinHomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing