We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Busch Gardens
Ranked #137 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel from march 5 2013 to march 7 2013.

Front desk: very polite, fast check in and out. We arrived late at night, and departed at 11am. At both times, quick procedures.

Room: overall clean, we had a balcony, so it was possible to have an open window instead of using the AC. Also the AC was new, worked perfectly when needed. The rooms are old, and have a vintage tube TV. But they still work. ;) Free WiFi worked fine, nice speed. But be carefull if you are carrying lots of luggage: There's no elevator there!!!

Noise: we were on the 2nd floor, and if there's something that bothers me is noise! But for my surprise, no noise at all! So try to get a room on the 2nd floor.

Breakfast: we found it nice. Coffee, juices, donuts, bagels, butter, jelly. Remember that you are not paying for a Hilton breakfast, so keep that on your mind.

Location: very close to Busch Gardens. Don't need to use your car. Just cross the street. Important Note: the pedestrian entrance is located on the corner of N Mackinley drive/40th street with E Busch Blvd.

Overall, if you are not spending more that 3/4 days there, is the place to stay considering the price. If you need a longer stay, maybe you could stay at a better place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are quieter, but there's no elevator there!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guto-SP-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Busch Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

It's near to Busch Gardens, but the price doesn't compensate because it's a simple room that you can hear the others room adjacents... The breakfast is simple with two juices, two kind of bread, egg,sausage, cereals, yogurts, bananas and oranges... milk and coffe, off course.
The staff is good and helpful. The fornitures isn't so new ,but OK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glaubinhoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We spent two nights here in Feb 2013. When I entered the lobby to check in there was no one behind the desk - she was sitting on the couch watching TV with her feet up on the coffee table - very professional. Instead of getting up to talk to me, she asked me from the couch if I was checking in & had a reservation. As for the room, there was hair in the tub, on the bathroom floor, and two of the pillows (not ours!). There was a new roll of toilet paper in the bathroom, and it was covered in what looked like green mold. It wasn't just a little bit - it was all over it. So whoever put that roll on knew it was disgusting & left it there anyway - they didn't even bother to take off the top layers to hide it. The toilet seat was broken and slid off to one side and every time we sat down the lid hit us in the back. The bathroom in general was gross and the floor was filthy. There was an ancient TV that made an obnoxious buzzing noise while it was on, although there were very few channels to watch anyway. There was a large stain on the carpet, and there were crumbs on the blanket from the previous occupant. We had a lovely view of the roof and a couple of buckets of tar.The halls were a hideous combination of yellow and crimson with green carpeting. Even though there are two floors, there is no elevator so you have to haul heavy luggage up the stairs. The whole place was run-down and depressing. Even though we were cold and exhausted after a long day at Busch Gardens, we stayed an extra hour because no one wanted to go back to the room. After we checked-out, we had to walk around a large puddle of vomit in the parking lot to get to our car. This is not a place you want to bring kids to - the hotels closer to USF are in a better area (Fowler Ave and Temple Terrace). We are going back to Busch Gardens this summer, and I have already made reservations at Wingate by Wyndham for $30 more a night...sometimes trying to save a few bucks just isn't worth it.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank QueenBee9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at, very dirty, shower didn't work, buffet breakfast was a joke, very noisy! I wrote a review directly to quality inn and suites a week in a half ago and still have not heard back from anyone! I would never stay here again and would not recommend them to anyone! We had 2 rooms and everyone felt the same!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trista762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The proximity to Busch Gardens (the park) was very good. Walking is an option, if you don't mind the exercise in addition to walking in the park all day.
The complimentary breakfast was decent. The employee maintaining the food supply was a little slow to refill the empty bins (some bins seemingly never getting refilled, like the little muffins), and there was no waffle maker.
The ground floor rooms have large sliding glass doors that open into the parking lot - some people may not feel very secure with this, but there is an option for a second floor room.
Plenty of restaurants within a few miles, and the neighborhood did not appear to be terrible.
Overall, I'd say a very good place (a bit better than average), but I can't give it an excellent rating because of the few things that may or may not be capable of being changed.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may contain sliding glass doors into the parking lot. If you might feel insecure...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJ5267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We travel a fair amount and often stay at Choice hotels. As a general rule the Quality and Comfort Inns are good clean basic places to sleep. This one is not. My feet literally stuck to the carpet, and the hard floors were worse. The room was poorly equipped, and for lack of a better word, creepy.

Room Tip: Go someplace else
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PanamaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Was greeted by friendly clerks not only at check-in but every time I passed the front desk. The rooms are very clean and the LCD tv had plenty of channels. The only drawback was a small bathroom that has a sliding door with a hidden light switch some distance away but that is just nitpicking an otherwise great place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
3.5 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Busch Gardens

Address: 4139 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33617 (Formerly Quality Inn Busch Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge, a Tampa hotel near Busch Gardens Africa in Tampa Florida. The Econo Lodge is ideally located within walking distance of the entrance to Busch Gardens Africa amusement park. This Tampa, FL hotel is minutes from the Florida Aquarium, the Museum Of Science and Industry (MOSI), Florida State Fairgrounds, Florida Hospital, the Raymond James Stadium, the University of South Florida and the Ybor City historic district. Several beautiful beaches are about 30 minutes from the hotel. Many shopping opportunities are also close by. Visitors will enjoy recreational activities like jet skiing, parasailing, golfing, sport fishing, scuba diving and boating. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and entertainment venues are located in the surrounding area. In addition, the Tampa area offers some of the best seafood under the sun. Hotel amenities and features include:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Free coffee. After an exciting day of sightseeing, guests of this Tampa, FL hotel will enjoy relaxing in the outdoor pool. All guest rooms have hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, sofa sleepers and balconies. Laundry facilities are located on the property for added guest convenience.The perfect location, affordable accommodations and friendly customer service make the Quality Inn hotel the perfect place to stay for business and leisure travelers. We look forward to serving you when visiting the Tampa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Busch Gardens Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing