We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Busch Gardens
Ranked #134 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This inn is good improvement from what it was as Rodeway Inn. Most Quality Inns are dump so this is a pleasant surprise. Rooms were redone, carpets were clean. Still Tube TV and decent amenity to make it tourist class. Out door pool was ok. There were not many people in the inn.
It was bit scary, but area was safe.
Weakness: Breakfast. It was less than desirable or minimum.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is desirable, even if you walk a stair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpperCapeResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    23
    29
    59
See reviews for
62
34
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hotel was anything but 'Quality'.
Good: The staff at check-in was friendly and helped resolve our problem later on. It was very close to Busch Gardens, which was our destination.

Poor: The room was not clean. We found other people's discarded items behind the night stand and refrigerator. The carpet was old and very worn. The air conditioning unit was OFF and the room was stuffy when we entered the room. We searched for controls on the unit and on the wall and couldn't find any. We finally contacted the front desk and they told us to use the white remote in the room. There was no white remote. They were able to locate an 'extra' remote and had it waiting at the front desk.
The hotel had a superficial remodel - some paint but not much else. The general condition was very poor. Our room door was delaminating and the front and rear panels were separated fromt the core of the door. Not a very good feeling of security.
On checkout there was no one to be found at the front desk. A small child appeared and had to go find his dad to get us checked out. At first he didn't even want to give us a receipt. When I insisted on one I found out we were being charged $2.50 for the room safe, which we didn't use and didn't chose to have. He would not refund the the fee because we didn't decline it on check-in (we weren't asked about it and didn't know it was in the room.)
Obviously we won't be staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Chose another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tampa hotels

Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This hotel is a great value for the price and location. Beds were fairly new and clean. Towels were soft and the room was clean. The TV was not one of the newer flat screens but it worked fine and had cable. We had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in our room. Breakfast consisted of cereal, some hot egg and sausage items, muffins, toast/English muffins, yogurt, juices, tea, and coffee. The flooring, carpets, and walls are a bit worn so it makes things look a bit run down but I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The front desk attendant, Sam, was very nice and helpful. We were busy with the park so we never used the pool. Plenty of parking. No restaurant attached but Pizza Hut is a few steps away and there is a CVS just a few steps more, plus various other restaurants close by. The best aspect of this hotel is its location to Busch Gardens. It is a 15 minute walk from hotel door to park turnstile so you can check in and then walk to the park. It is a short drive down the street to Adventure Island.

Room Tip: It is on a busy road so if you have trouble sleeping with street noise bring ear plugs or ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaLa6299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel from march 5 2013 to march 7 2013.

Front desk: very polite, fast check in and out. We arrived late at night, and departed at 11am. At both times, quick procedures.

Room: overall clean, we had a balcony, so it was possible to have an open window instead of using the AC. Also the AC was new, worked perfectly when needed. The rooms are old, and have a vintage tube TV. But they still work. ;) Free WiFi worked fine, nice speed. But be carefull if you are carrying lots of luggage: There's no elevator there!!!

Noise: we were on the 2nd floor, and if there's something that bothers me is noise! But for my surprise, no noise at all! So try to get a room on the 2nd floor.

Breakfast: we found it nice. Coffee, juices, donuts, bagels, butter, jelly. Remember that you are not paying for a Hilton breakfast, so keep that on your mind.

Location: very close to Busch Gardens. Don't need to use your car. Just cross the street. Important Note: the pedestrian entrance is located on the corner of N Mackinley drive/40th street with E Busch Blvd.

Overall, if you are not spending more that 3/4 days there, is the place to stay considering the price. If you need a longer stay, maybe you could stay at a better place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are quieter, but there's no elevator there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guto-SP-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macae, RJ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

It's near to Busch Gardens, but the price doesn't compensate because it's a simple room that you can hear the others room adjacents... The breakfast is simple with two juices, two kind of bread, egg,sausage, cereals, yogurts, bananas and oranges... milk and coffe, off course.
The staff is good and helpful. The fornitures isn't so new ,but OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glaubinhoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We spent two nights here in Feb 2013. When I entered the lobby to check in there was no one behind the desk - she was sitting on the couch watching TV with her feet up on the coffee table - very professional. Instead of getting up to talk to me, she asked me from the couch if I was checking in & had a reservation. As for the room, there was hair in the tub, on the bathroom floor, and two of the pillows (not ours!). There was a new roll of toilet paper in the bathroom, and it was covered in what looked like green mold. It wasn't just a little bit - it was all over it. So whoever put that roll on knew it was disgusting & left it there anyway - they didn't even bother to take off the top layers to hide it. The toilet seat was broken and slid off to one side and every time we sat down the lid hit us in the back. The bathroom in general was gross and the floor was filthy. There was an ancient TV that made an obnoxious buzzing noise while it was on, although there were very few channels to watch anyway. There was a large stain on the carpet, and there were crumbs on the blanket from the previous occupant. We had a lovely view of the roof and a couple of buckets of tar.The halls were a hideous combination of yellow and crimson with green carpeting. Even though there are two floors, there is no elevator so you have to haul heavy luggage up the stairs. The whole place was run-down and depressing. Even though we were cold and exhausted after a long day at Busch Gardens, we stayed an extra hour because no one wanted to go back to the room. After we checked-out, we had to walk around a large puddle of vomit in the parking lot to get to our car. This is not a place you want to bring kids to - the hotels closer to USF are in a better area (Fowler Ave and Temple Terrace). We are going back to Busch Gardens this summer, and I have already made reservations at Wingate by Wyndham for $30 more a night...sometimes trying to save a few bucks just isn't worth it.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank QueenBee9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at, very dirty, shower didn't work, buffet breakfast was a joke, very noisy! I wrote a review directly to quality inn and suites a week in a half ago and still have not heard back from anyone! I would never stay here again and would not recommend them to anyone! We had 2 rooms and everyone felt the same!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trista762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Busch Gardens

Property: Econo Lodge Busch Gardens
Address: 4139 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33617 (Formerly Quality Inn Busch Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Busch Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge, a Tampa hotel near Busch Gardens Africa in Tampa Florida. The Econo Lodge is ideally located within walking distance of the entrance to Busch Gardens Africa amusement park. This Tampa, FL hotel is minutes from the Florida Aquarium, the Museum Of Science and Industry (MOSI), Florida State Fairgrounds, Florida Hospital, the Raymond James Stadium, the University of South Florida and the Ybor City historic district. Several beautiful beaches are about 30 minutes from the hotel. Many shopping opportunities are also close by. Visitors will enjoy recreational activities like jet skiing, parasailing, golfing, sport fishing, scuba diving and boating. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and entertainment venues are located in the surrounding area. In addition, the Tampa area offers some of the best seafood under the sun. Hotel amenities and features include:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Free coffee. After an exciting day of sightseeing, guests of this Tampa, FL hotel will enjoy relaxing in the outdoor pool. All guest rooms have hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, sofa sleepers and balconies. Laundry facilities are located on the property for added guest convenience.The perfect location, affordable accommodations and friendly customer service make the Quality Inn hotel the perfect place to stay for business and leisure travelers. We look forward to serving you when visiting the Tampa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Busch Gardens Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing