We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what was advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Ranked #103 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Booked stay as a 4 star hotel on hotwire. Rooms weren't at all as pictured. Torn carpeting, ripped wallpaper, mismatched furnishings, outdated & worn furnishings. The spa was filled in with dirt & had a tree growing in it. Pool had black mildew growing around the tile. The old, yucky bathtub literally had a solid sheet of something like a giant floor decal to cover the yuckiness. It's clear this place used to be a Residence Inn but hasnt been updated since the 80's.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HColes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed at Chase Suites overnight after long flight from West Coast. Studio had full kitchen, nice living area/bedroom. Easy walk to convenience store and two restaurants. Front desk very accommodating. Shuttle to airport no hassle. Weekly parking included in overnight rate along with breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.
HappyCamper0930

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happycamper930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This hotel is affordable and clean. Great breakfast in the morning and a nice size pool. Convenient location, close to Clearwater and downtown Tampa.

Room Tip: Great room with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redstripeluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed for three days with extended family for a wedding. Spacious clean rooms (bi level suite) that had plenty of living space fro get togethers. Morning breakfast consisted of fruits, breads, and WAFFLES!!!. next door to Bahamas Breeze restaurant which became the defacto evening gathering place. Located a few mintues from airport (free shuttle) in an area with other hotels - around 15-20 minutes from downtown. Got great price via group rate and would recommend to other families looking for a place to gather. Only consideration is that it might have been a good idea to rent single rooms for older members of the party who would have liked to sleep in

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BusinessTraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

As soon as you drive into the property, you see that it's grounds are kept up and it's clean. You'll also feel like you're in a small appartment complex. The "clubhouse" includes the front desk and the area where breakfast is served. The front desk staff need to learn basic customer service skills and how to address issues sincerely. I interacted with several employees throughout a week's stay and only 1 managed to act professionally. The breakfast area is very small for the amount of guests that utilize it. I question the quality and safety of the food they serve. Milk and butter were left on the counter without anything to keep it cold, day after day. The only nice part of breakfast that I felt I could trust was the waffle station, and there was always a line. There isn't anything around the hotel you can go to for breakfast (nearest place is 10 minutes), so you're kind of stuck if you want to eat. For dinner, there's a few places within walking disance, and they're great.

Internet -- This property's internet is HORRIBLE. I have a CLEAR 3/4G device, and while there is 4G coverage, it won't work indoors due to the buildings.

The "business center" is basically 2 computers next to the front desk. I didn't attempt to use either, but I did hear a few times that guests were having trouble with them and the front desk said "don't use that one it doesn't work right".

The room --

I stayed in a standard studio suite. First, I booked using one of those travel sites where you don't know the name up front. When you do that, you kind of expect to be in the undesired areas of a property. I would definitely ask where your room is before you leave the clubhouse and ask if it's near the pool or tennis/basketball court, and if you're on the ground floor, are their AC units outside your door. You will hear everything that goes on outside your suite.

The TV is a 32" and is mounted above the desk, so you can't work at the desk and really watch TV without getting up or moving further back. For the distance between the bed and TV, it should have been much much larger. The TV could be programmed correctly so there aren't so many blacked out channels.

The bed was very comfortable, though the sheets were very old. The bathroom floor needed regrouting and you heard it crackle as you walked on it. You have your own hot water heater but the bath amenities were below par -- bring your own. The towels need a major bleeching or replacing.

The kitchen was the main reason I stayed here (I knew it had a kitchenette when booking blindly). The appliances are from the 1980's when the property was originally a Marriott Residence Inn. They work and are clean.

Everything is clean, it's just out-dated and definitely needs a face lift. If cost is a concern, this property is for you. If you're a business professional or are turned off by things like unfriendly staff and corner cutting, this property isn't for you. I question it's 2.5 star rating as it doesn't compare with similar hotels.

Bottom line, would I stay here again, in a pinch or cost crunch, yes. Otherwise, NO.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FWH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a resonable hotel for the price. although we were kind dof weary, due to all the young people hanging around the complex and it was just a lil too busy outside the unit during the day and night. The staff was very unprofessional and rude. Would not accomendate us and get us an early check-in due to a person in our party being ill. They werent even nice about it, and even told us they would not bother the housekeeping about trying to clean a room for us! I will definitely not be staying here again, and wouldnt recommend it either.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dellj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at Chase Suite Hotel for our cruise. We booked the Snooze and Cruise Package which was well worth it. It included all our transportation needs. First impression was that the place was an aprtment complex which turned to out to be suites (hense the name chase suites).

We booked a king bedroom which we actually got a free upgrade to a waterview room which rocked. We were a little worried about the hotel from reading all the other reviews but wow some people really have some issues. There isnt anything wrong with this place i personally think people just like to complain..

The breakfast was nice, the night social was nice and the room was great. A little outdated but very comfy. As far as one review about waiting to be picked up from there cruise made me laugh. That guest was probally the last one off the boat after dilly dalling and then wanted to be catered to. Did we have to wait sure. But cmon people. hire a taxi next time and pay the extra $50 if your time is more important than 20mins..

I would recommend Chase Suites to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LUKYCHRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#40 of 164 in Tampa
1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
4 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
2.5 mi away
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa

Address: 3075 N Rocky Point Dr E, Tampa, FL 33607-5802 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel by Woodfin - Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: £73 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Suite Tampa
Tampa Chase Suite Hotel
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing