We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If NASTY-DISHONEST-UNRELIABLE Is What You're Looking For, This Is It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Ranked #112 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Needed a place prior to a cruise and, unfortunately, chose this property. As always, checked tripadvisor and feel very mislead (uncharactristically) by some of the reports. Chose this property (mostly) for the "included" transfers from airport, to port and from port back to airport. Upon arrival at airport, called hotel - as instructed - and requested shuttle. After waiting nearly 30 min, called back and, again, told that shuttle was on the way. After another 15 min, hailed a cab ($16) to hotel. Was told by front desk that we must have "just missed" the shuttle even though we saw 2 there in the parking lot not being used..?? After given our room number, it took us about 10 minutes to find it. The rooms are a not numbered very well, it's very dark with lots of overgrown shrubbery and are very hard to find. Once inside, quickly realized that it looked nothing like the photos on their website. Wouldn't call the place clean, but, after traveling, thought it to be suitable for sleep. Woke up the next morning to find LARGE bugs (looked like cockroaches on steroids). Front desk informed us that they were everywhere and can't be kept out...lol. During the daylight we could see how deteriorated the property really is. Breakfast:....absolutely horrible. Drink (soda) machine out of service (had been for a while according to employee), out of most items, filthy conditions on counters and floor. There were several un-supervised children that, it seemed, were residents of the property. Not sure if this is an extended stay/apartment type property as well or not, but sure seemed that way. Shuttle to port was ok - even with the Bucs playing. After arriving back to port AND outside with our luggage, called for transfer back to airport (as instructed) and was told it would be there in 20 minutes. After 30 minutes, called back to be told that we must have "just missed" them (sound familiar?) and that another one was almost there. After another 15 minutes, called back to be told that there are two shuttles running and they should be there any minute. By this time, most all of the others from the cruise were long gone from shuttle pick up area with the exception of (as we found out) guests that also stayed at Chase Suites!! At the one hour mark, called back and spoke to same clerk. Asked that they PLEASE just be honest with us and were told that, in fact, there was only one shuttle running (10 person capacity) and it had, in fact, JUST LEFT the property! When asked how many were waiting for the one shuttle, were told that there were over 60! Clerk was very apologetic and said that there should have been three shuttles running to accommodate the guests that had purchased the "Snooze & Cruise" package. About 15 minutes more passed before we saw the shuttle....should've taken a picture....dirty, missing hubcaps, etc. Twelve us got on the shuttle by sitting in laps and were taken to the airport. Can't explain positive reports unless there has been a recent change in management/ownership.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workhard_playhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynde D, General Manager at Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Sir

My apologies that you were dissatisfied with your service and room while you were here at our property in Tampa.

We do have two shuttles dedicated to our snooze and cruise passengers that book packages through the hotel. Unfortunately, there are instances where we have one guest booking a package and arriving with 6 or 7 others. We have offered this package for many years now and plan our staffing to accomodate. Typically, the guest calls ahead to arrange for pick-up and the names placed on the schedule. Should we need additional shuttles we do contract with a local transportation service, always near the port for emergency transport. Our vans run every hour on the hour as the trip to and from the port is 20-30 minutes one direction.

We are under new management. We are also currently under renovation and making many improvements to our exterior, suites, landscape, and lobby. Our breakfast and social menus are all new and we take great pride in our extensive offerings. Much more than a continental breakfast or simple appetizers. We are an extended stay all suite hotel offering spacious rooms with full kitchens.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel before and after our cruise out of Tampa, I was very happy with our room. The room had a full kitchen (even a dish washer). The room was clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast is included which was an added bonus. Supper is also included from Monday to Thursday which was a pleasant surprise. My wife and I also enjoyed the pool. The hotel is close to the Bahama Breeze which was also nice. You could just walk over to the restaurant and not worry about driving after having a couple of drinks. The hotel is also near water which is nice in the morning for watching the sunrise. I would go back to this hotel if we ever visit Tampa again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaseSuiteHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks! We think you are pretty awesome too!

We all hope to see you again in the near future!

-Chase Suite Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

As usual, our stay was super fantastic and all the staff are great folks and very informative to any questions you might have.The location is perfect for going in any direction and close to all the main routes.The complementary breakfast in the AM is great and just like eating out in a restaurant or diner.The Mgr. hour or so ,is also a great time with plenty of goodies to snack on,plus your choice of drink.This is our 4th stay and look forward to our next 2 at least, next year.

Room Tip: They all are and if you like the water, you can request a water view room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the Chase Suites for one night before our cruise and one night after. Our room was very clean, and was perfect for our needs. (both times) We were in one of the non upgraded rooms, and it was still very nice. Breakfast was good both times. The front desk employees were very nice, and handled our reservations quickly. The only complaint I have is with the *free* shuttle, the driver obviously felt we did not tip well enough, and made it known. That had nothing to do with the staff at the hotel or the rooms we stayed in though. We would stay there again, we would rent a car instead of using their shuttle though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcp203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at Chase Suites for more than a month. I extended my stay by a week and Chase Suites did not inform me that construction would be going on in my building right behind my room, The workers used to start banging on the walls at 7 am. I asked to talk to management on why I was not informed that the construction event was going to occur. They had no answer. Then they told me the vice president would call me to discuss the situation. No one called me and without my permission they charged my card about $1000. This looks like a scam.
Also, the rooms do not look even close to what is on the website. Soiled carpets, soiled couch, no paintings on the walls, noisy guests 24X 7, very tip hungry housekeeping staff.
I would not recommend this property to anyone because of their unethical business practices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritz35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynde D, General Manager at Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

I appreciate your being our guest for more than one month. My apologies that our attempts to relocate you away from construction were not acceptable to you. We do not allow any construction before 8:00 a.m. and cease noise at 5:00 p.m. each week day. Your account was charged upon your departure for the remaining balance of your stay.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Staying here on business for a couple weeks. It is right on a lake or an inlet and they have their own dock. The pros would be that is in walking distance to Bahama Breeze which has live music, good food and drinks, and seems to be popular- always people there. The hotel is in the midst of renovations (loud renovations). I was in an un-renovated room which isn't awful, just a little dated. The suite is a nice size and is clean. There is a fire place and a small balcony with each room. I saw a renovated room and it is def an upgrade- large tile floors, updated appliances, walk in shower, brand new furniture. I think these rooms go for $50 more a night.
My main problem with this hotel is the lack of customer service. I am part of a large group. When we checked in, they game numerous people keys to rooms that people were already in. They also wanted to put a ridiculously large hold on our credit cards ($750) for the duration of our stay. When problems arise, friendly employees are hard to find. In our experience, they have been quite defensive and not the best problem solvers.
They do allow pets, there is a small pool, and the hotel also offers on site laundry.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are nicely updated
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Myself, husband and friends stayed at this hotel before our cruise in
Febuary of 2012
Hotel was about 20 minutes from airport and 20 minutes to cruise port
The front desk service was great, such friendly and organized staff
Rooms were great and huge, beds were comfortable.
Breakfast was great at hotel.
Bahama Breeze Resturant was great right next door to hotel
and did have to go far for great dinners
For the price you are paying, you get your money 'sworth.
The service makes up for it all....great service
Will stay there again without thinking twice.

Beatrice....Ontario , Canada

Room Tip: if you are older and cannot carry up suitcase, do not take the studio room, no elevator to go up
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beatrice230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.6 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#46 of 163 in Tampa
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#45 of 163 in Tampa
720 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa

Address: 3075 N Rocky Point Dr E, Tampa, FL 33607-5802 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel by Woodfin - Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: £74 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Suite Tampa
Tampa Chase Suite Hotel
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing