We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare on East Fowler St.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Tampa Downtown
Ranked #105 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 6 July 2007

My wife and I are regular Motel 6 customers. We've found that what most Motel 6's lack in amenities, they make up for in price and basic comforts. Since we travel to places to see the places, not stay at the motel, our view has always been that it never hurts to save a few bucks. At least that was our philosophy until this experience.

Motel 6 Tampa downtown is located just off of Rt 275. If it wasn't for the 12 hours we had just spent driving, we probably would have recognized the first hint that there might be a problem with this hotel - the huge adult shop across the street. At the same time, the parking lot had a few folks loitering in the area with shopping carts full of, what appeared to be, their belongings. As we were checking in, we also noticed a young pretty African-American girl in a very skimpy gold lamme bathing suit coming in and out of the lobby. We assumed she was coming from the pool. Exhausted from the trip, we decided things weren't that bad and continued checking in. We unloaded our belongings in the room which was smaller than usual (for a Motel 6), with no dressers for clothing. We "sucked it up," unpacked the best we could and went out to eat.

Upon returning, we got undressed, got ready for sleep and climbed into bed. My wife nearly hit the ceiling as she jumped back out of the bed, having laid in a giant soaking wet spot about two feet in diameter in the center. A sniff of the spot indicated that a previous occupant had urinated in the bed and, apparently, housekeeping had simply put new sheets on top of the spot. I marched to the office to get another room.

I discovered that after 10:00 PM, the lobby door is closed and locked, and the night clerk speaks to people from behind a window of bulletproof glass. Unfortunately, since the area just outside the glass is in an enclosed area full of noisy vending machines, communication with the clerk requires a combination of yelling, hand gestures and a bit of lip reading. I finally got the message across to the desk clerk who looked somewhat annoyed at my having interrupted him in whatever he was doing. After working on a touch screen computer for a few minutes, he finally gave me a door card for a room a few doors down from ours.

Returning to my visibly shaken wife, we quickly transferred all our belongings to the second room. This room had two beds rather than the one bed of our previous room but we figured it was late, and we could get a third room in the morning. Undressing, my wife and I prepared again for bed. My wife pulled back the sheets of her bed then paused. She then asked me what I thought the brown spot on the sheets was. A sniff revealed that the spot was a skid mark (feces, aka "poop"), and still had a bit of smell to it. It was at this point that we decided to find another place as quickly as we could and get out of this hell hole.

We jumped in the car, and drove around for a few blocks until we found and checked into a nearby Super 8 motel (on Fletcher Ave). We highly recommend this hotel. The clerk was very nice, the room was spacious, and the cost was only a few bucks more per day. We returned back to Motel 6, and unloaded the contents of our room back into the car, movie style (fast, furious, and not tidy). We pulled up to the office where we again noticed the cute little girl, still in her skimpy lamme outfit, walking around the building and loitering in the parking lot. "I think that's a working girl," my wife said. "The pool's been closed for hours and all she does is walk around the building over and over again." Looking at the girl a little more closely, I realized my wife was right.

I went back to the bulletproof window and explained to the still annoyed desk clerk that the second room was also soiled and we wanted to cancel our two week reservation and leave. While I was waiting to get my refund (my wife was waiting out in the car) the cute working girl came in to get a soda from one of the vending machines. Overhearing my complaints to the clerk she struck up a conversation with me. She was very understanding and sympathetic as she explained to me that they were usually pretty good about cleaning the sheets at the motel. She agreed that our experiences were terrible and wished me luck before heading back out to the parking lot to look for more clients. After about 15 minutes at the computer and credit card terminal, the clerk finally gave us some paperwork back, indicating our card had been charged back. He apologized for the inconvenience and we left.

Friends of ours who live in the area later told us that this hotel sits in Tampa's "sex district" and is a notorious "service center." As for our experience, the entire night was like something out of a bad movie. If there was a rating worse than "terrible" we would give this hotel that distinction in nearly every category. The exception would be in customer service, where I would award a "two." While the desk clerk was rather sour throughout our entire ordeal, the hotel hooker was very nice. The hotel should give her a raise.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank KungfuGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2007

I had always liked Motel 6 because you could count on a clean, basic room. But the whole chain's standards have been slipping, especially here. Our room was not made up when we tried to check in at 8PM, and the new room was short towels and there were not enough at the front desk. The NEXT day they took all the dirty towels and didn't replace them! The light & fan for the shower didn't work either, and the place was EXTREMELY noisy. We were on the side away from I-75, so it wasn't traffic noise, it was the obnoxious guests having parties, domestic disputes, etc. Motel 6 rates have also been creeping up to the point where you can usually find a better deal if you do a little checking.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RGC1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2006

After a long flight we checked into the room. We immediately noticed that the carpet was not vacuumed. Food crumbs and lots of stuff (dirt) behind the nightstand.

Pulling back the bedspread we were greeted with a blood stained pillowcase and dirty sheets. I put down towels to cover the sheets. The linens were very dirty. I really don't think the housekeeping staff changed the linens. Clean linens don't look like what we had to sleep on.

I was appalled by the room. This is absolutely the worst place I have ever had to sleep.

Lots of noise outside kept us awake for a long time.

I almost threw up having to stay at this motel.

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mimiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We booked this motel on-line for location (about 3 miles from Busch Gardens) and because it was very reasonably priced. We have stayed in large chain motels in the USA before so we knew what to expect - basic but clean accomodation for a reasonable price. This is NOT what we got at this motel.

The room ( Room 106) was dirty - carpets were filthy, the sheets were not clean, there were no towels, the room was damp. The bathroom was filthy, the bath contained pubic hairs from previous guests and the toilet had obviously not been properly cleaned in a long time. There was no hot water through the shower, despite there being hot water from the tap in the room.

The location as has been mentioned in previous reviews was extremely intimidating. We slept very little as we were aware of the constant noise from the comings and goings of other "guests" which continued the ENTIRE night. This motel appears to be in a rougher part of town and as has been mentioned is situated directly opposite the largest porn store in the western hemisphere. With hindsight we should have immediately left but we thought we could put up with anything for a night. We were wrong!! I will never stay in a Motel 6 again and would strongly recommend that you do not stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craigyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

I booked in this hotel by mistake.

Firstly, they had not cleaned my assigned room when I got there and put me in another room. The room had no lights on one side of the room and the wall lights on the other side were directly wired to the ceiling light. The carpet had peeled away from the wall revealing a crumbling foundation. The air conditioner worked but apparently had a bad bearing as it squeaked and squawked all night.

There were hookers and drug dealers working the Labor Day weekend here. "Customers" arrived constantly in the parking spots outside my room all night, some of the courteous enough to blow off a brick of firecrackers from their subwoofered stereo car, which shook the walls with the bass. Somehow despite this I managed to sleep that night.

I leave for the day and come back that night to find that housekeeping had taken our bath towels and left no new ones. They made the bed but left the comforter wadded up. I go to the front desk to get more towels and was handed three bath rugs instead of towels and got an eye-rolling attitude from the clerk.

I will shave off all my skin and stretch it into a tent and sleep there before I ever consider staying at this motel, or any Motel 6 again. I have been a travelling musician for 20+ years and seen a lot of hotel rooms in my time. This one is the worst hotel in the history of lodging.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gdawson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

Just returned from a week at this motel. I normally stay at Motel 6 when it's my dime. This was for a business trip. The room was normal Motel 6 standards (towels changed daily, sheets changed weekly and bring your own soap and shampoo!). However as mentioned before this motel sits right across from "adult" book store.

(--)

In fact on the last day some peddler tried to sell me a porn video on my way out. Was very noisy from traffic on I-275 (room 117) and kids running around. The desk clerks were less then friendly or even helpful so for these reasons I would avoid. There is another Motel 6 down on U.S. 301 and although I didn't stay there if there is a next time I will.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_P_Inscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
naples
12
Reviewed 21 May 2006

I just want to say that this motel was not my first choice, my boyfriend made us stay there. Great choice! Every thing has to be spotless at my house ,so you know my standerd was high. i couldnt find nothing to [--] about. the room were beautiful. the housekeeper does a great job . i love that motel and will not stay any where else. great price ,great room, and very close to bush garden and that all i care about.the best

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
West Wing Boutique Hotel
9.4 mi away
Sailport Waterfront Suites
8.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Tampa Downtown

Address: 333 E Fowler Ave, I-275 at Exit #34, Tampa, FL 33612-5231
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: £29 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Tampa Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Motel 6
Tampa Motel Six
Motel Six Tampa
Motel 6 Tampa Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing