We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Property...classic Westin”
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“New Property...classic Westin”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is a nice new property, near the airport and on one of the MANY causeways on the way to get to Clearwater. The hotel itself is a bit small (the lobby seems a bit cramped), there is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool. There is a "beach" area but it is man made and not really a beach. Parking is a bit of a disaster, we ended up valeting to avoid the search. The restaurant attached to the hotel was nicely decorated in the Westin Modern style. Food was good, not amazing. There is a patio area with outdoor seating for dining as well. The rooms are pretty standard size, the bathroom is HUGE and really quite above average for a hotel like this. Double sink vanity, Seperate tub and shower, lots of space for multiple people to be in there at the same time. The room has flat screen tvs with the fantastic Westin beds. Very comfortable as always. The staff seemed adequate, if not a bit cold. Overall this is one of the newer hotels in the area near the airport and mall and probably the best hotel in that immediate area, but I would find it hard to classify this as a resort due to the lack of amenities.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ufrc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    219
    80
    38
    44
See reviews for
156
174
43
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

It's a newer hotel with nice rooms and modern bathrooms. Close to freeway but quiet rooms. Definitely a favorite for business travel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jal1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed here for business in April and loved it (again). This hotel gets top marks for service, accommodations, cleanliness, and room service. The view of the bay is a real plus, as is the proximity to TPA. Will always make this hotel my first choice when I travel to the Tampa/St. Pete area. Great job, Westin!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thank you very much for your kind remarks and we are very happy that our team was able to provide you with service that was personal and instinctive. I wish that we could take credit for for the great views of the bay, but you are correct in that the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff do also contribute to a memorable stay.
We look forward to your next visit with us and please do not hesitate to let us know how we can be of assistance.
Warm Regards,
Ron Alicandro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We booked a week at the Westin Tampa Bay so we could explore Tampa and surrounding areas to gather information on relocating. This is a business hotel, not a place to stay for pleasure. That being said, we were very pleased with the rooms, the helpfulness of the staff, and particularly the hotel restaurant, Aqua. There were several evenings when we chose to return to the hotel for dinner rather than have dinner out as the food was consistently delicious, and dining on the patio was pleasant and more intimate than most restaurants. The scallops were some of the best I've had!

Housekeeping was reliable, and seemed to always arrive late morning after we'd left for the day; a nice change from the 8:00 knock on the door which isn't uncommon these days. My only complaint was that when requesting our car one morning, we found that the valet had mistakenly given our car to another guest, who had returned the car to the rental agency at the airport. Cue the lengthy phone calls, waiting around in front of the hotel while the vehicle was located and the rental agency decided what to do. We were eventually given the other guest's rental car once approved by her rental agency, filthy inside. This took a chunk out of our day and we were unable to visit all destinations planned for that day. No attempt to address this nor apology was made by management to my knowledge.

Fitness center was nicely equipped, headphones provided for guests which could be discarded after use. Nice, new equipment. The Starbucks in the hotel was put to good use, with a patio overlooking the "beach" (a strip of sand next to the highway), but with nice landscaping and always a pleasant breeze coming off the bay. Overall we were pleased with this hotel and would recommend it for any business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Hello and thank you for staying with us and for the taking the time to write such a detailed and mostly positive review. I would like to truly apologize for the confusion with your rental car when you valet parked it and for not following up with you personally. I realize that our Valet Manager made you aware of the circumstances and thank you for being so understanding.
I am happy to hear that your overall experience was very positive and that you enjoyed dining in Aqua and utilizing our Westin Workout facility. I hope that your stay with us has helped to encourage you to relocate to Tampa and if we can ever be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,
Ron Alicandro, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I don't even know where to begin. I am not easily impressed and am a fairly "high maintenance" customer, but I was blown away by the level of service and the quality of this hotel. My family planned a surprise birthday party for my mom. We had the event in the Caribbean Room and Garden Terrace and we also had a block of rooms. Everything about our stay was truly spectacular.

The hotel rooms have beautiful views and very nice and VERY clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. One employee saw my husband come in from a run and brought him water and a towel! Unfortunately, we did not have time to check out any of the amenities such as the pool or beach, but I can't imagine they would not have also been excellent.

Now on to the birthday event we held at the Westin. I cannot thank the hotel catering and event planning staff enough for making the party such a special occasion for my mom. Every little detail was perfect, every request was taken care of with a smile, the food was absolutely delicious. The Caribbean Room is a great party space and it adjoins a private terrace on the 7th floor. The terrace space was excellent with great views and a magnificent sunset.

The staff set up the room, and at our request allowed us to come in to add some of our own decorations. Soon after arriving, Juli Norberg and Jennifer Nagy came to check on us and stayed to help us decorate. They even brought in two additional staff members to help!! And from that moment on, the service was above and beyond anything expected. Juli even helped us carryout the surprise for my mom. My mom was truly surprised and we could not have pulled it off without Juli's help. Everything was just perfect and better than we could have ever expected.

Juli, you are truly a "fairy godmother!" We want to thank you and the staff so much for everything. I am still in awe about how great it all was!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelapjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2011

My wife and I decided to spend our anniversary in tampa (which is starting to grow on us compared to miami) and because of the positive reviews online we decided to make the westin tampa our place of choice and we were not dissapointed. Everything exceded our expectations and more. The staff was very polite and helpful, the rooms although not to big was very couzy and clean. The gym was kind of small but it still managed to have enough for us not to feel guilty for eating so good and the indoor pool was definately convinient considering we just came back from jet skiing and the sun was very hot, the water was just the right temp and we didn't have to worry about getting any more sun burn. Haveing a starbucks down stairs was definately a major bonus and jet ski rentals on our very own beach were very convinient and affordable. The westin has definately leave long lasting impression on us and we'll definately be back.


From: Neville & Emily Andersob

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Najety21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This Westin is awesome! Service and cleanliness are obviously the managements highest priority. Our room had a beautiful panoramic view of the bay and we had an amazing, unobstructed view of the sun setting every evening. The room itself is spacious with a gorgeous bathroom. The restaurant downstairs, called Aqua is a feast for all of your senses. The decor is beautiful with a "raining wall" of wine and soft ambient lighting that subtly changes every couple of minutes or so. There was fantastic live jazz music both Thursday and Friday night that was just right. We ate at Aqua once for lunch and twice for dinner and the food was exquisite, I mean superb on all three occasions. The food is plated beautifully and the flavors are amazing. The brie, honeycomb, and heirloom tomato melt at lunch and the lobster bisque(with huge chunks of lobster) and the crab stuffed flounder were major highlights, but as I said everything was exquisite. The staff were all gracious and professional, especially Nicky in the bar, Tiffany in the dining room, Brandy, Lauren, and Manual at the front desk and Tyrone at the valet; they really went above and beyond. This was our first visit to this Westin, it will be far from our last.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
6.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 163 in Tampa
416 reviews
5.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Property: Westin Tampa Bay
Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607-1431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Westin Tampa Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing