We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, great food”
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
Ranked #46 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed overnight in November. Cleanest hotel bathroom I have seen in a while, other Starwood properties should take note. Excellent service in Aqua, had high quality food for supper and breakfast. Westin workout room was empty and clean, had the place to myself at 9am. Easy to find from the airport. Overall an excellent impression and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear lizaroo,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit. We strive to be able to provide an enjoyable "total experience" and it seems as though we accomplished that. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Friendly, efficient staff. Great location just minutes from the airport and International Plaza Mall. Our room was 14th floor with Bay view and it was awesome! Huge bathroom, super comfy bed. (As always at a Westin.) They offer to "go green" and not have your room cleaned by putting up the door hanger in exchange for a $5 voucher per day to spend at Starbucks or toward Starwood points. There was a little misunderstanding as we pulled the hanger after day two and didn't get our room clean. They were extremely apologetic, but apparently once you put the hanger out, you are green for your stay. They will still give you extra towels, soaps, coffee, etc. Just have to ask. The free shuttle is awesome! Will take you to the mall, airport, or anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Great drivers every time! We had breakfast both by menu during the week and buffet on weekend and found both very good. My favorite part of the hotel is their signature scent as you walk through the hotel. I love the White Tea fragrance. It's very calming and makes me feel I'm in a spa. We did not use the gym or indoor pool, but both looked great. There is a little white sand beach out front with several lounge chairs to soak up a little sun. It's right next to the causeway, so traffic is somewhat loud, but you sure don't hear it in your room! Very quiet. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: High floor, bay side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear hlh4shots,

Thank you very much for your detailed and very kind review regarding your recent stay. We are all extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and grateful that you took the time to share your thoughts. I also agree that the Westin White Tea scent is very soothing and does make you feel as though you are in a Spa. Coincidentally, Westin is now having their online semi-annual 30% off sale on all Heavenly and White Tea items. Just go to the Wesitn site and then to Westin Store.

Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This property is new, located in a nice place, and has one of the best F&B/ room service offerings of any SPG hotel in Florida (in my opinion). That said, this hotel is not managed well. They really seem just to be out to protect ratings, not to exceed guest expectations. Loud housekeepers shout to wake you up in the morning, F&B staff are poorly trained and will repeat "need anything else" over and over again - even if it's the 12th time and they can see you are chewing or ask while you are swallowing. The whole thing just comes across as insincere and motivated by getting high scores on review sites rather than delivering warm hospitality. I am deeply disappointed in the service of this property - particularly from the top management who seem to retaliate against negative criticism.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TastefulTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Tasteful Trekker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us, and for being a loyal SPG member. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Food and Beverage offerings and will make every effort to ensure all members of our team are aware of the opportunity to improve in the other areas that you have mentioned. Since reviews are written anonymously we don’t understand the reference of retaliation to negative criticism, however we do feel that criticism is an opportunity to improve, which is always our goal.

Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stopped here for a night and got a nice upgrade to a one bedroom suite which was really sweet. The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was huge and the bar was jumping. With one appetizer and one entree each, lunch was approaching the 3 digit mark but, sometimes, you get what you pay for.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Stan P,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to make us aware of some of the speciic aspects of your stay. We also appreciate your loyalty and look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the near future.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights before the Thanksgiving holiday on business

Staff were all very friendly, helpful, and courteous. The room was well-appointed and the gym was very functional and relatively big.

My only caveat is the lack of a buffet breakfast. I normally hit the buffet because room service, generally by its nature, is never warm and timing is always a question mark anywhere. So I headed down to Aqua expecting the typical buffet -- but no buffet during the week! Weird. The room was also very busy -- seemingly everyone wanted to eat at this time and the hostess couldn't keep up and people were seating themselves (Although her three-inch heels didn't help). Apparently the kitchen also couldn't keep up as it took 20+ minutes for my simple egg order to arrive. I spoke with the manager and he said it's normally never this busy and I suggested that's why hotels do the buffet as they cannot fully anticipate timing and demand for breakfast by travelers. Okay, so I'm a consultant and had to add my two cents. But seriously -- re-think this. I don't want to spend thirty minutes every morning in your restaurant because you're not running an optimized operation. Oh and please have teapots for tea -- those cups are too small for your waiters to be constantly asking me if I want more hot water.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear jj427,

Thank you for taking the time to share your very objective comments with us. We certainly value your input and steps are already in place to put some of your suggestions in place. Your comments on room service are spot on with all hotels, but we try our best to get the items to the room as promptly and as hot as possible. Thank you again for your input and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Stay well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just stayed for three nights over the weekend.

They recognized my SPG status at check-in and gave me a room overlooking the bay. Hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean and seem fairly new. Great bed, huge bathroom with a great shower.

Everyone seemed friendly. Parking was free and easy.

And the Starbucks in the lobby is a real Starbucks - not like some hotels that just use Starbucks coffee.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Neil S,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Bay for your recent 3 night stay and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Your kind words and 5 out of 5 rating have not gone unnoticed and they have been shared with our entire team. On behalf of all of our Associates, I would like to thank you for taking the time share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I spent the night here in November 2013 - I had a very early flight out of TPA the next morning and I wanted to be close to the airport.

Pros:
Close to the airport
Very classy hotel (nice modern decor)
Very close to Bahama Breeze, Whiskey Joe's
Has it's own (tiny) private beach on an inlet
NIce restaurant / Bar area
Very nice rooms with the Westin Heavenly beds
Free parking option

Cons:
Restaurant / Bar food is pricey
Not very much withing walking distance of the hotel

Overall I was very impressed with this hotel. I used a suite night award and was upgraded to an 850 sq ft suite. It was a very nice room with great views, kitchenette, and a very nice bathroom. I would definitely stay here again. You will need a car to get around during the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadmzimmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Chadmzimmerman,

Thank you for the time you took to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay. Your comments and 5/5 rating are both very much appreciated and we are very happy to hear that you intend to return. Please keep in mind that we do have a complimentary courtesy shuttle that will take you to both of the two major malls as well as to any of the countless retaurants which are all within 2-3 miles of the Westin. Please fell free to utilize this convenient service and there is no need to rent a car.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
7.1 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
6.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 164 in Tampa
474 reviews
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
6.7 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#13 of 164 in Tampa
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £152 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Westin Tampa Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing