We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
Ranked #47 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great for traveling, located 2 miles from the TIA. Very clean, a little pricey but very nice. The Food and Beverage was excellent. If you wish to travel to Disneyworld, it is only a 1 hour drive. It is also located just a couple of miles from Raymond James stadium. THere are many good sites to visit while in Tampa. There are excellent restaurants located within 6 miles from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello Jim S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant experience while staying with us and for describing our convenient location to several exciting arttractions. In addition to Disney and countless restaurants, we are also only 20 minutes from Busch Gardens, 30 minutes from the Clearwater Beaches and within 3 miles of two fabulous malls which include too many name brand stores to mention. We look forawrd to your next visit and hope that until then you will
Stay well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

1) the double rooms have twin beds which a couple cannot sleep in
2) room air conditioning units don't appear to ever run
3) the bed are not heavenly they are rock hard.
4) pillows are the same

Westin has really gone downhill the last few years.
I have over 400 stays at Starwood hotels this is such a cookie cutter version. Stay elsewhere in Tampa.

Stayed: January 2014
6  Thank mike1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hello Mike 1742,
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your recent visit. I would like to apologize for our shortcomings and can assure you that we strive to deliver a level of service that is consistently personal and instinctive. Your loyalty is very much appreciated and hopefully your stay with us will not tarnish your otherwise favorable opinion of our brand.

Stay well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel after a cruise. It was very easy to find. The reception area is very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. Self park for the car is free and there wasn't any space issues. The room on the 12th floor had fabulous views over the bay area. Had 2 queen size beds and a large bathroom with separate bath and shower. The shower was fantastic, I could've stayed in there for hours. The is a fridge with a mini bar (chargeable) and a safe that is free to use.

We had an evening meal in the Bahama Breeze restaurant a short walk from the hotel. This was very nice and I would recommend this as a place to eat especially the ribs.

We had breakfast at the hotel and this was very good and not overly expensive.

Checkout was quick and easy.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Definately

Would I stay here again? Yes

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taffydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hello TaffyDi,
We are all truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your post cruise stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and please know that your comments have been shared with our entire Team. Your kind words and perfect 5/5 rating provide a great boost of motivation as i am certain you can imagine. We all look forward to having another chance to serving you in the very near future!!

Stay well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Tampa Bay and enjoyed the property. The building is relatively new and the room (we stayed in a suite) we stayed in was very nice. The resturant on the first floor was open/airy and it offered a big buffet. The concierce lounge was just OK, but it was free if you have access. The staff where nice but not very well trained. I would stay her again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquelineSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Good Day,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit with us. We read every single review and survey received and truly value the comments and feedback given. We also take all comments, positive or negative, very seriously and look at it as a way to continue to grow and improve. We are happy to know that you consider the Westin Tampa Bay as a "Good Choice in Tampa" and we hope that you return soon.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The biggest disappointment was the indoor pool. The water was heated but there was no shallow end for small kids and the room reaked of chlorine. When we saw how pet friendly the hotel was we assumed It would be kid friendly as well but I was wrong. The room service staff was wonderful, quick and personable. The room was nice but very basic. The staff were all very helpful and smiling.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clw2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear clw2001,
Happy New Year!! i wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, but disappointed to hear that there were certain aspects that you did not overwhelm you. There are certain times of the year when the indoor pool comes in handy and guests really enjoy it. This past week was a perfect example as temps went into the 30's. The ideal situation would be to have one of each and we hope to achieve that some day. Despite the indoor pool, i hope that you might give us another opportunity and possibly enjoy a ride on the Jet Skies or one of the boats that we have for rent on our private beach.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

the Westin Tampa Bay was very nice, the front desk Staff & the restraunt Staff were all 5 Stars, it was a very nice place to stay, the restraunt Manager Glen was very Accomodating, the wait staff was also outstanding all 5 Stars ! the location is great its close to the airport the malls, shopping centers etc, and the room views make it that much better, Outstanding ! ! !

if your in Tampa you must give the Westin Tampa Bay a try !

Sgt Eddie DeLuca

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHitManMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Sgt. DeLuca,
Thank you very much for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience. It is always a great feeling to know that we were successful in making someones stay a perfect 5 out of five. However, your very kind words also mean a great deal to the entire team and provide that additional drive and motivation to do it even better next time. Thank you again Sir, and we hope to see you again soon.
Stay well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Took my wife and one of our sons down for a buccaneers game and we stayed here. It is close to the airport, the stadium and clearwater beach is just a twenty to thirty minute drive. The rooms were very clean the staff was pleasant and helpful and breakfast at their restraunt/lounge aqua was excellent. Would recommend and will stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Krism02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Krism02,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us and for your very gracious 5 out 5 rating. Your comments have been shared wit the entire team and they too are very appreciative. Comments such as yours are very motivating, as I am sure you can imagine, and so is the fact that we succeeded in providing you and your family with service that was instinctive and personal.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
7.1 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
6.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 164 in Tampa
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
7 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £106 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Westin Tampa Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing