We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is an embarressment to the Westin brand.”
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“This hotel is an embarressment to the Westin brand.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is one of the hotels located near the Laser Spine Institute. The budget choices are the Hilton Double Tree and Sailport Suites. The more upscale choices are the Tampa Bay Westin and Grand Hyatt. These latter two are similarly priced but never, ever consider the Westin. It is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The Grand Hyatt (which we moved to, is one of the best). Some of our problems at the Westin

-Internet service, for which they charge a fee, does not work. We had to ask for help every day of our stay. At the end, when we talked to their provider, the problem was clear. The hotel refused to pay for sufficient band width to handle the hotels level of traffic.

-The Restaurant was a jock. See separate review of Aqua.

-Room service does not have heated carts. After surgery I had to use room service. Eventually, I just stopped ordering anything that was supposed to be hot - At best, it would arrive at room temperature.

-Typically in the evenings, there was no hot water

-We had to dispute our bill every day. We had two computers and, despite their policy of allowing 3 devices per charge, we were repeatedly billed every time we connected a device. Similarly, we informed both the front desk and the doorman that we were returning our rental car. Parking charges continued to be added to the bill.

-After surgery, there were only certain times of the day when housekeeping could be arranged. The hotel never managed to get this right.

This hotel has some concerned employees who make a sincere effort to provide good service. However, I do not believe we have ever encountered a hotel that was so incompetently managed.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank byrddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Byrddawg,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the numerous problems which you encountered during your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire Staff and Management team, I would like to sincerely apologize and assure you that the quality of service that you received is by no means typical of the level that we work very hard to achieve every day. I will not insult you by providing explanations or making excuses, but only reassure you that your comments have been taken constructively and they will help us to continue to improve. Hopefully, you will consider giving us another opportunity to show you that our guest is our number one priority.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    220
    80
    37
    45
See reviews for
157
177
43
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Nice hotel located near the airport. Nothing nearby but there is a shuttle. Nice rooms though average size. Reasonable breakfast. Internet charged separately and is very slow. Not good. Nice staff and nice cardio machines.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello Stokels,

Your comments are very much appreciated and your kind words have been shared with the rest of our team. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient and hope that you will have a chance to visit us again in the near future.We are trying to improve the speed of our WiFi but the problem appears to be an excessive amount of video/movie streaming and gaming which is using up too much bandwidth. However, we have found a solution and will be correcting it soon.
Regards,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful and attentive. The room was great. Unfortunately, they were having hot water problems during my stay. There was only luke warm water and the hotel could only tell me that they were working on it. I was very disappointed as I really wanted a hot shower before I started the next leg of my business trip.

The hotel is very close to the Tampa airpot and a great mall with a lot of great restaurants. It is a great property.

I am rating as a bad value because I paid the equivalent of two nights at another hotel and I did not have hot water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJR3Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear MJR3Baltimore,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and I would like to apologize for the problem that you had with hot water. We realize that a comfortable shower is a very important part of your overall stay, however the situation that occurred was completely unavoidable and we called an emergence crew in immediately and they had it corrected within the hour. Regardless, a few guestrooms were effected and sadly yours was one of them. I am sorry for your incovenience and can assure you that this was an isolated incident. Hopefully you will give us another chance and please feel free to contact me directly to set up your reservations.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

First time staying at this hotel. Need to first say that I stayed using Starwood points; so it was free...usually you can't beat free. First the good; this hotel is out in the bay...so water views (assuming you have a view - more about that below) on all sides. There's a Starbucks off the lobby and the hotel has a nice Bar as well. The rooms are Westin nice...although my wife complained that the bed was too hard to be called a "Westin Heavenly Bed". The room itself was standard, clean, nice TV, etc.. Near the elevator - but still quiet. The one thing....and the main reason for the 3 (versus a 4) rating was the "window/view" in the room (room 812 - see the attached picture). One of the smallest windows I've ever seen in a hotel room - and I travel all the time for work. Ironically....I guess that's the word...the hotel has a curtain covering all of the blank wall....when we first walked into the room, I actually thought the window was much larger and just covered by the curtain....which, I guess is the idea. What a shame, given the potential views of the ocean/city. I probably shouldn't complain...at least there was a window and, since we were on the 8th floor - there was no view of a dumpster. Plus, I did mention it was free.

Room Tip: Don't get excited when you get a room on the 8th floor...it's essentially the floor above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I stopped for the night on our way overseas. We arrived late and got the free shuttle to the hotel at 11:00 pm. The front desk was super helpful, room service was available and friendly, the beds were comfy ( as usual). I had a few quibbles in the morning with the restaurant hostess who insisted I couldn't order breakfast but had to eat their (2 star) breakfast buffet. But when I went to the front desk asking for a restaurant recommendation for breakfast, the front desk person marched back to the restaurant and arranged to get me fabulous service AND a fabulous meal. She made my morning and I was thrilled at the outcome. The concierge also printed all my boarding passes without a fuss and we hopped the free shuttle back to the airport.

Altogether an pleasant and uneventfully stay, the way it should be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT overlook the noisy causeway if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyfeet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First class service right from the beginning. I hadn't been in Tampa in awhile and the Front Desk person was very helpful in recommending a local restaurant. Immediately surprised at the reasonable parking rate of only $5. I had just paid $25 at another hotel in Orlando. The room was fine. The bed was great. I had a drink outside the bar overlooking the water. Really nice.
Worked out in the gym in the morning. While not fancy it was fine. (Only downside no free weights.) Went to their in-house Starbucks before leaving. Again, good service. I definitely will be staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kissimmee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

If you are planning on booking a stay at this hotel DO NOT book through there site, they are a complete rip off.
First of all I went to there site, put in the information (dates,how many adults/kids) it directs you to a page for booking, the first result was fine 2 double beds, so continued to book and booking was made. The next morning not even 12 hours later my son falls ill, I call them immediately and ask if i can change the date, I was told no as this rate is a fixed rate and non refundable - the person on the phone told me A Special rate, this is not correct i am a FL resident and that rate is $ 20 less and you can change/cancel at any time without any penalty. Since our stay was not for another 3 days I thought we may be able to go if my son gets better but no my other two children and husband got sick.. I gave them notice and begged and pleaded even to just change the date the answer is no, funny I received an email stating that the website is confusing and it lists the non refundable one first, why would I want that first I would rather pay more and be able to cancel/change than to pay less and something happens where me and my family are not able to go. This Place is A BIG BIG rip off, it is so unethical that they can do this I will NEVER book a stay, I understand they may of held the room, but I called no more than 12 hours just to change it, so now they are up $200.00 its robbery.. go stay somewhere else because god forbid you or a family member falls ill they will just pocket the money... SCAMMERS

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KLW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.1 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
430 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
5.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Property: Westin Tampa Bay
Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607-1431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#26 Business Hotel in Tampa
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Westin Tampa Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing