We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good enough!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
“Not good enough!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight, before driving south in Florida, and sadly found it to be the worst Crowne Plaza we've ever stayed in, and we've stayed in a few around the world!
Our first impressions weren't good when the courtesy bus didn't arrive at the airport, despite us being told it "was on its way and will be there in a few minutes"! We waited for nearly 45 minutes and as no-one answered our calls to the hotel, we took a taxi. Not good enough and 15 USD poorer!
Check-in was fine and when I complained about no courtesy coach I was told "well they often fill up at the other terminals and head back", but as an IHG member I was offered a "queen size room and a couple of complimentary drinks" in their restaurant, Mojitos.
We decided to eat there, as it was getting late and we had no reservations to eat elsewhere and had an early start to pick up our car. What a mistake!
Mojitos probably has to be the most average "diner" one could imagine! Not the sort of restaurant one expects from a Crowne Plaza!
Below average, lukewarm, food and mediocre service! Not good enough!
To be fair our room was large, spotless, and the bed very comfortable but the bathroom was on the small side and the noise when you flushed the toilet was like the Ride of the Valkyries!!
Breakfast the next morning was a below average, again lukewarm, buffet with disinterested service! Not good enough!
To cap it all off, on check-out, we were then charged for our room again, despite already having paid for it through our travel agent! Not good enough!
All in all, a not good enough Crowne Plaza that's letting the brand and IHG down!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear John D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    275
    103
    53
    20
See reviews for
137
200
71
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a nice stay for one week at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore.

The hotel is in a very convenient location - close to the airport, a mall and the major highways. We found our room and the hotel to be very clean, recently updated, and comfortable.

We had a a couple of issues with the housekeeping - one day our room was cleaned, but we were left with no towels. Another day, for some reason, we had no housekeeping at all. In both instances, the front desk was very apologetic and resolved the situation quickly, which really showed that they cared. I would definetly stay here again if in Tampa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTW5303, Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore! We are very happy that you chose to make us your home for a week and that you enjoyed the location of our property. We do apologize for the inconsistencies you experienced with housekeeping but we are super happy to hear that the front desk immediately assisted you with your needs! Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay in Tampa!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Sales Coordinator
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was decent for someone interested in a place between Tampa and St Pete/Clearwater.

Check in and check out were a breeze.

The only two things that I didn't like were:
Parking: Since it gets really crowed and noisy on a Saturday night due to Mojito which is the nightclub in the first floor.
Bathroom: The open concept design has the lavatory outside where the toilet and shower are.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torontotraveler1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTW5303, Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room as well the location of the hotel. We are also glad that you felt the check in and check out process was smooth! Thank you for your observations in regards to the bathroom layout and parking lot - we openly welcome feedback from the guests' perspective as it is key in helping our hotel succeed!

Sincerely,

Tiffnay Steele
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Crowne Plaza standards at its best: comfortable bed, attentive service and delicious breakfast. Very good location and facilities. Affordable choice while in Tampa, especially if you are on a business trip. Not a family hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rubba777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTW5303, Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you thought our hotel represented Crowne Plaza standards at its best exemplifying comfort, attentive service, delicious breakfast and good facilities! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next business trip!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms here for 5 ppl, 3 days for Xmas. Overall this is a good, economic, and centrally located hotel. Older building remodeled fairly recently with modern decor. For the most part it was a very satisfying stay, the staff was fantastic (they upgraded us to 2 Suites next to each other), the rooms were comfortable, the breakfast buffet was pretty good.. Due to the weather being cooler we did not use the pool but it looked very nice and clean (pool is huge!). The fitness center is a converted guest room with some of the equipment in the back 'bedroom'.. I imagine some ladies may not be comfortable going back there alone as it is very obscured from view. The equipment seemed newer and well kept.

There were little details that kept this hotel from getting a better rating; a wash towel with a yellow stain, one of the extra blankets had a stain on it, some spots of mildew in the shower, some of the bread items on the breakfast buffet had been left out too long, one of the rooms had a noisy A/C unit.. It wasn't enough to turn us off, and if we need a room in the Tampa area we would definitely consider this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTW5303, Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with comments regarding your recent stay with us! We are very thankful that you chose to spend the Christmas holiday with us and so very happy that our staff was able to provide you with excellent customer service. We are deeply concerned about the other issues that you encountered and want to ensure you that we will make note with the staff surrounding those issues. We hope that you come visit us again sooner than later so that we can show you what we really have to offer! Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I enjoyed a two night stay at this hotel. I was travelling with a friend that was playing in a fraternity golf tournament. I arrived at the hotel before my friend checked in. The front desk clerk stored my suitcase for me while I had a snack and drinks in the Mojitos Bar. Fortunately for me, it was happy hour so I was able to enjoy $5 glasses of house wine and appetizers! Our room was a Cabana Suite, which was a great size and very clean upon arrival. We had everything that we needed in the room including two large TVs, fridge, microwave, and wet bar. The shower was huge! My only complaints about the room are that the bathroom faucet was broken upon arrival. To me, that's something that housekeeping should have noticed prior. I called maintenance the next morning and it was promptly fixed. Also, the kleenex and toilet paper were not replenished in the bathroom on our second day. That's a minor oversight by housekeeping, but nonetheless, should not have happened. My friend's fraternity had several events at the hotel. Everything seemed to be very organized and well done. All of the hotel staff that I encountered were very friendly and professional. The hotel is in close proximity to two shopping areas, which I visited both in the same day. I did the hotel shuttle going back to the airport. Please take advantage of the shuttle. I did not on my arrival, and the cab ride was $15 for a 5 minute trip. They have a $15 minimum, no matter how close your hotel is to the airport. Overall, this hotel stay was quite pleasant and I would definitely return next time I have the pleasure of visiting Tampa!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momartin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTW5303, Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled that our hotel was able to host you and your friends for such a fun occasion! It seems as if you were able to experience many of the extra's that our hotel and the surrounding area has to offer and we are so glad that you did! We have also taken note of your observations regarding housekeeping and will make sure that we address them with appropriate staff. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to you and your friends next venture!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Upon arrival the check in was smooth and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was absolutely great and comfortable. Had lunch at Mojitos which was a great experience. I had no idea that this hotel was there and later found out that it was recently renovated. I must say that I believe it is a hidden gem in Tampa and I look forward to returnng to be able to take advantage of the property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTW5303, Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so very humbled that you consider the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore a hidden gem of Tampa Bay. We thank you so much for all of your kind comments but in the end we are just so very happy that we were able to provide you with a great stay! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.5 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Property: Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Address: 5303 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing