We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hotel Near Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Convenient Hotel Near Airport”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here while making an overnight connection thru Tampa. The room was excellent. Spacious and clean with living room including sofabed and separate bedroom with 2 queen beds which comfortably slept our family of 5. While close to the airport, far enough away so no plane noise. Front desk very helpful especially when we arrived late at night. Some annoyance waiting for the shuttle to take us to the airport in the morning but not entirely the hotel's fault as they contract with a local shuttle service, A1 Express.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domer90mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Domer90mom,

We are located to the airport and yes FREE shuttle to and from. Thank you for being our guest!

Patsy Pagan
General Manager
patsy.pagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    219
    98
    42
    22
See reviews for
369
186
41
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good hotel for the price...the room was very large and spacious. Location is great since it is close to good restaurants and near the airport. Noise from planes is not an issue. Breakfast was included and it was better than continental

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jose Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Jose Antonio M,

You are so correct. We are directly across from the airport but you can not hear a thing! Thank you so much and we wait for your return.

Patsy Pagan
General Manager
patsy.pagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stay at this hotel several times a year on business trips and have always been extremely pleased with the facilities and service. The one thing that distinguishes this hotel from so many others is its staff. They are truly welcoming and pleasant which is what keeps me going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Virginia B,

I really enjoyed reading your comments! This time has PRIDE and we love to serve others. It is our vision statement.

To be a company that promotes an environment for the ministry of serving others, McKibbon Hotel Management. I have served them for over 15 years and proud to be part of a great company.

Thank you again!

Patsy Pagan
General Manager
patsy.pagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west allis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great place to stay while in Tampa! accommodations are clean, the employees are very friendly. It feels very "homey" staying there. We did not use the airport shuttle service this year but last year we stayed for a few days prior to going on a Carnival cruise. They took care of getting us to port on time however, the van had a very bad odor and carbon monoxide smell. We were a little nauseous after we left. Other than that.... this is great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Timothy E,

Homey is a great way to describe our hotel. We like to say, home away from home. Thank you so much and we will see you soon.

At your service,
Patsy Pagan
patsy.pagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for one night prior to an early flight. Location in proximity to the airport is excellent. It's kind of in the middle of nowhere, so you need a car to get anywhere.
We stay at Homewood Suites often and we like the brand and the extras that go along with staying there. That being said, this particular Homewood Suites appears to be relatively new, yet in our room was showing wear and tear already so it makes me wonder about maintenance and housekeeping.
One of the two light bulbs in the bathroom vanity were burned out, the laminate on the top of a night stand was peeling off, there were scrapes on the wall, and splatters of some kind on the base cabinets in the bathroom. The clock radio was unplugged and the calendar showing the menu for the nightly receptions was from February (we were there on March 30).

To me it is the attention to detail that separates an average hotel from a good one, and while I think that Homewood Suites are usually outstanding, this one was merely average plus.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are farther away from the airport runways
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Paul C,

Thank you for sharing you comments about your stay. I will ensure to get the room you stayed in touch up for our next guest. Thank you for letting us know and we hope you can give us another try.

At your service,

Patsy Pagan
patsy.pagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After being squeezed in a small hotel room for 3 days, it was nice to spend the last half of our trip in the "suites". However, it was almost a comedy of errors staying there. When we arrived to check in, our room was not ready. We were told to come back an hour later. We came back almost 3 hours later and the Asst. Mgr started to check us in. She then realized that we had requested a feather-free room and told us we would have to wait again because she did not believe our room was "feather free". After roughly 20 minutes while they switched the bedding, we were allowed to go up, but informed us that housekeeping found a "beeping" noise in our room from the A/C. She stated maintenance would be right up. She promised we would receive a $X reduction in our nightly rate to compensate for these errors. We waited nearly 2 more hours for maintenance to show up and decided to leave for dinner. While leaving we mentioned they still had not been up and she called them once again.
The next day, we were gone from 8a-5p. When we came back, our room had not been attended to. We needed new towels desperately as there was only 3 towels for a family of 4. My husband went down to the desk and was told that they only had washcloths. He spoke to a member of housekeeping in the hallway and she said she didn't have any. He talked to an additional housekeeper who asked our room number and stated that she was heading right in our room. Since we assumed that our room was being cleaned, we went down to the pool area. The pool itself was fine (although my son stepped on a rusty metal wire IN the pool), but all of the seating was full of mold and pollen. The patio furniture could use a good cleaning w/ bleach! We headed back up to the room an hour later to find out that our room had NOT been cleaned, but that 4 towels were placed on the kitchen table. Note that there was a large bag of overflowing garbage that was next to the table that was not removed. We left for dinner and asked the staff if the rooms do not get cleaned since it's a "suite" style hotel. Once again it was the Asst. Mgr who seemed shocked that our room wasn't cleaned and offered to have the last remaining cleaner attend to it. We declined as we were checking out at 4am and this was basically 9 hours away and we had already made the beds ourselves.
At checkout, I mentioned that the bill slipped under the door had the original rate on it. The gentleman working stated that he couldn't adjust it, so he would just "not" check us out until the Asst. Mgr could look at it. He assured me she would do so upon arrival and we would receive an email with the corrected bill. I'm still waiting for this.

Additionally - the property offers free breakfast and dinner (some nights). We we came back one evening at 4:55, my husband went to get my son a small cup of the fruit punch as his blood sugar had dropped significantly and we were concerned about him passing out. We were yelled at that "don't touch that until 5!" My husband replied that "okay, we'll come back in 5 minutes" and the clerk made a comment about "leaving some for everyone". Thankfully we had juice in our room for such incidences and were able to avoid an ER trip, but it was shocking that at 5 minutes to, we weren't allowed a small glass of juice.

Overall, would I choose this property again? I don't know. The room size was great for a family of four, but it was basically comical that all of this stuff was happening to us and even though promises were made to render the situation, little action actually was put into play. Also, the hotel hallways smelled of smoke and a detergent-like cover-up for the smell. Our room, luckily, did not smell of smoke (if it had, we would have gone somewhere else), but it was unpleasant to walk through the hallways.

The garage next door has free parking, but does not have a tunnel or such to the hotel. I made sure to only go in the garage with my spouse as dark garages present a safety hazard to me.

Room Tip: We had a view of the airport runway and street. It was surprising not to hear but one airplane our e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear CatC79,

I do apologizes for the service issues you experienced. We appreciate your feed back and can only request you give us another try.

At your service,

Patsy Pagan
patsy.pagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Booked the Homewood Suites at Tampa Airport because of its good reviews and were not disappointed. Located in a small complex of three new hotels and a airport parking facility the hotel was easy to find. Hotel has both a parking garage and some outside spots, we used the garage which can be entered by pushing a button. For the exit you use your room keycard. Parking is free of charge.

The welcome at the front desk was superb. Especially Carlos of the front desk staff was friendly, helpful and most courteous. Thanks again.

The room was a one bedroom suite. Decoration is a bit old fashioned but that´s the Homewood style. The room was perfectly clean and smelled fresh. We had a room facing the north, thus it had windows down to the floor which we really liked as it made the room very bright. We had two beds and these were the most comfortable beds we ever had in a hotel and we travel a lot. We had a very good night´s sleep. The room also had a kitchenette which featured a stove, a dishwasher and a large fridge. They offer to go shopping for groceries for you. You can also order some meals by the room service at reasonable prices. From Monday to Thursday the hotel offers snacks like Hamburgers according to a flyer for free.

There is a small outside pool which we enjoyed. There also is a basketball court and they even give out basketballs.

In the morning there is a full hot breakfast on offer. They had real plates and metal cutlery, something you don´t see often. Lots of choices for everyone.

We were impressed by this property and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelnplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy P, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear urlaubsbaerchen,

Carlos open this hotel for us and I am so happy to hear your comments about him. He is a great associate and I am proud to have him on my team!

At your service,
Patsy Pagan
patsy.pagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
1.6 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Property: Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Address: 5325 Avion Park Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-1416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing