We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOSI has gone downhill”

Museum of Science and Industry
Book In Advance
More Info
US$107.00*
and up
Tampa Bay CityPASS
Ranked #59 of 201 things to do in Tampa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore a World of Possibilities at Tampa’s Museum of Science & Industry with more than 450 hands-on activities, plus Florida’s only IMAX® DOME Theatre, five-stories-tall and offering a higher resolution than any other theater in Tampa; It is more than a movie, it is an experience. Brave extreme weather conditions inside Disasterville, featuring Bay News 9 WeatherQuest, and explore the stages of life in The Amazing You exhibition. Gaze into the starry night sky in MOSI’s Saunders Planetarium, and don’t miss exploring the outdoors in the BioWorks Butterfly Garden and MOSI Backwoods. Kids get to run the show at MOSI’s Kids In Charge!, the largest children’s science center in nation, while kids of all ages get a rush from MOSI’s Sky Trail® Ropes Course and Zip Line.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When we came to MOSI 2 years ago, they had this awesome kids space for active play and learning. Now that we are back, they’ve closed one of their buildings and it has only 1/3 the exhibits it used to have. Apparently they are building a new downtown museum. While we thankfully had reciprocal membership and saved the $12.95 a per adult and $7.95 per child and there was free parking, the experience for our 4 year old was let down, especially compared to COSI in Columbus or Toronto’s science museum. Not recommend until they finish their move to a new location.

Thank Austin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSI T, General Manager at Museum of Science and Industry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Austin -
Yes MOSI has made some changes and restructured. We needed to do so in order to ensure our ability to deliver engaging science and technology programs to the community. This includes on site and in our expanding outreach programs. However, as far as exhibit space, our new exhibit space has only a difference of 3700 sqft. That is not a lot. The old building spread out exhibits via 3 floors making it seem bigger.

Our move to a downtown location is very exciting news but nothing is drawn up yet and we plan to be sustainable in our Fowler Ave location for the foreseeable future.

We do wish your 4 year old did have a better time.

MOSI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ropes course"
in 120 reviews
"zip line"
in 144 reviews
"imax theater"
in 82 reviews
"butterfly garden"
in 59 reviews
"human body"
in 48 reviews
"high wire bike"
in 16 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 31 reviews
"all ages"
in 82 reviews
"summer camps"
in 14 reviews
"great museum"
in 20 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 23 reviews
"rainy day"
in 36 reviews
"great for kids"
in 30 reviews
"tampa area"
in 17 reviews
"busch gardens"
in 25 reviews
"mosi"
in 434 reviews
"dome"
in 21 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We live just outside of Tampa, so it had been quite a while since we'd visited MOSI. WOW, were we extremely disappointed! First, the photo shown here on TripAdvisor are the two buildings that are now CLOSED permanently. IMAX theater is closed as well as the large, main building that used to house MOSI. Everything is now located in the small building next door. I was told that the county now owns the old, large building - who knows what will happen to that now.

Regarding what they DO have - anything worth doing now costs EXTRA; the planetarium, Be the Astronaut, the rope course, the virtual reality 'ride' (which wasn't working when we were there). All that is left are several small areas scattered about that leave a lot to be desired. Some things were cool, interesting and educational. But, for the most part, a total disappointment.

1  Thank 250christies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSI T, General Manager at Museum of Science and Industry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there -
We have asked for the photo to be replaced a while ago, as it does not represent the venue.
As far as IMAX and the "main" building. Both are closed down because of cost. Each were very inefficient and unfortunately not a part of our restructure and renovation based on overall investment it would have taken to make them current. Especially the large building that was mostly lobby, hallways, and other unused inefficient rooms. Exhibit space at the new MOSI is only 3900 sqft less than in the old building. The county has always owned that building and is now planning for its future. Not everything we have to do costs extra. Idea Zone where you can build robots, learn about coding and other STEAM activities - FREE. Mission: Moon Base the huge exhibit that allows guests to experience what it would be like to colonize the moon with hands on high tech exhibits - FREE. CONNECTUS exhibit with autonomous vehicle and new technology displays - FREE. Hurricane simulator, etc. - FREE. So many items are FREE with your admission. Yes, we do have additional experiences. These experiences help us fund our Mission as our admission ticket is only $12.95. Using revenue from these additional experiences is a common and needed practice for 501c3 venues like MOSI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family went to MOSI to check out the great attractions that they showcase in their ads and we had an absolute blast. The displays of innovation and science stole my son's attention the minute we arrived and I'm not going to lie, even my wife's. The hands on displays were great for our son to enjoy while also learning about the importance of the displays to mankind and the park was super fun as just an outdoor active activity. Our only con would be there wasn't nearly enough to do and more should be added if possible. Other than that we still highly recommend this for anybody visiting or living in the Tampa Bay area to go visit.

Thank stayfrosty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just moved to Tampa and were eager to see this museum. My kids are 12 and 15 and we love going to museums. We were all disappointed in everything. Paid an extra $7 for my daughter to do the outdoor ropes course, but it was shut down because of weather, good thing I got a refund. Take your kids to the science museums in Ft. Lauderdale and Miami, they are much better! Im happy I didn't waste any money here, (got in free using our military IDs with the Blue Star Museums program)

Thank ZMom777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSI T, General Manager at Museum of Science and Industry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

First, thank you for your service. MOSI recently went through a restructure and renovation. You say you were disappointed in "everything"? There are many exceptional exhibits at MOSI so that is a surprise to us. Yes, our ropes course is an additional charge, something pretty common for a 501c3 attraction venue like ours. These additional experiences help fund our mission. Ft. Lauderdale and Miami are a pretty far drive from Tampa, and we are not sure if they are Blue Star museums like MOSI. Glad we were able to offer you FREE admission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I purchased a Groupon for Mosi and the groupon said it was the new and improved Mosi and it was $12 per person. I thought it would be a fun activity to do with my children during the summer since they are not in summer camp. When we got there it was only the small building that was open. And there with hardly any activities or fun things for them to do. Also if we wanted to do the space Adventure it was another eight dollars per person. Or to even do the planetarium which was extremely the small one not the large planetarium that was another eight dollars per person. So it was a wast of money and time. Please don’t waste your time or money..

Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSI T, General Manager at Museum of Science and Industry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our renovation and restructure have been very public, and is why we are relocated into the new building on our campus. When you say "small building" we think it should be of note that as far as exhibit space goes, the new MOSI is only about 3700 sqft smaller. The old MOSI building had a lot of wasted space, hallways, and a grand lobby that made the building look huge. Our new single level venue allows all of our guests of all capabilities great accessibility to our venue. No fun activities? Did you go into Mission: Moon Base? What about our Tampa Bay Lightning science themed exhibit Slippery Science? CONNECTUS? You had to miss the Idea Zone... this is the area where you build robots - tinker with 3D printing, and build several other things that let you use your imagination. Or maybe you may not consider those activities or fun things for them to do. MOSI has always only had one Planetarium, located in the building we are now in. In fact, while we did our renovation, we spent over $60,000 in visual and audio upgrades. It is pretty exceptional. Additional experiences like this are how a 501c3 attraction venue like ours support our mission. Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing