We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention Center in a Pretty Spot”

Tampa Convention Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Downtown Tampa Water Bike Experience
Ranked #40 of 197 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
College
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Convention Center in a Pretty Spot”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Tampa Convention Center is located in a great spot (although isolated) in town, off the highways enough to be quiet but still accessible. Inside, the center is well laid out, easy to navigate between rooms, clean, and fairly modern (though the artsy room numbers and architecture will give some of its age away).

Wifi is spotty throughout, though, and food options inside and in the area are quite limited.

Not bad for a multi-day conference though!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Forrest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    68
    26
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“FMEA Convention”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We visited the convention center for the Florida Music Educators Association convention. The venue is large, clean, in an ideal location in downtown Tampa. I was fortunate enough to experience friendly attendants who kept the lines organized and orderly. Concert seating was done nicely and the acoustics were good for an area which is not designed for musical performances.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank VJoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Picking on 13 yr old girls not allowing them to eat at a table at volleyball tournament because some had food from outside .”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It cost fees for tournament $18.00 per person, $20.00 to park if you can find a place $3.00 for 1 bottle of water and lucky for me I didn't have to stay the night. So my point is when the kids are on there break between game the choices to eat are limited and cost way to much and the taste is another story. The kids are not allowed to eat a sandwich from home on the property or they are ask to leave and we are told the event will be find $25.000 .this is ridiculous. Maybe we should have all our tournaments in Orlando until Tampa get more choices to eat and fair prices
and stop picking on 13 year old girls.
Upset volleyball dad

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Volleyballpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great visit!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My partner & I attended the Tampa International Auto Show this past weekend. The line for tickets was orderly, and moved quickly. Restrooms were clean, and all functional. The center appears to be well kept.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DDB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Venue”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Along the river this is a great space to go to Homeshows, boatshows etc...there is plenty of parking downtown (a little walk) with easy access to the front entrance of the Convention Center. Plenty of room to roam in this large area that has a lot of outdoor river front areas.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tampa Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing