We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayak - upstream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillsborough River

Hillsborough River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Downtown Tampa Motorbike Tour
Ranked #40 of 196 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park campground in forest and along river.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Kayak - upstream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Nice river for all types of activity! I like to kayak here, I drop in next to the crusader club, under the Northern Blvd, bridge, at the end of Palm Ave. Easy access and good parking.
Go early morning for kayaking and canoeing, before the motor boaters run open throttle, creating wild waves. Easily navigable, wildlife (including jellyfish) in the water --- did you know that this river, flows up-stream for about 2 miles?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    54
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Scenary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I used to take my boat here all the time. Excellent place to see wild gators, fish hawks, turtles, & other wildlife. I go wakeboarding here all the time. The water is as smooth as ice. The stretch thru old Temple Terrace is beautiful. It shows just how nature made it.

I only went to the upper river behind the dam. It was cool to cruise up to the dam & see how much higher the upper river was from the lower river.

Helpful?
Thank Johnny-Boricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seffner
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This park is so awesome! I felt like I was miles from the city. My husband and I enjoyed a picnic, did a lot of walking and enjoyed a LOT of wildlife. This is just an awesome one tank trip. We spent the whole day and will be going back to canoe. Loved it

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaticket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hillsborough River State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Great trails, excellent RV park. Be sure to hike the suspension bridge and search the river for the armoed catfish.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pjrose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great place to go canoeing. We have seen many birds ,turtles and even some gators.

Helpful?
Thank aemcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hillsborough River also viewed

 

Been to Hillsborough River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing