We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kenndy exhibit and the history center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampa Bay History Center

Tampa Bay History Center
Ranked #17 of 195 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience 12,000 years of powerful stories at the Tampa Bay History Center. During your journey, you will stroll through a 1920s-era cigar store, row up the Hillsborough River, ride along with a cattle drive and learn about the early exploration of Florida. This waterfront building, with an eclectic Museum Store and the signature Columbia Cafe, is a memorable experience for families, history enthusiasts, Tampa area natives and beyond.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kenndy exhibit and the history center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I went there to see the Kenndy exhibit. We had a wonderful time. We found the exhibits educational. and while my husband's parents and I's parents moved to Florida in 1956. His to Tampa and mine to Hollywood, Fl. I thought I knew all that about the native indians. As I live near the Indian reservation in Hollywood. I learned a lot more history here. This is one of the best places here. Tampa is stepping up in the World. We will be coming back. I would not have a problem returning to the history center. But I feel the service at the Columbia Cafe. was not very good. But then I have always thought the service at the Columbia has always been poor, I don't care which one you eat at. It is always the same.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    153
    45
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Magna, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not much there really”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I guess I expected more. First floor was mostly about the history of cigars in Tampa (a big cigar center apparently) and the second floor reflected more of Tampa's history. Ok but I would not see it again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Melba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Lots of varied exhibits presented both fun and thoughtful for adults and children. Fascinating history of native peoples, and development up to present time, told in a very personal way. Located in beautiful Tampa riverwalk area. Columbia Cafe on site was great - reviewed separately.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auf Wiedersehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting local history & a nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went specifically for the special Florida map exhibit which has been extended thru 4/13. Was very interesting in terms of local map history on the state of Florida. Did not get to see the other 2 floors so will return another time. Well organized map exhibit. Took a break in between to have lunch at the Columbia Cafe located right in the building. It is an off shoot of the historical Columbia Restaurant in Ybor City. Tasty Cuban style food. Free parking in the blue lot to the left of the building as long as you get the token when you buy your admission tickets.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rascalsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“its ok.. get to know a lot about tampa and florida..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

we had a ok time at this place. a lot of boring stuff, if u live in Florida and don't no much about the place it would be good for them.. but we were english.. so it was ok

my mother and father enjoyed it more than me .. to many maps.. when u have seen 30 maps of florida you don't need to see another 50 to 100

for me i would go back.. no one in the place to ask questions to

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rockie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tampa Bay History Center also viewed

 

Been to Tampa Bay History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing