We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facility needs some serious updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport
Ranked #129 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Rooms are relatively clean, I will admit that, but are run down (at least my room was): rusted appliances, frayed cabinets, soiled carpet, etc. And the out-dated TVs, my God! Does management have any TVs from this century?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank SonnyJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situation and the experience you described is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To prevent this from happening again, my team is taking every step available to prevent such a situation from repeating itself. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at tap@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

This was my first time booking with this hotel brand. I booked it for myparents that came into town to visit, it was close to our house and the price was right. The rooms are small, but were perfect for my parents, especially the kitchens! Very clean, & I thought my parents room was cute! Like I said, there small rooms, need some updating, but clean & comfortable! The local calls are free and they actually accept pets, which is good if we travel because we just got a puppy! Serag at the front desk was very nice, he made my parents reservation for me and was very sweet. The other girls that work in the office, I didn't get there names, were very sweet, my parents are older and I felt that they were in good hands here. Sorry this is so long, but I would definitely use this hotel again! I'm also going to use trip advisor more often, I was unaware of it until serag mentioned it to me. Its a shame that there is negative comments about this hotel, as my parents had a wonderful stay. Just wanted to let you know. Thank you KJ.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberlyajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that Suraj went above and beyond to make your visit a great stay. Our passion is to make every guest feel special and make the accomodations here feel like a home away from home. I am thrilled that you will highly recommend us to anyone in the future. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you and your parents again should they come back to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

If you need a place to stay for a short time and your budget is what controls your hotel choice, you may be able to accept this place. The front desk is understaffed, does not have the authority to fix problems, and the "amenities" are NOT all there. Our experience was awful on too many levels to enumerate. (Caveat Emptor.) After our stay, however, when I contacted the Area Manager, he was AWESOME. His location actually answers the phone, and it's his skill, concern, and willingness to work with a dissatisfied guest that moves this property to ... semi-marginally tolerable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for the review of our property. I am very sorry for your problems you encountered while at the property. I will use your concerns as a training tool for our employees. We try and make every guest stay as comfortable as possible. I try and contact every guest as soon as possible when they have a concern. If ever in our area again please don't hesitate to contact myself at tap@extendedstay.com, and we will make your stay better than your last stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

If you keep in mind the price you are paying, this property can be worth the three dots.

The property is an exterior corridor property, so you have very direct access to your room - which I guess is good or bad - depending on your viewpoint. On the upside it's easy to park right outside your door. Downside is your room feels very exposed to anybody walking by. In fact, it seems a bit uncomfortable leaving your shades open as anyone could walk by and look in if inclined.

In general, it is a basic, functional room - though my room was pretty darn small. It would not be comfortable for more than 1 or maybe 2 adults; I would not find it reasonable if you had children as there would be absolutely nowhere for them to play. There may be larger rooms, however.

Room contains a full size fridge that worked well (though was very beat up to include some rust on the outside...inside was fine). stovetop burners that worked fine and basic microwave. No dishwasher and sink was only one basin so inconvenient to wash dishes. While not perfectly clean, it seemed to pass. Housekeeping cleans once a week (when you pick the weekly rate, anyway) and I definitely felt they did their job when they came to clean. That said, room shows definite wear and tear: scuff marks abound.

Lighting was sufficient though nothing spectacular. Bathroom was acceptable sized and functional, though tub was HEAVILY worn. Sink drained slowly, but that might be primarily because the stop wasn't lifting enough to allow for regular flow of water.

Bed, to be honest, sucked. Very hard mattress with little give. Pillows were very basic. Sheets seemed to be about the cheapest ones a hotel could buy. Bedspread thin and had some holes, but worked. Again, keep in mind the near bottom-of-the-barrel price you are paying.

Internet had problems first night, but worked flawlessly from second night onward.

Staff was reasonably friendly and attentive to my requests. I had no problems talking with staff.

Laundry facilities worked fine, though seemed a little expensive to me at $4/load to wash and dry (I'm used to about $3/load).

Location is literally next to the airport, so there is airplane noise in the room. The area is very office park oriented but casual dining, fast-food, Publix grocery store and some other stores are only a few miles away. Location is definitely convenient to I-275 to access to either Tampa or St. Petersburg.

Again, for the price this place passes and represents an option to save a few bucks if you can sacrifice some quality. That said, for my purposes when my reservation was up I still moved as the location is not at all convenient to what I am here for - the money I saved in room rate I spent at least partially into the gas pump.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wouldbeworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that our staff was friendly during your visit with us. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I always look to be fair with my reviews so I will say first the positive things, and then the negative. The service was really good, the three times I went to the front desk the staff was really nice and very helpful. The parking is good, and yes its true its and industrial area, but you have everything (restaurants, fast foods, supermarket, gas stations) close if you have a car. You can rest really good (without taking in consideration our upstairs neighbors who were really noisy every single night) because the rooms are really quiet although its close to the street and to the airport. The housekeeper was a really nice lady.

In the other hand, the Hotel is really outdated. In our room the bathtub was stained, the telephone was dirt and in really bad conditions, and some of the cabinets were broken and falling apart. We reserved a King room and we got a Queen with a sofa sleeper,which we opened once and it was dirty and so uncomfortable that we didn't use it. Mike (the guy in the front desk when we did the check in) was so embarrassed by the situation but he did his best to make us feel comfortable and to help us. He brought us pots and a full set of sheets for the sofa. Last but not least one of the days when we arrive to the room we found a huge cockroach in the bathroom. Oh by the way on room 120 check the container when you put the sugar because its really gross, someone use it like ashtray and its really disgusting.

The place have a lot of potential, but its in need of rush updates.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeyMaldonado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff. The room issues you described are not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, I will ensure these issues are addressed with our maintenance staff. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice simple rooms. Fully functional. Good parking. Clean facilities. The neighborhood is pretty industrial. No public transportation and not much to walk too. But plenty of food to be had in either direction. There is a Publix supermarket due west about two miles. Plenty of fast food and family restaurants in the area. Not a bad place to park for a week or two or three. But you must have a car. They do sometimes run monthly specials. So ask about those.

Room Tip: Choose a room opposite the airport. The runway is only a few hundred feet away.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and large parking area.Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last year around this time for a month. It was not the greatest experience. Staff was rude. I barely got service and when I complained about that I got the silliest response when told well if you don't take the service we provide then they stop coming. And that was acceptable ! The room was seriously falling apart. Management wasn't much better when I complained when I finally found a manager to speak with during the day. I was always told the manager was...out at another location...which I discovered later was a lie...

But I had to be in this area again and compared to some of the other "VALUE STAYS " this was the lesser of the other evils.

Well these reviews and constant customer complaints must have lit a fire because this place is totally different. Cleaner rooms. Different, friendlier staff, I have a room where the AC actually works. The sheets no longer smell like wet dog. NO DUST, which was a biggie because of allergies and sinus issues. No more bugs. Fully stocked with basic dishes. I have a bigger TVs that isn't circa 1990. Housekeeping now comes every other day or at least twice a week and they are much friendlier. I don't feel guilty for saying yes I need service. I can see they are trying to improve the experience and condition of this hotel. And I feel safe. Even the over night guy has a new attitude lol. He used to be quite sour.

This is a hotel that serves your basic needs quite Well now. And like I said earlier, compared to some I have seen this is what a value stay hotel should be like.

I would come back again if they keep this good work up.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedWriterGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you gave us another chance. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
3.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - N. West Shore Blvd.
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
2.5 mi away
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
6.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport

Address: 5401 E Beaumont Center Blvd, Tampa, FL 33634-5210 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Extended Stay, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Tampa North Airport Hotel Tampa
Extended Stay America - Tampa - North Airport Florida
Homestead Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing