We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Close to the Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Ranked #24 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value Close to the Airport”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We only stayed one night, to be close to the Tampa Airport for an early 5 AM flight out. the hotel has some age on her, but she is well taken care of. Only two complaints. The wall paper in the bath near the ceiling had bubbled out pretty bad, and the bed is a bit on the soft/saggy side. Otherwise, couldn't beat it for $119

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinJberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    422
    185
    76
    49
See reviews for
391
336
77
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during Spring Break-great location just about 25 minutes East of Clearwater Beach, but it also turned out to be a bit of a traffic nightmare. Any other time of the year, it would not be an issue. Rooms were clean and large. Front desk staff superb to every request and question. Pool area nice, clean pool, and water temp was just right. There is no bar service out by the pool which would of been an added plus and would of kept us there longer, but for someone reason they don't. For the money, service, location, service, you can't go wrong. Two big time bars literally across the street, Hogans Beach and Whiskey Jacks. I-275 is just 5 minutes away too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit as always and experienced our excellent customer service. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in Tampa.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Very dated and worn out facitilty. First room had big fresh stain on bed covering. Second room had stains on couches and floor. There was a hole in the countertop in bathroom with no apparent reason. Sink in bathroom would not drain. We didn't feel comfortable, and we certainly didn'f feel it was worth the money they charged.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda3472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
I'm so sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to what you expected nor ours. Thank you for alerting us to the maintenance and housekeeping issues so we can quickly resolve them and ensure future guests' comfort. We value your business and hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again. If I can be of any additional service, certainly let me know.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This hotel was everything you would expect from a Double Tree hotel. I stayed there for one night with my family. The suite was large, clean and comfortable. Nice view of the water. The restaurant was nice, enjoyed a buffet breakfast. That was a little on the high side as far as price went but not outside of what you would typically find. Overall, this was a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSA1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that we met your expectations. I apologize for price of the breakfast buffet but we are competitively priced. I hope next time you are in Tampa, you will give us another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The staff at this hotel needs to go through a customer service course. It is pitiful! The first room had bed bugs & my daughter-in-law got a bite on her, the hotel acted as if it was no big deal! The prices at the hotel are ridiculously high! A bowl of cereal was $7.00. I think with the cost of the hotel they could offer a breakfast. I was here for a week, checked out a day early because I was just fed up with the hotel! This hotel seriously needs an update! Poor beds!
The location was perfect but I would rather drive than deal with this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else until the hotel is updated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
We sincerely apologize for the very fortunate experience you had during you stay at our hotel. We appreciate that you brought this to our attention and can assure you that we truly do care about all of our guests comfort, health and safety. Our pest control company has address the situation and were reviewing your comments with our team. We value your business and if we can help anyway, please let us know

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Room size is great, housekeeping was great, hotel was quiet, front desk was "nice" but really didn't come off as sincere. I made my reservation in advance & also paid in advance we paid Extra for a Bay view. When we arrived we got a pool view and partial Bay view. Sadly the windows were SO CLOUDY you really had NO VEIW. When I went to the front desk to ask about this poor view through cloudy windows she simply said "yes that is the bay view" I said I was very disappointed and she simply stated "sorry to hear that." No attempt to fix this and make it right.

We had to keep fixing the toilet because it kept running, even having to get up in the middle of the night to fix it. We didn't bother to report the toilet based on the assumption that they didn't care that we paid for a view we didn't receive surly they would not care about the toilet. I was disappointed enough that I will not return there simply because I do feel cheated out of my money.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Larjly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We really dropped the ball, Larjly. I'm so sorry to hear about the service and maintenance issues you received. This is not consistent with our typically accommodating staff and quality facilities. Please know that these concerns have been addressed and I invite you to contact us so we can help make things right.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel is so old the room refrigerators aren't frost-free.

Okay, just kidding, the hotel is indeed one of the older ones in the chain yet it's still in good condition ... but the fridge in our room was in fact not frost-free. It had two inches of ice in it!

We've stayed here many times over the years and love the location, on the Tampa side of the Courtney-Campbell Causeway near all the Westshore area restaurants and the airport, yet close enough for an easy drive to Safety Harbor, Clearwater and Dunedin. However, the property, while generally well-maintained, is getting a little long in the tooth. It's due for a MAJOR renovation. Close it, gut it and re-do it completely to bring it up to Hilton brand standards.

We were upgraded to a conference room suite -- lots of extra room and an extra half bath, plus a table for eight.

The breakfasts here are great. Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members get the cold buffet free; the upgrade to the full hot breakfast with made-to-order omelets is $5.

The rate we paid (around $185 a night including taxes) is a bit high for what you get, though we did stay in peak season.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We do take pride in the product we provide to our great service scores. I apologize for the ice build up in the refrigerator. I have addressed our Executive Housekeeper to ensure our housekeeping staff is serving the rooms appropriately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#40 of 163 in Tampa
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
1,517 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607-5801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing