We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room - Good Location - Would Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Ranked #26 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Husband and I just stayed here for one night on a Saturday while celebrating a birthday party over at Hogan's Beach. We arrived around 10am and they had a room ready on the first floor, but for $8 more we upgraded to a bay view room on the 4th floor. This was the only bad part of the stay. While you could technically see the bay from our room, the trees in front of the window blocked it all for the most part. I almost asked for the upgrade fee to be waived but didn't bother with it.
Pool area was clean and well kept, we went twice during the day and once at night and never had a problem finding a chair. During the day they did provide drink/food service at the pool and did provide towels.
We didn't eat at the restaurant but it did look nice. It overlooked the pool and was flooded with natural light.

Our room was nice, clean, extremely spacious, the bathroom was nice and the bed was comfortable. I liked that the rooms had blackout curtains. There is no kitchen in the room, only a small wet bar area with a sink and mini fridge.

It's walking distance to a few restaurants, Bahama Breeze, Hogan's Beach and Whiskey Joes. Whiskey Joes is an AWESOME place to go to at night as it's on the water, they have an outdoor bar and firepits outside. Fabulously recommended.

If I were back in the area for an overnight, I'd definitely consider this place for a stay. It's also convenient for airport guests as they provide shuttle service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeshaLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

On a recent business trip I stayed at DoubleTree Suites on Rocky Point Drive, in Tampa. From check in, to check out, everybody was extremely helpful, kind , and very friendly. I met, and became friends with Christina, the bartender. What a great lady! I can't wait to get back to Tampa and stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Geno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Good Day Geno L,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Tampa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that every interaction you had was an excellent one. We will also make sure to share your comments regarding Christine, the bartender. We agree, she is awesome! We look forward to your future stays with us, and have a wonderful day! We will see you soon.

Kindly,

Chellie M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The AC unit inside of the rooms were the absolute loudest that I have ever experienced at a hotel. They are highly disruptive and erratic. Also, I find it very odd that this hotel allows local businesses to slip MANY flyers under the doors, every day. Some days I had as many as 4-5 flyers under my door, which gets to be annoying during a long stay. The door handle on my room was on the verge of being broken, and I had to check it multiple times before leaving, to ensure that it was locked (sometimes it was not).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The suite was very spacious. We needed an extra chair because we were celebrating our sons graduation and had extra people. I called the front desk and within 20 minutes a staff member brought up an extra chair. Beautiful pool.... weather was bad so we didn't get to enjoy it but we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had our wedding here and it was perfect! The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. The food was amazing but they did clear the tables too fast from the cake! And all of the rooms are large and spacious especially the suite! The hotel has a great location, very close to the airport which they have a free shuttle. Right across from the hotel is a small beach but only a short distance from Clearwater Beach. I would definitely recommend as a venue for a party or even if just coming into town for vacation or business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Breanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We are members of AARP and the value of the room was excellent. However, some items we left in the room to use while we were there were taken and nobody said they took the items by mistake. I also left a travel pillow in the room when I left, but nobody found it. These are not valuable items, but it's just the idea that someone who works at a Hilton hotel would take something that belongs to the guest who brought it to the room. When a guest is spending more than one night in a room, housekeeping should make the bed, empty the trash cans and replace the towels that have been used. Housekeeping should not take bags of items that belong to a guest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Good Afternoon Bonnie S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Tampa Bay area, and for providing your feedback regarding your stay. I'm so happy to hear that you value the hotel. I certainly understand your frustration, however, with the items in your room. I would like to assist you personally with this. Therefore, please feel free to email me directly at Chellie.McCardle2@hilton.com so we may further discuss it. Thank you again for your comments, and have a wonderful evening.

Sincerely,

Chellie McCardle
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great place to stay for business if you're either in Clearwater or Tampa as it's perfectly located right at the Tampa end of route 60 causeway. Nice shaded outside area close to the pool for doing work or just relaxing. comfortable rooms - my only dig is the flat screen TVs are some weird brand and look like they were bought on the cheap

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank richardhX8793LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 164 in Tampa
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607-5801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £82 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing