We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This hotel has so many pluses and i will attempt to describe. Unpon arrival, there is a complmentary happy hour from 6:00 to 7:30 that consists of beer, wine, sodas, hot dogs baked beans, potato salad, regular salad and apples.
Really enough for a light dinner. The outside area is lovely with a large bar-b-que for grilling, sports court (basketball) hot tub and large pool, large amount of seating and umbrellas with shade. Ok, we finally go upstairs and very pleased with the one bedroom suite complete with kitchen and pull out sofa. The room easily can accommodate two adults and small children on the sleep safa. So nice for parents that want some privacy for the two rooms have a door that separate them. Extremely comfortable bed and very large bathing area. The kitchen had coffee supplies and even a bag of microwave popcorn to enjoy while watching falt screen televisions, yes, one in the living room area and one in the bedroom. Breakfast was really good, all home made, fresh eggs, sausage sandwiches, fresh bagels (must have been from a local bakery) red skinned potatoes and turkey bacon. There was also homemade oatmeal topped with fresh blueberries walnuts, raisins, and chocolate chips. Yougurt and fresh fruit, coffee etc. A great astart to the day.
One of the nicest features of the hotel is the complimentary courtesy shuttle in the downtown area from 7:00 to 11:00. Just call from the front desk when ready and you are taken where you want to go within a 2 mile radius, in our case the Convention Center, and again call to be taken back to the hotel. With parking a premium, it is nice not to worry about anything except getting to where you want on time. Do plan extra time for the shuttle may make additional stops if everyone does not go to the same location. Parking at the hotel is 12 dollars a night, but understandable considering one is downtown. This is the niciest Residence Inn I have stayed, and being a Gold Member I do stay at a number of Marriott hotels

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NordicSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    126
    53
    34
    31
See reviews for
110
62
29
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

One of the nicest places I've stayed in a long time, very nice staff members. Need a little more parking but is kinda expected for downtown. Very clean room, comfy bed and pillows and we ended up with a balcony which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, what it lacks in extravagant details it makes up for with friendly staff and extra effort. The suites are newly decorated and have marble counters and clean appliances. Although I have had bad experiences at other Residence Inns, this one I have visited a couple times when the full service hotels nearby were overbooked and have no complaints at all. A good experience every time. Check out Taps beer bar just around the corner for a great, hip, downtown beer experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firestonejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent one night in this hotel before leaving on a cruise out of the Port of Tampa. Check-in was a bit dicey with the staff being cool, yet polite, but not helpful at all with checking on room status, etc. Parking is across the street and there is a fee. The check-in staff became much more friendly and attentive once they realized we were Marriott Gold Rewards members, but that should have not made a difference in their attitude or demeanor. The room/suite was fairly small but comfortable and clean. A breakfast buffet was included the next morning and was adequate and what one would expect. If at all possible, request a room on the backside of the hotel away from the street. Our room on the front experienced a lot of traffic noise.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside of the hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRITAMPADOWNTOWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for writing and staying with us prior to your cruise. I wanted to follow up and apologize for the check in observation you had. I will forward your comment to the appropriate staff. You did mention being a Marriott Rewards Gold Member and wanted to specifically thank you for your loyalty to Marriott Hotels.

Safe travels,

Stephano Anamisis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is the absolute worst hotel experience I have ever had! First of all let me say that the assistant GM tried very hard to make things better but he was clearly working with a bunch of incompetents (particularly house keeping!). First of all when we checked in we were informed that there were no cribs or pack n plays left for our infant daughter nor were there any rooms with 2 beds. At this point we knew that none of us would be getting any sleep in the dbl bed we were stuck with. Our room was filthy! Body hair all over the bathroom floor, finger prints on mirror and windows, pubic hair in bathtub, groceries left in cupboards... I could go on! I called and complained and assist GM was very apologetic and offered to send housekeeping immediately to clean room. I asked that they wait and come while we were out to dinner. On our way out I stopped at desk and gave diff agent our room # and she assured me she would send HK immediately. We were out for over 3 hours and upon returning bathroom still filthy. Dirty diapers left in garbage, hair still on floor and in tub. I called front desk and lady apologized stating she had told them to come. She offered to send us some milk from the market! Seriously??? HK came a short time later with a rag and a spray bottle. I asked about vacuum and was informed that they dont use vacuums on floors only carpet. A mop maybe? Instead she persisted to spray floor and wipe hairs onto carpet!! Then asked me to check the floor. I pointed out several hairs still on floor which she hastily swept away again onto carpet. I had to ask her to change garbage and didn't even get into dust and fingerprints. I'm ready to cry!! I'm so disgusted as I lay wide awake with my 7 month old beside me. This isn't even safe. I've stayed at Marriott more times than I can count and never was told they have no pack n plays. This stay has been a nightmare since we walked in the door!!!

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
242 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We reserved a "suite" for two weeks. After two hours of our 14-night stay, here's what I know:
1) The "suite" is bedroom with a couch, chair and mini-kitchen jammed into it.
2) At a glance, the dishwasher is obviously falling apart.
3) The sliding closest doors are also falling apart and open only with lots of muscle.
4) The lounge chair appears to be 50 years old.
5) The Internet connect is s-l-o-w, but it does work.
6) No ice tray in the freezer, no ice bucket. After waiting an hour for an ice bucket, we used the laundry bag.
7) A shelf on the wall droops at about a 15% angle.
8) The drapes and pictures are nice.

I am currently shopping for another place to stay for the remaining 13 nights. I'll update this review if anything changes.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

These Property was easily the best 3 Star Property I ever stayed at. Bordering on a 4 star except for Property Type. The 1 bedroom suite I had was spacious, with a fully equipped kitchen, excellent desk area for working with your Lap top, excellent wifi offering both wireless and ethernet connections, one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept on, great shower heads, excellent, one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever had in this type property. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Ask for your preference fro a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#35 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Floridan Palace Hotel
#95 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
Address: 101 E Tyler St, Tampa, FL 33602-3714
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tampa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand. We are equipped to give you the room to enjoy yourself on longer stays. Whether you are staying for one night or 6 months, our spacious suites with kitchens will certainly give you comforts that most hotels can't. We provide complimentary amenities that include a full hot buffet breakfast, light meal with all you can drink beer and wine Monday - Wednesday evenings and internet throughout the hotel! Our wonderful staff is here to do everything they can to ensure that your stay is flawless and comfortable. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Residence Inn Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing